We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel- the meal and service was second to none!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel- the meal and service was second to none!”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a lovely stay in Low Wood Bay overlooking Lake Windermere. The leisure facilities were great and all staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal was fantastic, a lovely restaurant and service to match. Breakfast was just as good, we would definitely visit the hotel again.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hello187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Hello187 thank you for taking the time to write such a rewarding review.

We pride ourselves on being welcoming, friendly and ensure our food operation caters for all needs from dinner through to breakfast.

again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    456
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
414
837
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed, unfortunately as we did not want to go home, for 2 nights only from 29th April to 1st May, with our 10 year old daughter in a Classic Lake View Room. From start to finish the stay was excellent. The views were fabulous from our room and all the staff could not do enough for you. The restaurant staff were lovely, especially the young guy with the glasses with the name beginning with an "A" (sorry I cannot remember your full name) and the young lady who secured a discount for us with the sailing company next door when she found out we had booked it without telling them we were staying with yourselves (sorry no name again but she was very firendly, big smile, hair in a ponytail, parted down the middle, suited up, you hopefully cannot miss her). The pool was great and sauna and hot tub, we tried them all, the food in the resturant was to die for and so was the breakfast, the whole "2 days" was such a treat. Love "The Hurleys" Room 274. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: So close to everything you want to visit, a gem.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank THEHURLEYSOFHEREFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Hurleys

Thank you firstly for selecting Low Wood Bay for you recent weekend break in the South Lakes, the weather was sunny, if not a little windy this weekend.

We are pleased you and your daughter enjoyed the facilities on offer especially the outdoor hot tub and sauna.

I will ensure Alar the waiter (A) and Amy on reception are aware of your comments relating to providing friendly service.

Once again thank and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at The low wood on a superbreak deal so was excellent value. Our room was in the newly refurbished section of the hotel and was very nice, the bathroom was a good size and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Dinner was included on the first night and was very nice- the restaurant is a nice setting and there was lots of lovely food to
choose from. There was a good
selection of food for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We especially appriciated their
recommendations for places to visit
and eat. Overall a lovely hotel and would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_W_920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

From start to finish our stay at this hotel was exellent]
service,exellent,helpfullness exellent,
lesure facilities exellent
We had an evening meal and i can only say ,yes it was exellent the best fillet steak we have ever had

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandmorrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Sandmorrisn, thank you for your comments, which i possative the staff will find this rewarding.

Paul our head chef and the kitchen team are pleased you enjoyed our local Cumbrian fillet steak.

again thank you for such a rewarding review, see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Low Bay Hotel may not look much from the outside, a touch up of paint wouldn't go a miss. But this small thing aside, it is absolutely superb. My Girlfriend and I stayed in one of the Lake facing hotel rooms which was absolutely superb, nice big space with lovely big windows to look out onto the lake and the Marina to the left. Even as its on a main road for people travelling through to places, it doesn't notice when your inside. The Breakfast is really nice giving you a range of things to choose from and Dinner is even better. All the staff are very welcoming and polite, always willing to help to give you the best possible service.
The Hotel is in 2 parts. One side the rooms and dining, other side is the swimming pool, gym and Spa and also has its own bistro. All the facilities are clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for either room 19 or 39. If you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam_pursglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Adamp1988

Thank you for selecting Low Wood Bay Resort Hotel for your recent break.

I read with pleasure you enjoyed the lake and fell view from you bedroom window. Breakfast is the most important start to the day and we are pleased you enjoyed our offering and quality of locally sourced food is very important to us. Thank you for praising the quality and service that our Kitchen and Restaurant team provide, they will be pleased.

Again thank you for your rewarding review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Great hotel, great location. I stayed at the low wood in March 2011 on business. The hotel operates a reward and recognition scheme for outstanding performance and you can tell by the helpfulness of the staff. The rooms are clean and have all amenities. I used the restaurant and the food was good but a little expensive. This is also a spa hotel unfortunately I didn't get chance to use the spa. Overall this is well worth the £85 I paid for a night.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattturner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Matturner101

Thank you for posting a rewarding review on trip advisor.

We are pleased you have noted our +1 reward scheme which encourages our employees to reach their full potential through training and motivation. Which as you say can be witnessed by all our guests through welcoming, friendly and willing staff in all areas of the resort.

Although we have a leisure club and spa facilities I wish to clarify for readers, that we do not advertise the club as being a Spa this would mislead people, however our facilities are excellent as posted in many of the trip advisor reviews.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again for business or many pleasure.

Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We had booked a two night stay with friends at the Low Wood Bay, after careful consideration, for location, value for money and facilities and on arrival were not disappointed. Our room was very comfortable and had real coffee and a cafetiere as well as instant coffee. There was also an impressive selection of ordinary tea or herbal/fruit teas and tea pot -fresh milk was available on request. Unfortunately when getting ready for dinner our friends encountered a problem with their plumbing, which turned out to have affected several rooms on their floor ,which resulted in no hot water. When they reported this to reception they were told they would be moved to another hotel and that since we had traveled together we would be moved also even though we had no problem with our plumbing. We were advised to have our dinner, which was excellent, and everything would be sorted by the time we were finished. Someone came to our table in between courses to keep us informed of the arrangements which was appreciated. When we were ready to move we were offered taxis and the manager also came to explain the situation and apologise personally for the inconvenience. We were very impressed by the politeness, friendliness and efficiency of the staff during what must have been a logistical nightmare relocating so many guests at such a busy time at short notice. We were only sorry that we did not complete our planned stay at Low Wood Bay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear KAS39, thank you for a rewarding review after staying at the Low Wood Bay for a proposed two night break with fellow holiday friends.

We are pleased you found the rates value for money and the facilities to your expectations.

Unfortunately are you write, on the Saturday evening our boiler system had to be shut down for safety of guests and staff, which involved at 6.30pm. I along with the team, appreciate your comments on the professional manner in which the incident was dealt with and more importantly the smooth transition to the alternative accommodation at our sister hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to confirm all is back in order and our maintenance team had everything fully operations within two days which is pleasing considering the time of year.

Again thank you for your rewarding review, and please be assured all team members will receive a copy.

Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing