We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
1,915 results
Traveller rating
1,092
497
195
87
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
497
195
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue smokeleisure clublake viewleisure facilitiesthe outdoor hot tubbusy roadbuilding workmain restaurantfeature roomlake districtlovely hotelkendal mint cakerestaurant staffsteam roomwedding partyhigh standardlots of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 1,915 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my fiancée for a weekend break. We couldn't find any faults at all, we loved it. Ate the first night at the Windermere restaurant within the hotel and the food was amazing. Buffet style breakfast with great choice hot or cold, which was very nice. Staff all friendly, great service, rooms nice and clean and lovely views. Would certainly visit again!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mflappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you and your fiancée both enjoyed your recent weekend break at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you thought our staff were friendly and provided a great service. It was also good to hear that you thought our food was amazing. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It had promised so much- but delivered so little.
My husband had booked a 1 night stay, at the end of a week in a cottage in the North Lakes. We started with the room he had booked, a split level suite... Sounds grand but it certainly wasn't . No view of the lake, just roof tops through the small windows. We asked to be moved.
The second room had a lake view, that's the best I can say about it.
The dust on the headboard indicated a low level of cleaning, The bathroom/ cupboard was very disappointing for the standard of hotel/ price we had paid.I know it's hard to control, but noise from the corridor disturbed sleep- the gap under the door didn't help.
As the package was DB&B we ate in the restaurant. Our expectations were low- and so we had a lovely surprise. The food was lovely and service good- however the restaurant did lack atmosphere, was cold and the tables were very close together.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziejStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear SuziejStaffs

I am sorry to learn of your disappointment after your recent stay at the Low Wood Bay, certainly with regards to the poor quality housekeeping. Its very disappointing to learn housekeeping let us down on this occasion, they are normally so good as highlighted by other trip advisor reviews. Please be assured this has been highlighted with the team, to ensure standards are maintained. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme, and I am pleased to report we are in the closing straight of completing all 110 bedrooms. In the coming year we will have finished every room and hopefully when next visiting you will have the pleasure of staying in one of these rooms. I am so pleased you enjoyed the Windermere Restaurant, the chef along with the brigade work hard at providing quality food. Again thank you for taking the time to write this review, I only hope upon your next visit you will see improvements and this is not our normal standard of service or accommodation.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

after being in scotland for the new year we decided to break up the journy home and have anight at lowwood excellent location overlooking lake windermere the reception were polite and helful as were all the staff even helping me get the wi fi working on my phone we had a lovely room above the spa clean and comfortable we had dinner in the bistro which was simple but tasty bt i thought the bar meals in the main hotel were a bit on the pricey side the breakfast was very good as much as you wanted all in all a nice comfortable hotel and would stay again

Room Tip: the rooms above the spa have a lovely view across the lake
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you thought our staff were polite and helpful and could assist you in connecting to our wi-fi.

I am also pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and had the opportunity to eat in our bistro. It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast but unfortunate to hear that you found the meals in the Langdale bar to be on the pricey side. Once again thank you for your comments, your feed back is taken into consideration and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

When we arrived the hotel looked better than we expected. One individual who worked on reception was abrupt and had a terrible attitude. Apart from that some staff went the extra mile to please. Breakfast was good although because it was buffet style the fried breakfast was cold but everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnsleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review about hotel, it was gratifying to read that you mainly enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you found a member of our reception team to be abrupt with a terrible attitude. We do take pride in providing a quality service and am sure this is an isolated incident. I am glad to read that you found breakfast to be good, but certain parts of the buffet being cold. I hope that you choose to come to see us again where the matters above would be rectified. - Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Dinner Bed & Breakfast for two is a great deal for a sneaky night away to recover from Christmas chaos....relaxing (even if the art work is a little out of keeping) fab food and helpful staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a nice relaxing after the Christmas Chaos. Its go to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and the food to be fab. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews