We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had our wedding at the Low Wood. The food was wonderful, the staff even better. I cannot speak more highly of this place. Everyone was so helpful and lovely, it made our perfect day go smoothly and most of our guests had travelled from afar and they loved it also. Fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear JenniferT, thank you firstly for celebrating your wonderful day at Low Wood Bay, with all your friends and family. if I remember rightly 70 day guests in the wonderful Windermere restaurant, followed by 100+ guests in the evening. As a team we are so pleased to read your rated us an your wedding event as "FANTASTIC" thank you. See you next year when you celebrate your 1st anniversary as part of your wedding gift from us at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    456
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
414
837
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

While staying over the weekend a pair of shades was left in the restaurant. Being the last ones in the restaurant you would assume the staff would hand them in after clearing the tables. Very disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am very sorry to learn, during your recent stay your sunglasses got miss laid in one of our restaurants. Please be assured readers we follow a strict lost and found policy and i would sincerely hope our staff would follow this at all times as they have in the past. I have little information on this matter, so am unable to follow up fully, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel and I would be more than happy to fully investigate the allegations.
kind regards Nevil Jeffery, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to drop in for a meal over lunchtime. It was busy, we found table in the bistro/leisure centre side of this establishment. We chose off menu, the staff were not the most professional but we got sorted! Chicken Caesar salad, tomato soup, ham sandwich and bowl of chips . Salad was fine. Sadly the soup whilst hot and looking good, could have been cut with a knife. It was soooo strong, I believe that a tin was opened and warmed,...condensed soup at that. It was served with a bread roll and butter. Unfortunately the roll had been done in microwave and was tasteless and rock hard. I was unable to eat either the soup or roll. The sandwich was delicious, home cooked ham in it and nice bread served with salad garnish. One bottle beer and a cranberry juice cost us over £8.... Rediculous, so we only had the one drink! Shall not be stopping here again. Shame. Wonderful position with good parking to rear.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladiesabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear customer, I am very sorry to learn our Bistro let its self down on this occasion, please be assured your valued comments and observation will be addressed and discussed with the relevant manager and team. We strive to learn from every mistake and more importantly look to resolve to ensure improvements are made for future guests benefit. Please when next visiting the area, drop in and see improvements have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were at the Low Wood for a wedding and have to say that it was fantastic. The whole day and evening, the staff at the hotel and the food were excellent. We stayed over at the hotel with our 3 children and the rooms were perfect. We had two rooms, 313 and 314, with an interconnecting door and these were both spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We never heard a sound all night, which we found amazing, considering how busy the hotel was. The breakfasts were brilliant and once again the staff were excellent. All in all a brilliant stay and would most definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 296AJD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Its always pleasing to read another rewarding review, thank you 296AJD46. As a team we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay to celebrate your friends wedding, also being held at the hotel. When visiting with family it always make for an extra special luxury when you book one of our many interconnecting double and twin rooms. I recommend this option as it gives additional privacy for adults and children either for the adults in the evening when the children are asleep, or alternatively when the cherubs rise early and wish to play, whilst adults gain and extra half hours sleep in the adjoining room. Please do visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, we had a lake view room, very spacious room looking over the marina and lake. The service was excellent and very good food, The breakfast had a very good selection on the cold buffet together with your full English

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed you recent short break, and you found all aspect of your stay excellent from the room overlooking lake Windermere and our own Watersports and Marina centre. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back soon, remember to keep an eye out for our special offers on English lakes hotels direct web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid-May, celebrating our recent wedding. We originally booked a standard room on the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast tariff for two nights, but were pleasantly surprised when the hotel upgraded us to a better room (room 19, a 'lake-view' at the front of the hotel with a balcony (where the flag poles are!) which offered us a lot of space and a lovely spa bath.
Have absolutely no complaints about the road noise-we often had the window open and the 'noise' was none existent, we both slept soundly on both nights.
My wife made far more use of the neighbouring spa 7 pool facilities than I did, however I did indulge myself in a drink and bite to eat in their pleasant lounge.
The restaurant was smart, the staff were flawless, excellent service, very attentive and the Maitre D' (Daniel) was especially welcoming. The menus (dinner and breakfast) were very good and we felt it was good value for money and offered a good variety.
Opting for the DBB tariff was probably the best idea because there are no restaurants nearby other than at other hotels (you need to take a 5-10 minute taxi ride to Bowness or Ambleside to find some).
The hotel seems to have a varied clientele, but our only 'complaint' (if you can call it that) was that the hotel's own request for smart attire to be worn in the restaurant seemed to be routinely ignored by a large minority of guests. For me, this is disrespectful to the hotel, who's staff were impeccably dressed and the other guests who had made the effort to be dressed smartly. There were tracksuits, trainers, the odd football shirt and even one middle-aged guy in a baseball cap on the two nights that we stayed. It is not the hotel's fault, however I understand that they may not wish to enforce this too rigorously for fear of losing trade.
Our room was spacious, with a nice, firm-ish mattress, inoffensive décor and the laundry staff were good too. The room was made up to a good standard. The bathroom was clean, with a luxurious spa bath, easy to operate and provided us with a relaxing two nights too!
A minor downside was an 'extra' I ordered, a bottle of champagne-it did not arrive, but the flowers I had did, so fortunately we had brought our own supply (just in case) so we did not go without on our honeymoon. (This was brought to the attention of the staff upon check-out and they did not hesitate to deduct it from the bill), so no complaints there.
Overall, a pleasant break, unfortunately the weather was not great, but this is the Lakes, so no surprises there!
I would recommend this to others and I would like to return at some point in the future too.
Thanks to the hotel staff, especially the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Do not worry about a roadside room (with a lake view) if you are a sound sleeper, like us, as we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay at Low Wood Bay, certainly when celebrating your wedding anniversary. Please be assured your rewarding comments will be passed onto Daniel which will make him proud. Yes we try and at least recommend smart casual dress for evening dinner service in the Windermere Restaurant, and for those guests wishing to dress down we offer the bistro or lounge menu all served between 6.30pm through to 9.30pm. as a team we are pleased you would recommend to friends and more importantly return yourself to which we look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. The room was spacious and lovely with gorgeous views of the marina and lake. The service was really good, ensuring a comfortable and enjoyable dining experience with good food. Breakfast choices were excellent. Used the pool facilities one afternoon but not the gym. We were fortunate enough to have a spa bath which was most welcome at the end of a long walk. Toiletries were good quality, bed was comfortable and room had a good choice of beverages such as tea, fresh and instant coffee and hot chocolate. Lobby, bar and lounge areas were very comfortable. Would definitely visit this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are lovely but there is some road noise so sleep with windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Denise M, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad to read that you though the hotel was comfortable, especially your spacious room with the spa bath. It’s also good to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkisnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing