We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb r5* estaurant”

Applegarth Villa Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$46
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: ADULT ONLY Allow us to tempt you with a diverse choice of dishes, prepared from the freshest local Cumbrian produce, with seasonal twists that remind you of your countryside location. A truly social setting for devoted food lovers. The restaurant takes the form of a conservatory which boasts stunning views towards the fells surrounding Windermere and is a place that can be enjoyed by those romantically inclined as well as those celebrating a special occasion. Probably one of the best restaurants in Windermere, Applegarth Villa produces exquisite food in a relaxed environment. This is the perfect place to indulge in a menu which will set your taste buds alive. After dinner, enjoy coffee and liquors beside a roaring fire in one of our two comfortable lounges. Our Head Chef uses only the finest ingredients, promoting where possible local produce. We hope you enjoy The Applegarth Villa experience and Head Chef, John Kelly will only be too pleased to discuss any special dietary requirements you may have. We would advise booking to avoid disappointment. In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children into our Windermere restaurant.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“superb r5* estaurant”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Applegarth and enjoyed both breakfast and evening meals. The food was excelent, good choice, well cooked and well presented. Superb.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigBri24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review both our accommodation and our restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    17
    12
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have just enjoyed the most wonderful meal and friendly atmosphere at this restaurant. Not only was the food top class but the service and attention to detail was top class. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed dining at Applegarth. It was good to reminise about New Zealand with you, its such a fabulous country. If you're ever in Windermere again we do hope you will call in and see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Recently ate in this restaurant which is part of App!egarth Villa. What can I say but fantastic food. The menu has a great choice across the menu to suit all tastes. The options that are available can be varied to suit individual tastes, without question. The standard of food that is served is way beyond the "a LA carte" level, they have to be tasted to believe.Without doubt, this is one ofvthev best restaurants that I have eaten in. I have dined in many establishments all over the world, but this is by far the best. Each dish is unique, and has a special twist by the Head Chef to make it his own.Over the 2 nights we dined there we sampled several different choices, each of which never failed to delight. The management and staff are attentive but not overbearing and give advice on each dish and recommendations when asked.
For a real dining experience, then a visit to this restaurant is a must

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raecastlehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
What a lovely review. Chef and his team are truly delighted by your comments. I notice you have booked for our New Year celebrations and Gala Dinner. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Applegarth to see in the New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really top quality food, excellent service”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a romantic weekend away and ate both breakfast and our evening meals here.
I'm not sure if you can just pop in for breakfast but if you can it's highly recommended. You get lots of choice, the food is delicious and you definitely won't need any lunch!
The evening meals are equally as good. The menu choice isn't too big (which is a sign of a good quality restaurant to me) but there is something on there for everyone. Even my 'little miss fussy' wife found multiple meals she liked. The starters are a good size and represent good value for money. The main meals are again a decent size. We struggled through and managed to cram a dessert in (which by the way is definitely worth saving some room for).
The service is bob on, you never seem to be waiting too long but are never rushed. The setting is ideal, looking over the hills and sunset which leads to an intimate setting.
9.5/10 from me and the wife and if I was ever in the area I would definitely be dining here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minshyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and yes you can call in for breakfast if you are a non resident. We do have a number of holiday cottages close by whose visitors come each year and we often feed them both breakfast and dinner, after all who wants to cook when they are on holiday?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great service, not rushed through courses and delicious food, make sure you leave room for the amazing desserts.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sparklydebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Applegarth tries very hard to offer a relaxed unpretentious dining environment and we are delighted you enjoyed the experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applegarth Villa Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Applegarth Villa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing