We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very friendly staff, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very friendly staff, good value for money”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked the Low Wood for a birthday surprise for my mum's 60th birthday. We stayed for two nights and ate dinner in the restaurant on the first night. The room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant had panoramic views over the lake which was a spectacular setting whilst eating breakfast. All of the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the lakes who wants a comfortable, good value base from which to explore the local countryside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sendai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I hope that your mum had time to relax and enjoyed her birthday surprise. I am pleased to read that you thought our staff was friendly and helpful and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I spent 3 days at the Low Wood Bay hotel for a work conference. The place is ideally situated right across from the lake, and my bedroom window had a wonderful view of the water and the hills. The common areas of the hotel are beautifully decorated, kept in very warm, earthern tones - and lots of chandeliers and fireplaces strategically placed throughout the place. And lots of places to realx in a comfortable chair or sofa. My room was relatively small, but I travelled alone, so it was fine for me. It provided a good comfortable bed, and then the usual desk, drawer, closet. However the furniture throughout the place is not the ususal hotel "every piece is the same" - there were some very charming pieces, which added to the feeling of a "country get away". I did not try out the leisure club, but went for a morning run through the neighboring village Ambleside - which was really picturesque.
The facilities for meetings were quite ok, however too bad that the only windows in the meeting room were facing the back side (parking area) -as the view from the other side is absolutely stunning (did I already say this?? :)). The breakfast was good, a lot of both hot and cold choices, the dinner was not as good as I had imagined based on the interior and feeling of the place. The dinner rolls were served cold, not much vegetables in any of the courses and the young male waiters seemed to be tripping over each other's and own feet, seemingly finding it difficult to serve our group of approx. 25 people. They were friendly though!
All in all a nice place - and I would definately go back again if I get the chance. Both for work and for pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Signe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed your recent stay attending a conference at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that the public areas were beautifully decorated and that you liked the fireplaces that were situated through out.

It's also good to hear that you enjoyed the selection at breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the view from your conference room, we do have conference rooms with a lake view and these would be available for you depending on the size of your conference. Our group reservations team who arrange the conferences will be more than happy to assist you. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights Monday - Thursday. The hotel was quiet so we literally got to choose our room. We went for room 45 with a huge waterbed and two windows overlooking the lake. It was beautiful. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel for lunch or dinner but we did have the breakfast. There was everything you could want, full English, cold meats, pastries, cereals, fruit, yoghurts. If you get the chance to stay here then do not pass it up.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveStrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you took the opportunity to upgrade to one of our lake view rooms which included one our water beds. It also good to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. You only had chance to dine in our Windermere restaurant for breakfast, it’s good to hear that the hotel provided a good selection at breakfast. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night weekend break to celebrate our anniversary. The staff were friendly and the service very good. Everywhere was clean and well maintained. Included evening meal was from the a la carte menu which gave a wide choice and was well cooked and presented. Even when a wedding took over the restaurant the following night, residents were put in a lovely intimate room serving as second restaurant. Only criticism is the breakfast could have been hotter. Would go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, congratulations on your recent anniversary and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found your evening meal to be of a good standard. Its also good to hear that you found the service provided to be friendly. I am sorry that you found breakfast to be cold; we will look into this and rectify it for the future. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again perhaps for one of your future anniversaries. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

an excellent choice for an unwind weekend. Our first room was rather small but the reception staff helpfully arranged a free upgrade due to a cancellation ..many thanks for that!Meals excellent. Leisure centre great especially the outdoor hottub

Room Tip: Although the view from our original room (20) at the front of the hotel, was amazing across windemer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent unwinding stay at the hotel. I am glad that you found our food to be excellent and had the opportunity to use our leisure facilities especially the out door hot tub, which is very popular with our guests.

I am sorry to hear that you found your original room to be small, but I am glad to read that our reception team could give you a complimentary upgrade, which made your stay more enjoyable. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a mini moon with my new wife for a few nights!! What a great place, all staff were friendly and hard working! All areas clean and pleasant! We were put in a room overlooking the lake which was brilliant with a jacuzzi bath! Food great and outside hot tub in leisure centre was lovely! Would definitely recommend a visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jontyChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, congratulations on your recent wedding and I am pleased that you enjoyed your Mini Moon here at the hotel and thank you for such a rewarding review. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and hard working; I will pass your comments onto the team. I am pleased that you liked your lake view room with Jacuzzi bath.

It’s also good that you had chance to use the leisure facilities especially having time to relax in the out door hot tub. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, perhaps for one of your wedding anniversaries. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from a four-night break at the Low Wood Bay Hotel. From the moment we entered the hotel, we found a very warm welcome from all the staff and this continued throughout our stay. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast option and found this was excellent value. The food was super and we had a lovely choice each day. Breakfast was buffet style and it was nice to have a varied selection to chose from each morning. The A La Carte evening dinner was so relaxing and we enjoyed the whole ambience of the restaurant and of course, being waited on was a special treat. We enjoyed relaxing in the Hotel lounges after breakfast and dinner each day and we didn't feel at all pressurised in any way to have to have a drink (although we did - our own choice).The swimming pool and spa facillities were excellent and the outside hot tub was wonderful. Cannot fault this hotel - location, staff friendliness, comfortable bedroom - all in all, a wonderful break and we look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: We had a restricted side view of the lake but you do get some traffic noise from the road if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad to read that you thought all of our staff were warm and welcoming throughout your stay. It’s also good to hear that you found our food to be of good quality and we had plenty of choice at both dinner and breakfast.

I am glad that you had chance to use our leisure facilities especially our Out door hut tub, this is very popular with our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing