We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be superb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My partner and i had booked the hotel in the hope of getting away for the weekend to relax and unwind. Its location and surrounding views are excellent, however the hotel could be so much more. Upon arrival we realised it was the weekend of the Great North Swim, this did not bother us in the slightest, however we were not so impressed when neighboring guests began to wake up at 5.30am in order to get ready for the swim. So much for a lie in! Shame the hotel did not think to inform those with bookings of the significance of the weekend prior to their arrival.
The internal architecture of the hotel is a maze, with stairs and corridors leading in a variety of directions. Finding the room was made even harder, as the signs had evidently been reused time and time again, e.g. previous room numbers and corridor information had been rubbed back and replaced with new lettering.
The bar / restaurant area is average at best, and the choice of floor tiles would look great in a public toilet. We accepted our fate and decided to have a few drinks, only to find that a number of drinks were unavailable. The only saving grace was the standard of the food, which was good.
The rooms are clean and well proportioned, and the bathroom is very spacious. The only downside is how the space has been used in the bathroom. You are greeted by a very grand bath on four legs, which dominates one end of the bathroom. A mixer shower is built in, but be warned if you are 6' in height or even taller, as the shower head has been installed at 5'9"! The grand bath has robbed precious inches, thus resulting in a rather awkward process of rinsing shampoo out of your hair.

The hotel has a lot of potential, and could be extremely lucrative, however at the moment it is the location and surrounding scenery that keeps business coming in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Went220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Went220, Thank you for your detailed review regarding you recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the food in the Windermere Restaurant as well as the clean rooms and spacious bathroom.

I am however sorry that you were not informed that the Great North Swim was taking place, it is a highly publicised event which we endeavour to inform all guests about as soon the dates for that year are confirmed, I am sorry that on this occasion this was not communicated to you, I was also sorry to read that as a result of the swim you were woken at 5.30am.

Regarding the building it does date back to 1859 and with such is partly a listed building which inevitably means we are limited in some areas such as corridors and staircases. I will ensure your comments regarding the shower and some of our drinks not being available is past on to the respective teams for them to review.

I hope that we are given the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the hotel for the relaxing stay you had planned. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    453
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
409
834
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We called in for lunch during The Great North Swim. We were surprised it was not busier as there were thousands at the swim. Two ladies toilets, one blocked no menus on the table, had to search. We ordered ham ciabatta and salad. My husband waited half an hour in a short queue, then we waited almost another half hour for sandwich. I asked a waitress what had happened to our meal and it came soon after. It was good when it arrived. Tried the toilet near the leisure area. Last piece of toilet paper. Management need to sort things out. Great view of the lake and swimming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear concerning guest. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at Café Del Lago’s for not meeting with your expectations whilst you visited for lunch during the Great North Swim, I will ensure your comments are highlighted to our maintenance team regarding the toilets as well as the team at the Bistro so that they can review this for future large events. Once again I apologise for poor experience you received and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We recently attended a family wedding here. Upon arrival on the Friday there was already a wedding taking place yet the staff were very attentive and helpful. The reception itself on the Saturday was fabulous and the food was wonderful. Id like to thank Gemma the wedding co-ordinator for doing a magnificent job and for putting me at ease as I was a little stressy about the wedding cakes I had provided. It was an absolute pleasure to be there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Low Wood Bay to celebrate a family wedding, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and I will ensure your comments are passed onto Gemma and the team. I am glad that you did not experience too much stress surrounding the cakes you provided, they did look wonderful! Once again thanks for the review and we hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

It started off two years ago when my partner and i decided to get married. We visited about twenty venues and low wood bay hotel was the first one we had looked at.The hotel looked amazing the food sounded nice and the wedding planner Gemma stood out for us, we just knew if we had decided here would be our venue she would be amazing.It was a really easy decision to make it was the Low Wood Bay hotel for us..Every meeting we had with Gemma we felt her and her team bent over backwards for us and couldn't do enough for us.We finally got to the day of our wedding and the hotel looked amazing. The restaurant was beautiful just what we pictured and all the staff really did the hotel proud they were amazing. David the master of ceremony was really professional and fun at the same time and he also did a amazing job.
The food was amazing couldn't fault it and im a chef so couldn't recommend the food enough!!
The grounds were amazing and im sure our pictures will look great. The evening reception looked out of this world ( when you look around and you see conference rooms please don't let this put you off seriously our room looked beautiful ). The food was really good in the evening and there resident DJ which Gemma recommended did a perfect job . I would suggest if using low wood bay you should also use Ambience for your decor bits they work so well with the Low Wood Bay.The whole day was truly amazing and we couldn't of asked for any more its just a shame its over. They made you feel like part of there team and felt like friends at the end. I couldn't recommend this Hotel enough. Gemma you a truly a little star and we will miss you and thank you to David and Rea and all the team!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyJubly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Lovelyjubly, thank you for your wonderful review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay for your special day out of 20 other venues. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I will pass on your comments to Gemma, it is lovely to read that you believe that she stood out, I agree she is a star that we are so proud to have on our team. I will also make sure David is aware of your comments he will be pleased to read that you thought he was not only professional but also fun.

It was also great to read that you enjoyed the work of Ambiance venue style who decorated your evening function as well as DJ Aldini who we do highly recommend to anyone looking for fun entertainment. It is always great to hear good reviews but never more so than when the guest reviewing is in the same industry and understands the work that goes on behind the scenes, I will ensure chef is aware of your comments.

Once again I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspect of your wedding day at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first wedding anniversary in 2014. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We got married at the Low Wood May 5th 2013. Everything was amazing, we loved every minute. The staff were fabulous from start to finish. Gemma helped me with everything I needed. The hotel is beautiful and a perfect place in the lakes. I would like ot thank everyone who helped with our wedding, it ran brilliant from start to finish including all the pre wedding arrangments. Every one who stayed enjoyed themselves and said the venue and hotel was lovely. The food was excellent. The only complaint i would have would be the room I got ready in was so small, especially for such a large wedding party that I wish they had mentioned they had bigger rooms, as most people I spoke to said their rooms were huge, so not such why we got ready in such a tight space. Thank you all for making our wedding day a very special one, see you all next year for out anniversary love Xanthe, Jonathan and Logan x x x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Xanthe and Jonathon, thank you for your wonderful review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay for your special day. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I will pass on your comments to Gemma, Rea and the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspect of your wedding day at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first wedding anniversary in 2014. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from spending two nights here. Fantastic hotel that was very accommodating. Rooms are very spacious and ours had a fantastic view over the lake. The food was lovely and well presented. Only let down was the rudeness of other guests! But the hotel can't help that. Would definitely go back/recommend to others

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review and for sharing your thoughts with the trip advisor community. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay but sorry to read you were disrupted by other guests, we do try to ensure all guest are respectful towards other guests. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay, can really recommend this hotel. Rooms clean and spacious. Food and service excellent - special mention for the dining room staff and reception for such a warm welcome. Food in dining room delicious, but other dining options available if you fancy a bar meal or pizza - also delicious. Pool and leisure facilities really enhanced our stay - outdoor hot tub a treat. We visited with our 11 year old son who was made really welcome. We visited the water activities centre over the road - hired a motor boat and a canoe - guests at the hotel get 10 percent discount. Water taxi takes you to Ambleside twice a day, but it's a nice easy walk ( around 20 minutes) Nearby pub with lovely lake side beer garden breaks the stroll up nicely. For the money we paid, this hotel met all our requirements and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 408 - no view, but lovely and quiet - hence a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderfully detailed review about your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you all aspects of your stay from the staff, the comfortable room, the leisure facilities, the food in the Windermere restaurant, the Watersports facilities and the waterbus service.

I will ensure you comments are passed on to Filip and the team in the restaurant; we do pride our self in how our guests are treated and truly believe that it is our staff that make the hotel the success that it is. When you next decide to visit the area it would be great to welcome you back to Low Wood Bay. Once again thank you for your review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing