We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent 2night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
alvor portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recent 2night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hotel could not be faulted in any way. We upgraded our room to a lake view room and the view from both the bedroom and bathroom was superb, even lying in the bath you had views over the lake to the mountains in the distance! Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break for you time Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    453
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
409
834
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We attended an Xmas Party Night with overnight stay and breakfast on the 8th/9th December 2012. We arrived early so our room was not ready but this was ok as we wanted lunch which we took in the hotel bar. The food was really good as was the service . After lunch we sat in the lounge overlooking the lake. This was the one area of the hotel we found to be disappointing - the seating was well used and the upholstery frayed and the general decoration was somewhat tired. If however you move to the other side of the reception desk there is a really nice seating area with a lovely roaring fire. The rest of the hotel and our room (309) were up to four star standard. Our room was comfortable,quiet and looked out onto a small courtyard garden . The hotel itself appears to have been extended a number of times and the corridors can at first seem to be a bit of a rabbit warren - but not a problem really. The party night was excellent again with really good food. The band and disco were both first class and continued to 1am. We would certainly stay here again and can recommend to all

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor as the hotel is built on a hill and there is an entrance near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetandIan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us whilst attending a Christmas party. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay from the lunch and service in the bar in the afternoon through to the food, service, merriment and band in the evening! It was also a pleasure to read in your review that you like the court yard room you were allocated I will ensure all your comments are passed onto our team.

I agree with your comment regarding the Langdale lounge chairs, we are currently in the process of working with a company who’s job will be to re-upholster them, please be assured this is an area we currently planning to rectify. Once again, many thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another enjoyable stay in 2013. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Visited end of November for fri/sat night. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Good leisure facilities with outdoor hot tub, that was divine.
Drawbacks, although the hotel is well situated over looking the lake (Windermere) it is out of the town and a very busy road, so a car is essential. The car park is behind and up quite a steep slope, also very busy (there was a wedding when we went) so you will get drenched if it's wet going into reception. Rooms were nicely decorated and spacious, though cleaning did not live up to my expectation. We had dinner the first night that was included in the package, although good, a real let down was not handmade chips that came with the steak, and if it wasn't included i would think it was overpriced. For a perfect meal visit the Queens head in Troutbreck (a bit out of the way, but exceptional food- you will have to book)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the newer rooms that was around the back-good. Couple in the next room said they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review regarding your recent visit to the hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you found our staff to be friendly and that you made the most of and enjoyed the leisure facilities, especially the hot tub.

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel the cleanliness of the room was up to standard, this has been discussed in depth with the Houskeeping team who have taken your constructive comments on board. – I hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

we have just stay at low wood bay hotel , the weather was not good , but the hotel , staff and food made up it .
our room was lovely , sitting on the window seat looking over the lake .
the food was excellant , we will be going back again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekins666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you chose Low Wood Bay as a place to enjoy a short break. Once again, many thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

we have just had a fantastic one night break at this lovely hotel the highlight for us was the hot tub with the view accross windermere. the breakfast was great and a lovely large comfy bed :) Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make use of the hot tub. Thank you for sharing your comments with other Trip advisor readers and we very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend break at the Low Wood to celebrate our birthdays. Our room was excellent, very spacious, comfy beds and with everything we needed even a birthday card from the hotel. We ate in the Windermere restaurant on the first night and the quality of the food was superb served by friendly staff. Breakfast on both mornings was also very good with plenty of choice and variety. The cooked breakfast buffet was delicious and it was just lovely to see the lake through the large windows. On Saturday afternoon we made good use of the leisure club, the pool and jacuzzi were fabulous and we thought the hot tub was fantastic. My husband and daughter also thoroughly enjoyed the sauna and Laura thought the bucket of cold water afterwards was great! That evening we ate in the bistro attached to the leisure club and had another tasty meal, once again served by friendly staff. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Low Wood Bay to friends and family and really hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor and quiet room which happily we got and were very satisfied with
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Guest, I was very pleased that you enjoyed your family celebration and thank you for such a rewarding review especially regarding the food in both the Windermere Restaurant and Café Del Lagos. I was pleased to read that we catered so well for your family in regards to the restaurants and leisure facilities and in your room; we do work hard to ensure that all our guest feel welcome and enjoy their stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team at the hotel and the Leisure club. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Low Wood Bay for our Anniversary this year. Every aspect of our stay was excellent. We had a little trouble initially with our door card but the friendly staff were quick to upgrade us to a complimentary feature room.

The room was well decorated, the beds were very comfortable and the view from the window exceptional. The free Wifi was also very handy and allowed us to stream Netflix via tablet and HDMI adapter.

We ate twice in the Hotel, once in the Cafe Del Lago bar for Dinner and in the Windermere restaurant for breakfast. Both meals and service were of excellent standard.

We also took advantage of the boat hire facility across the road where we received a discount for being a guest.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlGEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your rewarding review regarding your recent stay at Low Wood Bay in order to celebrate your Wedding anniversary – I was sorry to read you initially had problems with your room in terms of the key card system but I was pleased that our team were able to rectify this quickly.

I was delighted to read that you all enjoyed the amazing view and the complimentary WIFI access as well as dinner both nights in the restaurant and then Café Del Lagos and that you were able to enjoy the waterbus service. Thank you once again for your excellent review and I will ensure you comments are passed on to the team. Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing