We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with friends for 2 nights taking in the New Year Celebration. Everything was perfect! The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was nothing but first class. Right from the afternoon tea on our arrival to the large breakfast on the last day the food was great. We stopped in an upgraded room which was great, everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay: a large comfy bed, tea making facilities, TV, all you would want in the bathroom and a safe. This was our second New Year Celebration at Low Wood and it will not be our last. We are, in fact, going to take more friends with us next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kwall53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear New Years Guest, thank you for your excellent review regarding your stay over the New Years period. I am pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable with good facilities. I am pleased to hear that you found both the staff and food to be of a first class standard. Its more pleasing to hear that you are thinking of retuning to see us this year and bringing some friends with you.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. James Wilkinson Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire, england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's just a short drive past Windermere & Bowness (coming from lower lakes) and you arrive at Low Wood Bay on the right with a huge carpark behind it so that's never a worry here.
The staff are always there to welcome you straight away & can't do enough for you. They make it 5* every time for us.
The lake-view rooms are gorgeous but even if you're at the back, you can sit in the big lounge and soak it up over a hot chocolate or glass of wine. The food in the bar and restaurant is good quality local stuff so feels like a real treat every time you sit down to eat. Best buffet breakfast around too.

We have stayed here lots, got married here too & just took our children to stay over Christmas where there was lots of entertainment/activities & treats laid on for everyone.
The staff really make this place so much more than a 4* hotel. If you like a bit of luxury but like to be able to relax and walk in in your walking boots, or even with your dog, Low Wood Bay has to be tried out!

P.S Don't forget to take your swim gear and get in the pool & definitely the outdoor hot tub!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divergirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear regular guest, Once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – we are pleased that you wanted to bring your family away to the Low Wood for the festive season. It was once again great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the gorgeous rooms, quality food, 5* service and the comfort of our lounge area. It is also good to here that you got the chance to use our leisure facilities especially the out door hot tub.

I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just had two nights between Christmas and New Year with my partner. Stayed in a four poster room with a partial view of the lake. Lovely room, welcoming staff. Downsides? Well, service in the restaurant at dinner was very slow - we were compensated with a free drink on the second evening. The food at dinner wasn't as good as it sounded either, if that makes sense, although the breakfasts were excellent. I wish that chefs would stick to less pretentious dishes and give slightly bigger portions of simpler food - I'm sure that 90% of guests would agree.
Overall though, a lovely break. Not cheap, but hey, it's Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your recent review regarding the Twixmass break you enjoyed with your partner at the hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you loved the room with the four poster bed and partial lake view.

I was however disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in relation to dinner in the Windermere Restaurant, I will certainly address the issues you highlighted with chef and the team. It was great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed just after Christmas, hotel had a very nice ambience, lake facing view was well worth it but you do hear cars driving by,
staff were very helpful, and service and breakfast was excellent.
could have done with a little modernisation in the rooms and corridors.
Location was great if you have a car as it was a fair distance from both Ambleside and Windermere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtiaoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at the hotel between Christmas and New Year. Thank you for your kind comments about our helpful and friendly staff and the wonderful breakfasts you enjoyed in the Windermere Restaurant.

With reference to the quality of the rooms we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place which aims to upgrade the few rooms and corridors that we believe are in need of upgrading, just prior to Christmas we renovated 18 of our classic lake view rooms in light of the above upgrade plans.

Once again thanks for the review and for sharing it with the Trip Advisor community. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here over Christmas with my two young children, and was very impressed. Lots of very well thought out games and fun for the children. They really do make it so much fun for the children. Seeing santa fall in the lake was a particular highlight!! The staff are excellent and nothing is to much. The food was excellent and there's a very friendly, homely feel about the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Christmas Guest, thank you for your excellent review regarding your stay at the hotel for our Christmas package, I am very pleased that the children had such a fab time.

Watching Santa water-ski to the hotel, then fall in the lake was also a highlight for me and the team! It was great to read that you enjoyed the food and that you though it was excellent as well as the lovely comments about our team, we are very proud of them.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future or for another for another enjoyable Christmas break. Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My Fiancée and I loved the party evening and stay last year so booked to come again this year.

The quality of our room and service were a consistent match to the year previous which is excellent!

We noticed that the more tired looking corridors of the older part of the hotel had been given a lick of paint and new carpet, although this was not entirely necessary it is a great improvement and shows the continued reach to keep high standards the team adopt.

We have stayed at various times of the year and feel it should certainly be on people's top 3 places to stay along Windermere lake and a personal favourite for my fiancée and I.


We like the place so much we have chosen the lowwood for our wedding venue next year, we are so impressed with the friendly staff, great service and consistent standards.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeilCrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Regular Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel and the Christmas party night that you attended. It is always great to receive feedback but even more so from guest who return year after year.

It was great to read that you once again enjoyed the party night, but it was especially great to read that you have recognized that we are as a hotel continuously investing in this wonderful building. Thank you also for the comments regarding our team and the service that you received.

On another note we are very much looking forward to hosting your wedding this year and welcoming your family and friends to share your special day with you. Once again thank you for your comments. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Cane with my partner just before Xmas. It was lovely, the hotel is beautiful and the staff are wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The food at dinner was excellent as was breakfast, delightful setting and thoroughly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing