We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Could not fault anything about this hotel. Stayed for two nights on KGB deal and was not disappointed. Hotel spacious and clean, food very good, friendly staff and access to gym and pool. There is a hot tub/jacuzzi outside which was a relaxing exerience and awesome in November. Overall most enjoyable stay, would certainly go back and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review – I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the benefits of the recent KGB offer and I would like to thank you for your comments, I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. I very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We have just had a memorable weekend break with the family in this lovely hotel to celebrate my mum and dad's golden wedding anniversary. It was a fantastic experience. The rooms were very comfortable with special little extras, (cafetiere coffee!) and plenty of space. Mum and Dad had a room with a lake view which was simply stunning. The Windermere restaurant had fabulous food, we all thoroughly enjoyed both meals on the Friday and Saturday nights and the staff were attentive and efficient (and very nice!!) All staff were excellent actually and did all they could to help and assist. Wish I had the name of our waiter who was on every shift (including breakfast) who was superb. Also enjoyed the leisure facilities, only negative would be that the steam room was not very hot. However, the hot tub certainly was and was a favourite with us all!
We would very much hope to return to Low Wood Bay in the future, it made our celebrations all the more special!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your rewarding review regarding your recent stay at Low Wood Bay in order to celebrate your parents 50th Golden Wedding anniversary – I was delighted to read that you all enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the food on both the Friday and the Saturday night in the Windermere restaurant. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the little extras we provide such as the Cafitiere coffee.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and I will ensure you comments are passed on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our third visit to Low Wood - love the location within easy walking distance of Ambleside. Good Public Transport links to Windermere & Keswick via Bus (& Boat in Season) which makes for a wide option of walks. Good Leisure centre & gym (would have liked the steam room to be hotter & steamier!).
Our room this time fronted the lake & the various images on the lake was fantastic - a photographers dream. We eat in the bar this time as our appetites are diminishing with age & the food was good & ably presented by Staff. Hopefully We'll win the January auction & be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear regular guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, it was pleasing to read that you continue to enjoy your visits to the hotel, I am also pleased that you have taken part in the room auction, good luck. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break for you time (maybe even in January). Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

What a Fantastic Hotel from Check in through to Check out we found everything great.
The Food in the Restaurant was First Class and the Staff were brilliant they could not do enough for us to make our stay perfect.
Our rooms were Large with a Huge Bed and we had a great nights sleep.
we would recommend the Low Wood Bay to everyone.
Dont miss out we are that easily pleased but this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you chose Low Wood Bay as a place to enjoy a short break and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed a fantastic stay and thought the food and staff were all first class.

Once again, many thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for a bit of us time in November, everything was as expected in a 4* hotel, lovely decor and ambience and professional staff. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard, my only critism would be - there was a light bulb out in the restaurant (attention to detail) and also I would not expect caferteria style table numbers in a 4* restaurant (your waiting on staff should memorise the table layout). The leisure facilities were of an excellent standard and we most thouroughly enjoyed our stay with you and are looking to come again in january.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, It was rewarding to read your comments regarding the friendly staff, the décor and ambiance as well as the food in the Windermere Restaurant.

We have replaced the light bulb that was out and I thank you for your constructive comments regarding the table numbers we will review this. Once again thank you for your review and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break for you time. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Booked a last minute 2 night stay at the low wood bay and was not disappointed... we booked online and got our first night dinner included. Food was gorgeous!!! Had the salmon (not something id normally have) however it was lovely!! Rooms were small but clean and did the job!! Swimming pool was lovely too. Breakfast was nice. Overall we had a great weekend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for the wonderful review regarding your recent last minute booking to the hotel, I am glad that we were able to meet your requirements in the Windermere Restaurant during your stay. – I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for another great weekend. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 4th and 5th November, we had upgraded to a lake front room and the view was fabulous. We arrived a little early but were able to check in immediately and when we got to the room it was huge. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. We ate in the bar that night and although orders had to be placed by 8.00 pm and it was slightly later than that it was no problem and the food was very good, a little bit expensive but worth it. Overall it was a thoroughly relaxing stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a lake view room as the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you chose Low Wood Bay as a place to enjoy a short break. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the meal in the Langdale Bar and the very comfy beds. Once again, many thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £151 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing