We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a mini moon with my new wife for a few nights!! What a great place, all staff were friendly and hard working! All areas clean and pleasant! We were put in a room overlooking the lake which was brilliant with a jacuzzi bath! Food great and outside hot tub in leisure centre was lovely! Would definitely recommend a visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jontyChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, congratulations on your recent wedding and I am pleased that you enjoyed your Mini Moon here at the hotel and thank you for such a rewarding review. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and hard working; I will pass your comments onto the team. I am pleased that you liked your lake view room with Jacuzzi bath.

It’s also good that you had chance to use the leisure facilities especially having time to relax in the out door hot tub. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, perhaps for one of your wedding anniversaries. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    467
    180
    80
    39
See reviews for
422
848
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from a four-night break at the Low Wood Bay Hotel. From the moment we entered the hotel, we found a very warm welcome from all the staff and this continued throughout our stay. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast option and found this was excellent value. The food was super and we had a lovely choice each day. Breakfast was buffet style and it was nice to have a varied selection to chose from each morning. The A La Carte evening dinner was so relaxing and we enjoyed the whole ambience of the restaurant and of course, being waited on was a special treat. We enjoyed relaxing in the Hotel lounges after breakfast and dinner each day and we didn't feel at all pressurised in any way to have to have a drink (although we did - our own choice).The swimming pool and spa facillities were excellent and the outside hot tub was wonderful. Cannot fault this hotel - location, staff friendliness, comfortable bedroom - all in all, a wonderful break and we look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: We had a restricted side view of the lake but you do get some traffic noise from the road if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad to read that you thought all of our staff were warm and welcoming throughout your stay. It’s also good to hear that you found our food to be of good quality and we had plenty of choice at both dinner and breakfast.

I am glad that you had chance to use our leisure facilities especially our Out door hut tub, this is very popular with our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had not booked a hotel for a stop on our journey from Devon to Edinburgh but we took a chance at Low Wood. It proved to be an excellent choice, with a lakeside view, a well stocked bar and excellent cuisine served up expertly. The reception staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask how many flights of stairs there are between the reception and the floor where your room is situ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you selected the Low Wood as an overnight stay to break up your long journey. It’s good to read that you thought our reception staff was helpful and you thought our food was excellent. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I spent two nights at the hotel on a business trip and used the conference facilities. The room was fine: I stayed in the annexe part of the hotel at the back. The room was modern, bathroom was good, noises did come through from the adjoining rooms ... television, snoring, someone emptying their clothes from the wardrobe at 6 in the morning!
The food was good, excellent choice at breakfast, generous portions at dinner. The setting is phenomenal, but the road at the front between the hotel and the lake is quite busy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaChitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay on business using our conference facilities at the hotel. I am glad to read that you thought our food was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Its also good to hear that you found our rooms to be modern and comfortable. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the future, whether in is with business or as a leisure guest. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is beautiful. We stayed in early March, I had booked just the house double room for my partners birthday due to the prices, however when we got there due to have available rooms we were offered an upgrade to a lake view room for just £35. The room was stunning, a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and a view to die for. What fantastic service. Everywhere clean and everyone friendly. Could not have asked for more.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the location of our hotel to be beautiful. I have to agree it is a great location with lovely views of the surrounding area. I am glad you took the opportunity to upgrade to one of our feature lake view rooms which looked over Lake Windermere.

It’s also good to hear that you though we provided a friendly service and the hotel was very clean. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at low wood bay for three nights. The room was very basic and quite small but clean and had everything we needed. The dining room and lounges are lovely and the food and drink was lovely and reasonably priced. The spa pool was lovely but smaller than appears on the pictures, the hot tub sauna and steam were a little dated and dirty looking. Overall it was an ok stay but not at nice as we expected. The view is amazing though!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelawinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our dining facilities and lounge bar area. I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be basic and quite small. Some of our rooms are smaller, depending on what room type you had reserved. The majority of our classic rooms and feature rooms are bigger than our standard house rooms for example. When making a reservation please speak to one of our reservations team and I am sure we can find a room that will meet your requirements.

I will pass your comments with regards to our leisure facilities onto the club manager. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a 3 day break at this hotel, and would recommend it, from the location and scenery, to the hotel facilities and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in all areas. We had a truly unforgettable 3 days.

Room Tip: Definitely front of hotel, views are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeliahicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent three day stay at the hotel. I am glad to read that you thought our staff was wonderful and we had good facilities. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,060 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing