We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Low Wood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We got married at the Low Wood May 5th 2013. Everything was amazing, we loved every minute. The staff were fabulous from start to finish. Gemma helped me with everything I needed. The hotel is beautiful and a perfect place in the lakes. I would like ot thank everyone who helped with our wedding, it ran brilliant from start to finish including all the pre wedding arrangments. Every one who stayed enjoyed themselves and said the venue and hotel was lovely. The food was excellent. The only complaint i would have would be the room I got ready in was so small, especially for such a large wedding party that I wish they had mentioned they had bigger rooms, as most people I spoke to said their rooms were huge, so not such why we got ready in such a tight space. Thank you all for making our wedding day a very special one, see you all next year for out anniversary love Xanthe, Jonathan and Logan x x x

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xanthe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Xanthe and Jonathon, thank you for your wonderful review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay for your special day. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I will pass on your comments to Gemma, Rea and the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspect of your wedding day at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first wedding anniversary in 2014. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from spending two nights here. Fantastic hotel that was very accommodating. Rooms are very spacious and ours had a fantastic view over the lake. The food was lovely and well presented. Only let down was the rudeness of other guests! But the hotel can't help that. Would definitely go back/recommend to others

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review and for sharing your thoughts with the trip advisor community. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay but sorry to read you were disrupted by other guests, we do try to ensure all guest are respectful towards other guests. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay, can really recommend this hotel. Rooms clean and spacious. Food and service excellent - special mention for the dining room staff and reception for such a warm welcome. Food in dining room delicious, but other dining options available if you fancy a bar meal or pizza - also delicious. Pool and leisure facilities really enhanced our stay - outdoor hot tub a treat. We visited with our 11 year old son who was made really welcome. We visited the water activities centre over the road - hired a motor boat and a canoe - guests at the hotel get 10 percent discount. Water taxi takes you to Ambleside twice a day, but it's a nice easy walk ( around 20 minutes) Nearby pub with lovely lake side beer garden breaks the stroll up nicely. For the money we paid, this hotel met all our requirements and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 408 - no view, but lovely and quiet - hence a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderfully detailed review about your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you all aspects of your stay from the staff, the comfortable room, the leisure facilities, the food in the Windermere restaurant, the Watersports facilities and the waterbus service.

I will ensure you comments are passed on to Filip and the team in the restaurant; we do pride our self in how our guests are treated and truly believe that it is our staff that make the hotel the success that it is. When you next decide to visit the area it would be great to welcome you back to Low Wood Bay. Once again thank you for your review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Picturesque location opposite the lake, dining room is grand and bar area cosy, breakfast was superb, lovely atmosphere in dining room. The hotel is let down by some bedrooms and a Spa facility which need refurbished, it would then be worth 4 or 5 *.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roughguidereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Michelle Croukamp at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Low Wood Bay. I am pleased that during your stay you were able to make use of the Windermere restaurant and whilst there you enjoyed the atmosphere. With reference to the quality of the rooms we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place which aims to upgrade the few rooms that we believe are in need of upgrading. Once again thanks for the review and for sharing it with the Trip Advisor community and I will ensure the team are made aware of your wonderful comments, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here for free for our anniversary as part of our wedding package. We were very impressed, the room was nice and airy, comfortable beds and nice clean bathroom. We were given a room that looked onto the lake, just stunning to wake up to. Also, on arrival to our room we were greeted by a sweet 'happy anniversary' balloon, chocolates and a card-very nice personal touch. Breakfast was superb and staff were helpful and although we stayed for free we were not made to feel any less special than other guests! Thank you all.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrskane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operation Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review It was a great to see you again, I am pleased that you enjoyed your first wedding anniversary back at the hotel. Thank you also for your comments regarding the balloon and chocolates and the breakfast in the Windermere Restaurant. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

we where at the low wood bay for a family wedding on the 24th and the hotel really did do a very good job.it is some time since we stayed in windermere but we will we visit again.the hotel has a great spa and 3 nights there felt like a week away the views are wonderful and the nearby town of ambleside is very handy. the wedding was beautifully catered for and the staff were friendly and very helpfull.

Room Tip: room 42 is great but room 41 was really only for one but you can see the lake from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187069Lasvegas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Low Wood Bay to celebrate your friends wedding, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed room 42 and its wonderful rooms, we agree with you. Once again thanks for the review and we hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We attended a wedding at the Low Wood and it was brilliant.
The hotel is big and the communal areas are lovely. Very family friendly with a brilliant pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and an outdoor hot tub!
Really nice hotel, the rooms are a little dated but are quite spacious and have all the facilities you would need.
Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Low Wood Bay to celebrate your friends wedding, I hope they had a wonderful time. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wedding. Once again thanks for the review and we hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £141 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing