We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal getaway break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fleetwood
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal getaway break”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just returned from a mid-week break at the Low Wood. It was fantastic value for money. Our room in the main house was fresh, warm and inviting with lovely toiletries and huge towels. We made use of the great leisure facilities especially the outdoor hot tub, wonderful in the cold evening air ! Contrast that with open log fires in the hotel lounges, huge armchairs and a breakfast with loads of choice. We felt cossetted and indulged, just right for mid November. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasiders36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to read any reviews from our guests on trip advisor, as feedback is essential. I am glad you enjoyed the room, especially the toiletries and the towels, as well as the leisure facilities the hot tub and the very cozy real log fires. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our family recently stayed at this hotel over the half term break. Paying the best part of £600 for dirty and tired rooms, and a motorway style breakfast buffet was not value for money. Quality of service and quality of food from forgetful and unattentive staff at the leisure club bar was appauling, Plus the fact we had to pay for some of the facilities in the leisure club was laughable.
Many, many better hotels within 15 mins drive of this place. Will not return.

Room Tip: Phone the Langdale !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeEJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent family stay with us here at Low Wood Bay during the October half term. Guest feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by myself and the team. The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, I am sorry you did not bring your concerns to our attention sooner I am sure that we would have been able to rectify them if we were given the opportunity. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stopped at low wood in march and loved every minute, the location was ideal, staff very nice, room very clean, food was amazing..... Can't wait to return in nr future :-)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tornadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I just had a 2 day break here on a Groupon deal. You here stories about being treat differently from full price guests, this was not the case at Low Wood, every guest is treat the same. I arrived and was unable to find a disabled parking space and the porter tracked down a driver not entitled to the space he was parked in and asked him politely to park in an unrestricted bay. Lll the staff we encountered where extremely helpful and just went the extra bit for everyone. Great breakfast and excellent evening meal with a fabulous wine list all served in an elegant but comfy dinning room. Plenty of staff in all areas. We like our room cleaned early so put the make up room sign on door when we went for breakfast at 07.45 and room was done on our 40 mins later. Excellent toilletries in room along with tea and coffee facilities. Overall a very pleasant experience that we can not wait to repeat. The management team are to be praised for their style as it appears to give all the staff the desire to make your stay special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarrow
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

my husband and i booked a two night stay. the setting was perfect as was the lesiure facilities. breakfast was very good , the selection of food on offer was amazing. we thorouly enjoyed our stay . thank you

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrowjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Opeations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review regarding your midweek retreat. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Used a KGB voucher for 2 nights B&B with my wife at a total cost of £129 (for the two). At that price it was a bargain. However our room, which was very nice, would normally have cost circa £275 PER NIGHT. I would certainly not entertain paying that price for that room. The hotel has very good facilities, spa, pool, gym etc which my wife made good use of. Food and drink are expensive and we did not use the restaurant. Breakfast quality was very good if a little disorganised with getting a pot of tea a task. Reception staff were very friendly and asked if we required a porter, most unusual today. Other staff again were friendly though their grasp of English varied. In conclusion would I go back, yes but only with another Vouvher Offer.

Room Tip: Be prepared to go out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm-Sparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review and great comments regarding the hotel’s facilities and our team. I am glad that you enjoyed the KGB deal that we had available and I hope that you make the most of this fantastic offer again in the future. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was a very good hotel in an excellent location. It was great to be able to take dogs with us in such quality accommodation - we had expected the dog friendly rooms to be of lower standard but they were very good and even had white quilt covers! The towels and linen were excellent quality and the staff very helpful and friendly. The only downside was there was no allocated public eating or drinking areas where the dogs could accompany us - which was a loss of revenue for the hotel as we ate all our meals instead at other establishments that were dog friendly in the local area. The breakfasts were of excellent quality as were the staff working at breakfast time. Good boat and canoe hire opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
374 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,153 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing