We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,015 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Sprawling hotel by the lake. Great views of the lake. This hotel is between Windermere and Ambleside. Friendly service-minded staff. Great breakfast buffet. In the evening the hotel restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. The rooms are fairly large and clean. My only surprise was that the towel I had left on a chair was not replaced nor hung up - I am all for saving the environment but do like a dry towel in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review about hotel, it was great to read that you enjoyed the views as well as the room and your experiences in the Windermere restaurant. It was very pleasing to read that you thought our staff were service minded, although I was sorry to read of the towels not being replaced or hung on the towel rail to dry, I will inform the housekeeping manager of your comments. We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    456
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
414
837
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Some of the views on trip advisor really don't do this hotel nor its staff justice.

You are greeted with a smile from every member of staff when they see you, from the reception staff to the bar staff to the porters. The room we stayed in was lovely and very cosy, although we didn't spend much time in it as its the Lake District and walking around the many fells is a must!

Staying on a particularly busy night, the porter was extremely busy (I believe his name was Thomas?) with bags. However, he never failed to have a smile on his face when greeting guests; he even (after taking what must have been around 60 bags to rooms) came over and asked if everything was okay and if he could do anything for us. This sort of I prising attitude is seen throughout the hotel. The restaurant is one pace this is seen too, while you can tell that English isn't their first language their command over the English one is fantastic. They are all very polite and cannot do enough for you.

Without hesitation I would visit again and recommend it highly to everyone I know.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for such a rewarding review, it was great to read that you had such a wonderful stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and were able to enjoy the wonderful walks that the area has to offer.

It ws especially pleasing to read that you felt you received excellent service and big friendly smiles from our team but especially from Thomas, I have passed on your comments to Thomas and nominated him for a +1 award, which is the company recognition program for staff who work hard to exceed our guest expectations. I will also ensure your comments are passed on to the rest of the team, of whom we are very proud of!

You may be interested to know that all reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Low Wood Bay. What a lovely hotel. Our room was clean and very comfortable with everything needed for our stay including a hairdryer and iron. The swimming pool and spa was great too with a fab outdoor hot tub (towels are provided). The hotel staff are very friendly and happy to help. The food is excellent with a good choice available. We had a really enjoyable stay and will certainly be returning in the future. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a lake view would be stunning. Although the woodland view rooms are also very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review about hotel, You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We recently returned to the Low Wood to celebrate our first wedding anniversary after getting married there in 2012. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. They made our stay so special, allocating us the same room as our wedding night and decorating our evening meal table with 'happy anniversary' decorations. We had a fantastic weekend here remembering our fantastic day in 2012! So a big thank you to everyone at the Low Wood, we shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for the wonderful review regarding your anniversary stay at the hotel, it was so lovely to see you again following your wedding at the hotel in 2012. I can imagine it bought back many happy memories; I was pleased to read you loved the room and the decorated table at dinner. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future or next year to celebrate another wedding anniversary. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have stayed at the Low Wood Hotel on many occasions now. t is the only hotel that my husband will stay at in the Lake District. The 4* hotel is very luxurious, the rooms are always presented very well and if you are lucky enough t get a room on the front of the hotel the views over Lake Windermere are stunning. The Windermere restaurant offers and delicious menu with daily specials. Nothing is too much trouble.
All the staff are so welcoming and friendly and happy to help.
We especially like the water bus that goes from the hotel jetty and takes you to Ambleside, you can then enjoy a steamer cruise on Lake Windermere without the hassle of parking the car.
Last year we stayed at the Low Wood and had terrible weather. This year we had stunning weather, glorious sunshine and vey hot.
We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: All the room are very comfortable. There is a supplement for a Feature room or a Lake view room. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear regular guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. It was great to read that you found the hotel to be Luxurious and that you were able to enjoy the stunning views from your room and make use of our waterbus service; I agree the view is amazing.

It was also fantastic to read that you enjoyed your meals in the Windermere restaurant as well and the staff who you describe as friendly and welcoming, we are very proud of the whole team, I will ensure your comments are passed on to them. Again thank you for your review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel, we had suffered a long long drive and arrivedexhausted to the beautiful low wood Bay. There was a wedding taking place in the grounds and we were charmed during dinner watching little page boys running about in the grounds. Food at dinner was lovely as was breakfast. Very impressed that the staff remembered and addressed us by our names. Outstanding service! I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommasiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review and the lovely comments about hotel and our team, I am pleased that after a very long exhausting journey you felt look after and that you were entertained by the young page boys playing on the lawns as part of the wedding taking place.

It was also great to read that you enjoyed all the meals served to you in the Windermere Restaurant and that you felt you received fantastic service. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights (6th - 7th aug) and the whole experience was brilliant from start to finish. Friendly helpful staff, beautiful location and the food was divine especially the evening meal. The room was comfortable and quiet. We were also lucky with the weather. We will return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Khodgson1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review and the lovely comments about hotel and our team, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing