We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We married at the Low Wood on the 15th April, having a small wedding with 27 guests. The hotel staff from the wedding co-ordinator to the young man on the late night bar could not do enough to accommodate us and our guests. Nothing was too much trouble, the ceremony was lovely, boat on the lake was fun and the wedding breakfast was excellent. The hotel is able to cope with very large parties and we received the same attention to detail and help that would be afforded to a much larger party. The bridal suite was lovely and our guests said their rooms were of a good standard. If you're having your wedding at the Low Wood you're in for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayneandscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Jayne and Andrew, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day. I will pass on your comments to Gemma our wedding coordinator and to the team.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in April 2012. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,593 - 1,599 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

I stayed at the Low Wood Hotel with my family, including out six year old granddaughter to celebrate my 65th Birthday. From checking in to checking out we were treated so well. Our rooms were lovely with superb views of the lake, the management had also put chocolates and a birthday card in our room which was a lovely touch. We enjoyed champagne in their lovely garden , and used the spa and leisure facilities which were very good, and thoroughly enjoyed by our granddaughter.
Although the hotel and the lake are separated by quite a busy road, we found the traffic noise stopped by bedtime and we had a really good night's sleep, the beds were incredibly comfortable. The food n the restaurant was excellent and we were spoilt for choice, all served by excellent, efficient and friendly staff, led by their Maitre D, who was the best we have encountered in the many hotels we have stayed in.
We would unreservedly recommend this hotel

Kathy and Les Ford

Room Tip: The feature rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your 65th birthday celebrations with your family and that you liked the chocolates and card that we put in your room. It was gratifying to read that we catered so well for your family in regards to the restaurants and leisure facilities; we do work hard to ensure that all our guest feel welcome and enjoy their stay.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

A friend and I chose the Low Wood Bay because it looked value for money (we did DB&B for two nights) and had everything we were looking for - spa facilities near Lake Windermere. The spa was great and we both went for the facial/massage package which was fabulous. It was the best massage I've ever had! (Ask for the blonde English girl!). The only niggle I have is that they don't supply you with robes in the spa, so if you plan to spend time in the pool and sauna before your treatment, you can either stand in the reception of the spa/pool area with a towel around you (and feel like a plonker) or you get dried, dressed etc only to have to undress for the massage (then repeat the whole dressing/undressing process before returning to spa).
The food was excellent and the waiting staff very attentive and friendly. The restaurant is lovely and the bar area a great place to chill out after a lovely meal. The twin room we had was fine (we had a lakeside view and enjoyed watching a sunset over the lake one evening). Good toiletries, decent tea and coffee making facilities (I was impressed there was a cafetiere for real coffee in the room) and an ice machine in the corridor made for a very comfortable and enjoyable visit. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0rmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest, thank you so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the team. I am glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities and that you got the opportunity to enjoy the sunset. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Hotel itself is impressive. Lovely views, charming interior in the main hotel, leisure facilities spot on and served a nice breakfast.
However, room allocated was not in main hotel, but instead in an annexe. Room very small and decorated 1990s style. Very dusty and couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom.
Had to leave after 1 night, due to a noisy family above and loud, inconsiderate neighbours that laughed and carried on till nearly 3am and people coming and going (banging doors) to their room throughout this time. When booked did ask for quiet room. Finally got some sleep and was woken by the sound of our other neighbours using the toilet- seriously, the walls are paper thin!
After breakfast, we approached reception and stated that we were here on a relaxing spa break and at the room rate, do not expect to go home without having sleep. Stated that we have stayed in city centre hotels and slept better as it was quiter. There was no apology and definitely not 4* customer service. No offer to rectify things and just amended our bill to 1 night so we could check out.
Low wood looks nice on its website, but in reality we were left disappointed with our actual experience. Such a sad end to what we hoped would be a fabulous break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoYouWishYouWereHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Guest, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the comments made on your recent review. It was gratifying to read that you found the hotel impressive and the interior charming, I will pass on your pleasing comments to both the leisure club and the food and beverage teams regarding the facilities and the nice breakfast.

With reference to the décor and quality of the rooms we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place which commenced throughout the hotel in October to upgrade the few rooms that we believe are in need of upgrading. I would also like to express my sincere apologies for the disturbance caused by other guests within the hotel, we do where possible and when notified do our best to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum to avoid disturbances such as that of which you experienced.

The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, therefore should you wish to visit us again in the future I would be only too happy to deal with your booking personally and allocate to you the best room available. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We checked in and the hotel reception was very grand and impressive.

The room we had allocated was not in the main grand hotel and was quite a walk.

When we got to the room it was clean but a little fission ting as not as grand as the main hotel I would stay again but only if I had a room in the main hotel.

We had paid for a lake view and we got a lake view but would say make sure your room is in the main hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for the review posted on Trip Advisor. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, therefore should you wish to visit us again in the future I would be only too happy to deal with your booking personally and allocate to you the best room available in the main part of the hotel. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, the first being on a special offer. The hotel was first rate from the moment we checked in to checking out. We arrived a little early and the room was ready. The room was quiet and we could make a cup of tea or coffee when we wanted. We liked the swimming pool and jacuzzi which was very relaxing. The food was excellent and the staff were very welcoming and polite. We loved the views across Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csluccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Dear Guest, thank you so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to read any reviews from our guests on trip advisor, as feedback is essential be it positive or negative. I will pass on your comments to the team.

I am glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities and that you made the most of the Jacuzzi. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The room we stayed in was split level, the bathroom quite far from the bedroom. The bedroom was dusty and the velux roof windows didn't open and were dirty (room 304). The breakfast was good although we were not given the option of a lake view table even though there were alot of lake view tables vacant. Reception staff were friendly. Bar unattended so we didn't have a drink in the evening. Alot could be improved.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khaddock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that you felt your recent stay at the hotel was average. Guest feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by myself and the team.

The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, I am sorry you did not bring your concerns to our attention sooner as I am sure that we would have been able to rectify them if we were given the opportunity. I hope your recent stay does not deter you from visiting the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
554 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £150 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing