We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We could not stay at our first choice hotel and they recommended this one. It looked lovely on the website, had good facilities and a great write-up on here, so we booked for a two night stay.

Positives:
The food was good, especially the breakfasts where there were 2 buffets (hot and cold), both with a good choice and other items available on request from the kitchens. The service in the dining room was excellent.

The views were absolutely stunning as the lake is right outside and the gardens are well kept.

I had mentioned when booking that we had recently had an anniversary and there was a balloon, chocolates and a card for us when we arrived - a lovely touch.

I was very tired the second night and retired early, before I had eaten. The dining room staff sent a selection of cheeses, crackers, etc. to my room for me, at no extra charge. I can't fault the staff in the dining room, where nothing was too much trouble.

Not so good:
When asked about the beautician facilities (prices, treatments available, etc.) the reception staff said they did not know, but did not offer to find out for me. Easy enough for them to ring through the following morning for me, but not as easy for me to go and ask as I am a wheelchair user and had no internal access, having to leave the hotel by a side door, go through a car park and re-enter through a back entrance to access other facilities, and it was cold and wet that morning. A little thing, but it would have been nice.

After eating alone then settling me in our room the second night my husband went to the bar. It was 10:40 p.m. on a Monday evening and he was told they had shut! He asked could he have just the one drink and was told the tills had been locked. There was nowhere else he could get a drink. He was not happy!

The thing that was really disappointing though was the bedroom. We had taken a virtual tour on line and seen many photographs of rooms, both on the hotel website and on here. They looked lovely. They said they had the one room with disabled facilities, wet-room, etc. and this is the one we booked. Unfortunately, it did not look anything like the ones in the illustrations when we got there! Although there were two of us it was not really big enough, more like a single than a double. There was a wooden vanity unit, with mirror and a straight backed chair and 1 small armchair. That was it apart from two single beds with only a few inches between them, small bedside tables and a shelf containing a kettle, cups, etc. Okay, I use a wheelchair, but I did not want to sit in it all of the time! Two armchairs for two guests does not seem unreasonable, though there was very little space. The walk-in closet was fine, containing a small chest of drawers and some hanging space, along with a hairdryer, trouser press, iron and ironing board. It was also big enough to store the wheelchair. But everything was very worn and shabby. The wallpaper was coming loose in places, much of the paint was cracked and peeling, the grab bars in the wet room were rusting and the whole wing smelled fusty, the smell getting worse the nearer to our room (room 3) we went. The valance on one bed had different coloured patches (spilled bleach?) down one side, one of the hand towels had rather a large hole in it, getting the picture?

I would certainly not class this as a four star establishment, simply because of the room. Shame, because some of the staff (Thanks, Daniel) tried so hard. It was so disappointing. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 3 are on the fusty corridor. Room 3 has traffic noise and is in need of redecoration and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I am sorry to learn that on your recent visit to the Low Wood Bay Resort you encountered several shortfalls in our normal standards of service and accommodation. However I am very pleased I took steps to contact you, which ensured we had the opportunity to discuss these in more detail over the phone today. As outlined, both the team and myself feel we have let ourselves down on this occasion and more importantly you and your individual needs had not being met on this occasion to which I apologies. I am only sorry we did not or had not been given the opportunity of discussed these in person whilst you had been staying with us. However as agreed you will be receiving in due course recompense for these obvious shortfalls in our normal service standards.
Kind Regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    456
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
414
837
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for a relaxing weekend and loved everything about the Hotel, could not find one fault. Clean comfortable room, excellent and friendly service from all staff. Perfect setting overlooking the Lake with stunning views of the snow-topped hills. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. Its good to read that you thought the hotel is set in a good location, I have to agree the views we have from the hotel are amazing no matter what time of year. I’m pleased to hear that you though all our staff at the hotel was helpful and that your room was clean and comfortable. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. Great location for exploring the local area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and bed comfortable. Particularly enjoyed the pool/jacuzzi/sauna - although the sauna is rather cosy!! Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter but do not have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you selected the Low Wood Bay as a base to explore the local area. It’s good to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that your room was clean and comfortable. It’s also good to hear that you got the opportunity to use the facilities over at the leisure club and particularly enjoyed the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights whilst exploring the Lake District. Overall we were happy with the hotel, our room was clean and comfortable and the service was good. There must have been a conference on when we stayed as the breakfast buffet was always very busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaydarVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. I hope that you enjoyed the exploration of the Lake District. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you found service to be good. We have recently had a few larger conferences staying in the hotel, I hope that this did not affect your breakfast experience to much; we always try and make it as efficient as possible. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the Low Wood Bay again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Recently stayed here for a conference. I asked for a quiet room and was given room 2 as all other rooms were 'allocated' even when checking in at 11.30am. It was on the road and not quiet at all! Basic bathroom and not very comfortable single bed! Apart from that food was very good, staff helpful and generally very clean throughout! Very efficient for the conference organising too!

Room Tip: Not on the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay attending a conference at the hotel. It’s great to read that you thought the hotel was clean and that the staff was helpful. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. We take all requests seriously and fulfill them whenever we can. This depends on business levels and other reservations in the hotel. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for my wife's birthday yesterday and today. The hotel is perfect in every way. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Hot Tub (outside which overlooks the lake), Sauna are all at the hotel. The rooms are of excellent quality with TV and Internet. The beds are extremely comfortable with excellent views.

The food is of the very best, the service from all the hotel staff was excellent and they go out of their way to help you, even when you haven't had to ask them.

We will certainly be back and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We've stayed in many hotels in the Lake District and this one is the best we've been to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEJSTEELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad to read that you thought our staff was wonderful and you thought that our food was excellent. It’s good to hear that you got chance to use the leisure facilities whilst you were here especially the popular out door hot tub. Its even better to read that you think our hotel is one of the best in the Lake District. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to be invited to a friends wedding at this beautiful hotel this weekend.

A stunning venue in a stunning location and the service was second to none. Every single member of staff were an absolute credit to the Low Wood Bay Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and they worked tirelessly to ensure that the wedding went without a hitch.

This is a spotlessly clean hotel and the food was just amazing

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BestieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the recent wedding that you attended at the hotel and all aspects of your stay. I am especially pleased to hear that you thought the staff here is a credit to the hotel. I will pass your comments onto the team. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and even better to receive wonderful feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing