We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party lunch - excellent value, lovely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Came here for our work staff Christmas lunch, 3 courses for only £15.50, and although perhaps not particularly gourmet, it was well presented, very tasty and plenty in terms of portion size. Very good value for money. The restaurant and lounge bar are really tastefully done, comfy sofas and chairs in the latter are a great touch, lovely to sit with a few drinks with friends whilst looking out over the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel and the recent Lunch you attended for your works Christmas party. It was great to read that you enjoyed your lunch at the hotel and that you felt it was good value for money. I do hope you visit us again throughout the year. Once again thank you for your comments. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Came here with a works Christmas party. The atmosphere was good and tge food was acceptable consideding the large amount of people they were serving. The breakfast was very good and plenty of selection. The room was spotless and the bed comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was good to hear that the Low Wood was chosen to host your works Christmas celebrations. It was good to read that you thought there was a good atmosphere and the food was of a good standard. I was also good to read that you thought your room was clean and comfortable. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A group of 8 of us from different parts of the UK, met up at the Low Wood for a 3 night stay. The bedrooms were lovely, all with a lake view, although ours was the best - ask for room 37. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with raised bath area together with shower etc., Seating area in bedroom with two comfortable armchairs. Good selection of tea and coffe facilities in the room Walk-in wardrobe complete with safe and trouser press.

We booked to have dinner in the hotel each evening and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent with a good selection on the menu. Service very prompt and courteous. Fabulous breakfasts, I can't think of anything you would want for breakfast that wasn't available.

We took advantage of the spa facilities, using the pool, sauna and hot tub..

The location of the hotel is very convenient to travel around the Lakes.

All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Low Wood and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Request Room 37 - lovely views and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent three night stay at the Low Wood as part of a group stay. It was good to read that you found your room to be comfortable and spacious and found the room also had good facilities. Its also good to hear that you found the food in the hotel to be of excellent standard.

Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend booked 2 nights at the Low Wood through secret escapes as a Christmas treat and we definitely weren't disappointed at all. Our room was on two levels with a comfy bed and spotless bathroom, as well as a quaint sitting room. It was slightly noisy because of our distance from the speed bump outside and because the walls between our bedroom and the corridor outside was incredibly thin (we heard another room get a wake up call). The pool and jacuzzi etc. was lovely and well kept and staff were friendly and happy to sort out any problem at all. The breakfasts were impressive and made even better with the beautiful lake-view, again staff were happy to provide me with decaf coffee and poached instead of fried eggs. The only disappointment we had with the hotel was that we were given a voucher for free prosecco and planned to redeem it after a trip to the cinema one night but we came back at half 10 to find the bar closed, because of this we never got to redeem it, i would have loved to experience a nice chill out at night in the bar but now we know for next time i suppose.

Room Tip: We didn't specify a lake-view but we wish we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed your Christmas treat through one of the special offers. We are glad that you found our staff helpful throughout your stay. I am glad to read that you found your room comfortable and clean, I am sorry to hear that there were a couple of noise issues. I am glad that you had chance to use and enjoy our leisure facilities. It was unfortunate that you were unable to redeem the voucher for your glass of sparkling wine, our Langdale bar is open to residents on a 24 hour basis.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fabulous setting...lake views from the dining room while tucking into a great unhurried breakfast. Smart comfortable bedroom with absolutely no road noise which was quite surprising as I slept with the window open onto a small courtyard done in a zen-garden style. Very welcoming atmosphere and staff. Felt very relaxed and unpretentious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you thought our staff created a welcoming atmosphere. It was also good to read that you thought your room was smart and comfortable and that our breakfasts were great.

Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Spent 2 nights here recently with my husband and we honestly couldn't fault it. The staff were wonderful, the room was clean, the food was excellent.

We got a good deal on a winter break here for £238 and that included dinner on the first night.

We would certainly go again, but whether we would get such a good deal 'in season' is debatable.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay on the special offer you received. I am glad to read that you thought our staff were wonderful and you thought our food was excellent. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the low wood bay for my husbands work Christmas party.
The view is fabulous and all public spaces within and around the hotel are lovely.
We were lucky in comparison to other friends as our room was a lot larger than theirs. However, it was tired with faded sofas, moulds marks on the duvet and dusty drapes over the bed. As our room was large, it was also cold and with the heating on, I still needed a couple of layers on in bed.
All the staff were incredibly friendly and the Christmas party entertainment: the Beatles tribute was excellent.
Food in the evening was standard hotel Christmas fare although breakfast was superb with a great variety.
Average hotel situated in fabulous scenery.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank stewpotUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay for your Festive celebrations. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the entertainment. I am sorry to hear that there were issues with certain aspects of the room and room temperatures.

Your comments have been highlighted and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are pleased that you found our breakfast superb. Thank you once again for your review. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,084 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £150 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing