We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was in an excellent location and with an excellent deal for the weekend we decided to book. On arrival we were very pleased with the view of the lake, you couldn't get any closer. We were checked in easily and the room was of a good standard. We didn't have a lake view but, had no intention of sitting in the room so this was not an issue. The bed was very comfortable and the duvet was the softest bedding I have ever slept in. We checked out the leisure centre /spa and loved the outdoor hot tub. The indoor hot tub and pool area was really clean and relaxing. We used this facility all 3 days, including a very good gym on one morning. The evening meal was absolutely fantastic - first class. Excellent choice and the quality was excellent. The staff were extremely efficient and did an excellent job. The breakfast was to an equally high standard with plenty of choice. Both meals served in a stunning dining room. Sat outside on the patio in the sunshine looking out at the lake on the last day. Easy to check out. Both Ambleside and Windermere within a short distance. I cannot compliment this hotel and the staff enough. I have already recommended it to friends and would love the chance to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLGKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I have to agree with you, the view over Lake Windermere is wonderful. I am glad to read that you thought our staff was extremely efficient and you thought our food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast. It’s also good to read that you thought the bedding in the rooms were the softest that you have ever slept in. I am glad that you got the opportunity to use the leisure facilities at the hotel especially the out door hot tub which is very popular with our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had stayed at the Wild Bore hotel a couple of times and had been impressed. As the LowWood was in the same hotel group, we thought we would try that, as it was nearer to the lake. We were not disappointed as we had 2 very enjoyable days. The room was very good as was the food and all staff. A good place to stay.

Room Tip: We just had a standard room, but it could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed a previous stay at our sister hotel the Wild Boar, but am glad you selected the Low Wood this time around. As a company we try our best to maintain high standards of service so I am pleased to hear that we did not disappoint you throughout your stay. It’s also good to hear that you liked your room, found the food to be of good standard and found the staff was good. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary at the Low Wood Bay & from the moment we arrived staff made our day so lovely from chocolates, a card & balloon in the room to special touches at dinner with the staff aware that it was a celebratory day for us. We had a delicious evening meal with a very good choice of wines, the breakfast was a really good start to the day. Our thanks to everyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. Congratulations once again on your silver wedding anniversary. I am pleased to hear that you liked the special touches the staff did for you in you room on arrival and at dinner. I am glad that you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and found we had a good selection of wines. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I've been lucky enough to stay here 3 times and each experience has been brilliant. We thoroughly enjoy the scenery in this area so if you can get a room with a lake view go for it, waking up to it is breathtaking especially if there's snow on the hills in the background.
The hotel is well maintained and clean with lovely furnishings and there are several seating areas to sit and relax in between your activities or to enjoy the refreshments from a simple coffee, although there is a variety of them, to a full range of menus in the restaurant.
We chose to dine out in the evening in nearby Ambleside which is just a short taxi ride but had breakfast in the restaurant looking out onto picturesque Lake Windermere. The variety available for breakfast was impressive with options for any dietary need.
The Spa is also clean and well maintained and has almost everything you could want from a spa. The beauty treatments were unfortunately booked up this time but were fabulous when we came in January. The only downside was that the steam room was awaiting an engineer but I'm sure that will be rectified soon.
Overall it was a brilliant stay for us and we can't wait to go back again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. It’s great to hear that you have stayed with us on three separate occasions and still enjoy coming back for a visit. I have to agree the scenery around the Low Wood is amazing. It’s good to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and the lounge areas had some lovely furnishings.

I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to use the steam room as it was awaiting an engineer, I am sure this will be available for your next visit. I am glad that you have experienced the treatment before on a previous visit to the leisure club, it was unfortunate that they were fully booked this time, if you come back and see us again, give us a call in advance and we can make an appointment for you.


You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Wonderful lake view room, great spa facilities and amazing food. The hotel knew it was my mums bday so kindly put a balloon, chocolates and card in our room on arrival, lovely surprise. Friendly and approachable staff. The hotel is in a great location near Ambleside and not too far from Bowness, grasmere and Keswick. Thanks to all who made my mums bday a special one, she was blown away x

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you mum was “Blown Away” by her experience here at the Low wood and I hope that she enjoyed her birthday celebrations. I am also pleased that she enjoyed the little gifts in the room on arrival. It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed your lake view, the leisure facilities and the amazing food. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Without doubt this is one of those hotels you can truely kick back and relax.

From the music in the lounge, open fire in the Lobby seated area to the manner in which the staff treat their guests, all are factors which contribute to a stress relieving and comfortable break.

Room Tip: For a cost effective room choose Room 24, its a classic double with a fantastic view. Room 25 is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilCrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. It was great that you found your stay to be very relaxing and found that the music and log fires in our lounges helped. It’s also good to read that you found our staff had a wonderful manner. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Low Wood hotel after great weekend. Hotel is really nice and clean. Staff members excellent. Our room was a bit small to say for 4 stars. Struggled to move with bags around but it was cosy. Obviously it is and old building so walls are paper thin and massive gaps between door and floor on entrance to room so had to put towel on floor at night time to keep corridor light out. Apart from that enjoyed my stay over. Going back there for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. I am glad to read that you thought our staff was wonderful. I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be small for the standard of the hotel. Our rooms vary in size depending on the class of room type booked. If you stay with us again and you find the same problems pop along and speak to the reception team, it not always possible but they will assist you where they can. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £138 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing