We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner saved the day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Staffs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner saved the day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

It had promised so much- but delivered so little.
My husband had booked a 1 night stay, at the end of a week in a cottage in the North Lakes. We started with the room he had booked, a split level suite... Sounds grand but it certainly wasn't . No view of the lake, just roof tops through the small windows. We asked to be moved.
The second room had a lake view, that's the best I can say about it.
The dust on the headboard indicated a low level of cleaning, The bathroom/ cupboard was very disappointing for the standard of hotel/ price we had paid.I know it's hard to control, but noise from the corridor disturbed sleep- the gap under the door didn't help.
As the package was DB&B we ate in the restaurant. Our expectations were low- and so we had a lovely surprise. The food was lovely and service good- however the restaurant did lack atmosphere, was cold and the tables were very close together.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziejStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear SuziejStaffs

I am sorry to learn of your disappointment after your recent stay at the Low Wood Bay, certainly with regards to the poor quality housekeeping. Its very disappointing to learn housekeeping let us down on this occasion, they are normally so good as highlighted by other trip advisor reviews. Please be assured this has been highlighted with the team, to ensure standards are maintained. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme, and I am pleased to report we are in the closing straight of completing all 110 bedrooms. In the coming year we will have finished every room and hopefully when next visiting you will have the pleasure of staying in one of these rooms. I am so pleased you enjoyed the Windermere Restaurant, the chef along with the brigade work hard at providing quality food. Again thank you for taking the time to write this review, I only hope upon your next visit you will see improvements and this is not our normal standard of service or accommodation.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    453
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
408
833
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

after being in scotland for the new year we decided to break up the journy home and have anight at lowwood excellent location overlooking lake windermere the reception were polite and helful as were all the staff even helping me get the wi fi working on my phone we had a lovely room above the spa clean and comfortable we had dinner in the bistro which was simple but tasty bt i thought the bar meals in the main hotel were a bit on the pricey side the breakfast was very good as much as you wanted all in all a nice comfortable hotel and would stay again

Room Tip: the rooms above the spa have a lovely view across the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you thought our staff were polite and helpful and could assist you in connecting to our wi-fi.

I am also pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and had the opportunity to eat in our bistro. It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast but unfortunate to hear that you found the meals in the Langdale bar to be on the pricey side. Once again thank you for your comments, your feed back is taken into consideration and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berchtesgaden, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

When we arrived the hotel looked better than we expected. One individual who worked on reception was abrupt and had a terrible attitude. Apart from that some staff went the extra mile to please. Breakfast was good although because it was buffet style the fried breakfast was cold but everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review about hotel, it was gratifying to read that you mainly enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you found a member of our reception team to be abrupt with a terrible attitude. We do take pride in providing a quality service and am sure this is an isolated incident. I am glad to read that you found breakfast to be good, but certain parts of the buffet being cold. I hope that you choose to come to see us again where the matters above would be rectified. - Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Dinner Bed & Breakfast for two is a great deal for a sneaky night away to recover from Christmas chaos....relaxing (even if the art work is a little out of keeping) fab food and helpful staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a nice relaxing after the Christmas Chaos. Its go to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and the food to be fab. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with friends for 2 nights taking in the New Year Celebration. Everything was perfect! The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was nothing but first class. Right from the afternoon tea on our arrival to the large breakfast on the last day the food was great. We stopped in an upgraded room which was great, everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay: a large comfy bed, tea making facilities, TV, all you would want in the bathroom and a safe. This was our second New Year Celebration at Low Wood and it will not be our last. We are, in fact, going to take more friends with us next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kwall53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear New Years Guest, thank you for your excellent review regarding your stay over the New Years period. I am pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable with good facilities. I am pleased to hear that you found both the staff and food to be of a first class standard. Its more pleasing to hear that you are thinking of retuning to see us this year and bringing some friends with you.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. James Wilkinson Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's just a short drive past Windermere & Bowness (coming from lower lakes) and you arrive at Low Wood Bay on the right with a huge carpark behind it so that's never a worry here.
The staff are always there to welcome you straight away & can't do enough for you. They make it 5* every time for us.
The lake-view rooms are gorgeous but even if you're at the back, you can sit in the big lounge and soak it up over a hot chocolate or glass of wine. The food in the bar and restaurant is good quality local stuff so feels like a real treat every time you sit down to eat. Best buffet breakfast around too.

We have stayed here lots, got married here too & just took our children to stay over Christmas where there was lots of entertainment/activities & treats laid on for everyone.
The staff really make this place so much more than a 4* hotel. If you like a bit of luxury but like to be able to relax and walk in in your walking boots, or even with your dog, Low Wood Bay has to be tried out!

P.S Don't forget to take your swim gear and get in the pool & definitely the outdoor hot tub!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divergirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear regular guest, Once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – we are pleased that you wanted to bring your family away to the Low Wood for the festive season. It was once again great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the gorgeous rooms, quality food, 5* service and the comfort of our lounge area. It is also good to here that you got the chance to use our leisure facilities especially the out door hot tub.

I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just had two nights between Christmas and New Year with my partner. Stayed in a four poster room with a partial view of the lake. Lovely room, welcoming staff. Downsides? Well, service in the restaurant at dinner was very slow - we were compensated with a free drink on the second evening. The food at dinner wasn't as good as it sounded either, if that makes sense, although the breakfasts were excellent. I wish that chefs would stick to less pretentious dishes and give slightly bigger portions of simpler food - I'm sure that 90% of guests would agree.
Overall though, a lovely break. Not cheap, but hey, it's Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your recent review regarding the Twixmass break you enjoyed with your partner at the hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you loved the room with the four poster bed and partial lake view.

I was however disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in relation to dinner in the Windermere Restaurant, I will certainly address the issues you highlighted with chef and the team. It was great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing