We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit for christmas party evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low Wood Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Low Wood Bay
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Return visit for christmas party evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My Fiancée and I loved the party evening and stay last year so booked to come again this year.

The quality of our room and service were a consistent match to the year previous which is excellent!

We noticed that the more tired looking corridors of the older part of the hotel had been given a lick of paint and new carpet, although this was not entirely necessary it is a great improvement and shows the continued reach to keep high standards the team adopt.

We have stayed at various times of the year and feel it should certainly be on people's top 3 places to stay along Windermere lake and a personal favourite for my fiancée and I.


We like the place so much we have chosen the lowwood for our wedding venue next year, we are so impressed with the friendly staff, great service and consistent standards.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeilCrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Regular Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel and the Christmas party night that you attended. It is always great to receive feedback but even more so from guest who return year after year.

It was great to read that you once again enjoyed the party night, but it was especially great to read that you have recognized that we are as a hotel continuously investing in this wonderful building. Thank you also for the comments regarding our team and the service that you received.

On another note we are very much looking forward to hosting your wedding this year and welcoming your family and friends to share your special day with you. Once again thank you for your comments. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    451
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
405
831
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Cane with my partner just before Xmas. It was lovely, the hotel is beautiful and the staff are wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The food at dinner was excellent as was breakfast, delightful setting and thoroughly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Went to Xmas dinner dance with friends. Not a big lover of tribute nights but have to say the Abba tribute night was fantastic. The dance floor was always full and I didn't sit down all the time. Meal brilliant too. Very impressed with the hotel when they posted the mirror I had left in the room first class - thanks very much.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel and the Christmas party night that you attended with your friends. It was very pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening and that you enjoyed the Abba tribute band, they were very good. It was also great to read that you enjoyed your meal and that we were able to help reunite you with the mirror you left in your room. Once again thank you for your comments. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Came here for our work staff Christmas lunch, 3 courses for only £15.50, and although perhaps not particularly gourmet, it was well presented, very tasty and plenty in terms of portion size. Very good value for money. The restaurant and lounge bar are really tastefully done, comfy sofas and chairs in the latter are a great touch, lovely to sit with a few drinks with friends whilst looking out over the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel and the recent Lunch you attended for your works Christmas party. It was great to read that you enjoyed your lunch at the hotel and that you felt it was good value for money. I do hope you visit us again throughout the year. Once again thank you for your comments. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
334 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Came here with a works Christmas party. The atmosphere was good and tge food was acceptable consideding the large amount of people they were serving. The breakfast was very good and plenty of selection. The room was spotless and the bed comfy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was good to hear that the Low Wood was chosen to host your works Christmas celebrations. It was good to read that you thought there was a good atmosphere and the food was of a good standard. I was also good to read that you thought your room was clean and comfortable. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A group of 8 of us from different parts of the UK, met up at the Low Wood for a 3 night stay. The bedrooms were lovely, all with a lake view, although ours was the best - ask for room 37. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with raised bath area together with shower etc., Seating area in bedroom with two comfortable armchairs. Good selection of tea and coffe facilities in the room Walk-in wardrobe complete with safe and trouser press.

We booked to have dinner in the hotel each evening and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent with a good selection on the menu. Service very prompt and courteous. Fabulous breakfasts, I can't think of anything you would want for breakfast that wasn't available.

We took advantage of the spa facilities, using the pool, sauna and hot tub..

The location of the hotel is very convenient to travel around the Lakes.

All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Low Wood and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Request Room 37 - lovely views and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibizadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent three night stay at the Low Wood as part of a group stay. It was good to read that you found your room to be comfortable and spacious and found the room also had good facilities. Its also good to hear that you found the food in the hotel to be of excellent standard.

Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend booked 2 nights at the Low Wood through secret escapes as a Christmas treat and we definitely weren't disappointed at all. Our room was on two levels with a comfy bed and spotless bathroom, as well as a quaint sitting room. It was slightly noisy because of our distance from the speed bump outside and because the walls between our bedroom and the corridor outside was incredibly thin (we heard another room get a wake up call). The pool and jacuzzi etc. was lovely and well kept and staff were friendly and happy to sort out any problem at all. The breakfasts were impressive and made even better with the beautiful lake-view, again staff were happy to provide me with decaf coffee and poached instead of fried eggs. The only disappointment we had with the hotel was that we were given a voucher for free prosecco and planned to redeem it after a trip to the cinema one night but we came back at half 10 to find the bar closed, because of this we never got to redeem it, i would have loved to experience a nice chill out at night in the bar but now we know for next time i suppose.

Room Tip: We didn't specify a lake-view but we wish we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed your Christmas treat through one of the special offers. We are glad that you found our staff helpful throughout your stay. I am glad to read that you found your room comfortable and clean, I am sorry to hear that there were a couple of noise issues. I am glad that you had chance to use and enjoy our leisure facilities. It was unfortunate that you were unable to redeem the voucher for your glass of sparkling wine, our Langdale bar is open to residents on a 24 hour basis.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay

Property: Low Wood Bay
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Low Wood Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing