We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stopped at low wood in march and loved every minute, the location was ideal, staff very nice, room very clean, food was amazing..... Can't wait to return in nr future :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tornadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I just had a 2 day break here on a Groupon deal. You here stories about being treat differently from full price guests, this was not the case at Low Wood, every guest is treat the same. I arrived and was unable to find a disabled parking space and the porter tracked down a driver not entitled to the space he was parked in and asked him politely to park in an unrestricted bay. Lll the staff we encountered where extremely helpful and just went the extra bit for everyone. Great breakfast and excellent evening meal with a fabulous wine list all served in an elegant but comfy dinning room. Plenty of staff in all areas. We like our room cleaned early so put the make up room sign on door when we went for breakfast at 07.45 and room was done on our 40 mins later. Excellent toilletries in room along with tea and coffee facilities. Overall a very pleasant experience that we can not wait to repeat. The management team are to be praised for their style as it appears to give all the staff the desire to make your stay special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

my husband and i booked a two night stay. the setting was perfect as was the lesiure facilities. breakfast was very good , the selection of food on offer was amazing. we thorouly enjoyed our stay . thank you

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarrowjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Opeations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review regarding your midweek retreat. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Used a KGB voucher for 2 nights B&B with my wife at a total cost of £129 (for the two). At that price it was a bargain. However our room, which was very nice, would normally have cost circa £275 PER NIGHT. I would certainly not entertain paying that price for that room. The hotel has very good facilities, spa, pool, gym etc which my wife made good use of. Food and drink are expensive and we did not use the restaurant. Breakfast quality was very good if a little disorganised with getting a pot of tea a task. Reception staff were very friendly and asked if we required a porter, most unusual today. Other staff again were friendly though their grasp of English varied. In conclusion would I go back, yes but only with another Vouvher Offer.

Room Tip: Be prepared to go out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm-Sparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review and great comments regarding the hotel’s facilities and our team. I am glad that you enjoyed the KGB deal that we had available and I hope that you make the most of this fantastic offer again in the future. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was a very good hotel in an excellent location. It was great to be able to take dogs with us in such quality accommodation - we had expected the dog friendly rooms to be of lower standard but they were very good and even had white quilt covers! The towels and linen were excellent quality and the staff very helpful and friendly. The only downside was there was no allocated public eating or drinking areas where the dogs could accompany us - which was a loss of revenue for the hotel as we ate all our meals instead at other establishments that were dog friendly in the local area. The breakfasts were of excellent quality as were the staff working at breakfast time. Good boat and canoe hire opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A very well situated hotel that offers everything the traveller requires. Our room was quiet and spacious situated at the rear of the hotel.

The hotels spa is excellent and the outside hot tub is a real treat after a long walk on the fells.

The only disappointment to me was the buffet breakfast which, although it offered a range of goodies, would have been improved if the cooked option had used better quality ingredients and better still been cooked on demand. This was a surprise as the evening meal was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the room, the hotels leisure facilities and the hot tub. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed in the buffet breakfast we serve in the Windermere Restaurant, we provide the buffet breakfast in order to cater for the great range in taste that our guest require for breakfast without compromising standards, we do provide a plated breakfast on request and I am sorry this was not pointed out to you.

It was pleasing however that you enjoyed the evening meal in the Windermere Restaurant. Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had a very nice stay! Lovely staff and great hotel. We are definitely coming back
Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppyzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
532 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £134 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing