We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Always a pleasure to stay at the Low Wood Hotel.. The staff are lovely friendly people and the leisure facilities are superb. If you're looking for a home from home type hotel where you can relax then thus is the one for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynneb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. I’m pleased to hear that you always find it a pleasure to stay at the Low Wood. Its great to read that you find the staff to be wonderful and that out leisure facilities are superb. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
There are newer reviews for Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We returned last night from a 3 night break at the Low Wood Bay. It was our first visit and we booked it on the back of Trip advisor reviews - it was great!
We had a family room to include our son ...and dog! We had a lovely four poster bed with views of the lake, a single bed for our son and blankets and dog biscuits for the dog!
The food was excellent - breakfast was outstanding - great choice and quality and dinner was also extremely good ( the sticky toffee pudding was the best ever).
The best thing though was the staff. Everyone was charming and helpful. They remembered your name, asked how your day was, whether you slept well etc etc - all little things that made you feel very welcome. My son is lactose intolerant so I had bought his milk with us - no problem, immediately a fridge was brought to our room. We preferred a certain type of bread at dinner - no problem, with apologies for a short delay, more of our favourite bread was put in the oven and cooked specially for us! Really, the staff could not have done more for us.
The location is wonderful, with walks straight out the back of the hotel if you don't want to travel. The road is busy in front of the hotel, but our room faced the road and it did not disturb us at all. The health spa was fab and we used it every day = the outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake was a great place to ease tired walking muscles.
All in all, a cut above the average English hotel! We had a great time and will certainly be back.
Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent family stay at the hotel (including the dog – I hope he enjoyed his dog biscuits). I am glad to read that you thought our staff was wonderful and you thought our food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. It looks like you had the chance to walk and explore the Lake District whilst you were here, which is good; and its great to hear that you had chance to ease the aching muscles in our out door hot tub after the walk. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and her friend stayed Friday until Sunday just gone. They booked in for Bed and Breakfast and dinner on the 1st night with Spa treatment on the Saturday. They had a fantastic time. Hotel and facilities were excellent. The staff were 1st class especially the staff in the restuarant. The room they had had a view looking out to the lake. They had the best night sleep ever no noise what so ever. They would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: They stayed at the front of the hotel 2nd floor and it was very quiet .
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GORDONPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your wife’s stay at the hotel. It’s good to hear that your wife and her friend enjoyed their stay. I am pleased that they liked all the facilities the hotel had to offer and that all the staff were 1st class. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights,, it is a lovely hotel with lovely clean rooms, we ate in the resteraunt on the first night and it was gorgeous food, we found the bar expensive and they were pretty slow serving but other than that a very chilled out enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. It’s good to hear that you liked your room and found the food to be gorgeous. Sorry to hear that you found our bar to be expensive and that the service was a little slow. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Pleasant stay. We were worried by previous reviews, however we had a nice room," house room", modern and relatively spacious. Not a lake view but a quiet court yard. Breakfast good, only ate in the evening once and I would only give the food an ok rating, expected more, disappointed.

In this day and age I would expect mobile phone reception in the hotel, alas no. Many people out side trying to get a signal. Surprising that out on a boat on any of the lakes you can get a signal. Unfortunately this would stop me staying hear again. Harsh, but I need to keep in contact with teenagers at home.

Room Tip: House room was quiet. ok size wise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you liked the room that you were allocated and enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with dinner. It’s also disappointing to hear that you were affected by the phone signal in the hotel, it is a problem in and around the hotel depending on what network you are contracted with. We do have wi-fi access available in most parts of the hotel and this is being updated soon. I hope that this does not put you off visiting us again in the future. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My family and I stayed at Low Wood Bay in March for a family wedding. The hotel itself as a wedding venue is fabulous. Everything ran very smoothly and, as wedding guests we were looked after really well.
We had booked split level family room for 2 adults and 2 children aged 14 and 8. However, the room was quite dark and had a tiny bathroom which wasn't great as my eldest daughter was a bridesmaid and needed plenty of space to get ready. In addition, the room backed on to the kitchen/laundry room and we could hear a constant loud humming noise from the ventilation system. We contacted the front desk who said that the duty manager would phone us. Within 10 minutes Michael was on the phone. He explained that the noise would go off at 10pm and come back on again at breakfast. When I asked if there was an alternative room Michael offered to show us another room (room 5). This was much better. It was in the older part of the hotel but was a far more luxurious looking room. It wasn't split level but the room was huge with a full size family bathroom. There was an enormous super king sized bed, a single bed and a put you up single bed. The room also had 2 dressing tables with mirrors, a sofa and an armchair. Despite having all this furniture the room still felt very spacious.
Breakfast at Low Wood was very good, with a full hot and cold buffet plus special orders such as Eggs Benedict available for no extra cost. The food during the wedding was also excellent.
Outside the hotel are lovely grounds to walk in plus the lake with a boating club where you can hire canoes etc. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with frequent services to Windermere and Ambleside.
The leisure club facilities are fine although some of the staff weren't very friendly and my children were made to feel uncomfortable by a lady who was presumably a member of the leisure club rather that a hotel guest. She made it very clear that they shouldn't be splashing or making a noise. Overall though, we enjoyed the leisure club especially the outdoor hot tub.
We would definitely return again but only if we could stay inRoom 5.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe can be quite dark but some of those at the front with lake views are quite small...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent family wedding that was held at the hotel. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities at the hotel including the leisure club. The hot tub is very popular at the leisure club and I am pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy this.

I am sorry to hear that you had a few problems with the initial room that you were allocated; I am however pleased to hear that Michael was able to sort an alternative room which was larger in size and gave you more space to change for the wedding. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and even better to receive wonderful feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is just one of the Hidden Jewels of the Lake District. You couldn't get a better location.
Stunning views.
Stunning Hotel Rooms well kept and clean.
Excellent well mannered and courteous staff nothing is too much trouble.
Excellent food served and cooked to a very high standard.

Room Tip: Front of house rooms have road noise during the day. But minimal traffic at night so expect a quiet...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMARTAlex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the Low Wood to be a hidden Jewel in the Lake District. It’s also good to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and that the rooms in the hotel were stunning. I am sure that the team of chefs will be pleased to hear that you thought their food was cooked to a high standard. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,070 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £143 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing