We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEATING & WIFI PROBLEMS...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here with the family two nights 27/28 May. We booked the posh refurbished rooms overlooking the lake, rooms 37 & 39. The rooms / facilities were very good but the problems we had reduced the enjoyment as follows...

1) Both rooms old fashioned heating systems couldnt be controlled or switched off in the room. This meant that as the weather was warm the temperature in these two rooms; & I suspect this section of the hotel was VERY hot. We had to leave the windows open but these were old fashioned sash windows & needed propping up!

2) We complained as soon as we arrived on the 27th & the reception / duty manager said they would sort it...... we went out for a walk & guess what, they didnt.

3) We complained again & they sent a porter up with another fan........... but this fan didnt have any blades!!!!! anyway, it wouldnt have helped.

4) So, after asking for them to resolve things a duty manager, David came said he would switch the system off.........which they did.........but by that time we were leaving so it was a small win.

5) Also, they hotel has wifi...........well it does if you sit near the reception desk and perhaps in the car park!!!............but int he rooms / restaurant / lounges?????.............well its VERY hit & miss & I can guarantee its not working in the rooms. For the money they charge & the 4* they hold its not acceptable. People need to be in contact.

So, in summary, we had problems that were eventually partially solved (thanks David) but the hotel need to get its act together. It holds 4* , its a good hotel, well positioned & has good facilities........some people may not think these problems are much but if you look at previous Tripadvisor reviews this issue has been going on for nearly 2 years.

Come on Low Wood you're letting yourself down.......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a car touring holiday (Isle of man, Derwentwater, Port William and Dunoon Scotland, then Ambleside) So by the time we got to Low Wood Bay we were seasoned hotel critics with contemporary comparisons to make! Our best hotels were the first and last - the latter being Low Wood Bay. So often hotel rooms skimp on size and lighting can be poor. This was certainly not the case here- although perhaps being over critical the bathroom could have been a tad roomier to allow use by two at once. The lighting in the bedroom was good and allowed for reading in bed with both a high wall light above the bedside table and a flexible stalk reading light. There were also adequate electric power sockets, and we were able to access WIFI in our room although this was not promised in the instructions. There is a staff incentive in operation and guests are asked to nominate any members of staff who have performed 'over and above' for their +1 award. It must be working well as the staff were pleasant and helpful without exception making it impossible to single out anyone to recommend. Our room 278 overlooked the lake and water sport facilities and was above the swimming pool and other leisure facilities. These were very good and the gym was well equipped. There was always someone at hand in the leisure reception to help.. It was bank holiday and half term so there were plenty of children around and there was also a Wedding taking place on the day of our arrival. Considering all this the staff did well to convey the impression given that they were giving us 100 percent attention. The dining room was obviously quite full at breakfast but this did not cause undo stress (we are of grandparent age but have no offspring so could possibly be a little sensitive to children around) Reading the literature the hotel seems to be welcoming of well behaved dogs but not in the food areas. My husband hired a rowing boat which e wanted for only half an hour but found the fee was per hour only although there was a discount for hotel guests. The food was good and there was a good choice at breakfast and dinner. the hotel also has a car park which has to be a plus although it can mean quite a long walk with your cases although staff are always ready to help if you ask.

Room Tip: Room 278 overlooks the Lake and is in the leisure block making it convenient for early morning use o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Liz L, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you were enjoyed a nice car tour; it looks like you had stayed at some lovely locations. I am pleased to hear that we were one of your favorite hotels on the tour. It is pleasing to read that we “exceeded your expectations” and you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the hotel, to the leisure facilities and the restaurant. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've stayed at the Low Wood on a number of occasions previously but not for a few years now. We love the location of the hotel and the great views it offers of the lake, although most of the rooms don't benefit from this view. We also like the fact it has leisure facilities too.
The hotel hasn't changed at all since our last visit.
We booked a standard room, which was fine but a little tight on space especially as we took our young daughter with us so had a cot bed in the room. The bed and pillows I found to be extremely comfy and indeed had a great nights sleep. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room but no mini bar.
The leisure facilities are fine and good if you have kids but the area is starting to look warn.
We ate in the cafe next door on our first evening and have to say we were disappointed all round, food very average, service slow, I wouldn't rush back to eat in there.
Breakfast in the main restaurant was good, lots of choice. They seemed to be short staffed when we were there so service and the refilling of times wasn't the quickest.
All round, pleasant stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Helen C, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to hear that you came back to see us again after not having visited for a couple of years. It as good to hear that you enjoyed the leisure facilities, but were unhappy with the food and service in Café Del Lago, your comments have been passed on to the manager there, so hopefully this will be rectified for your next visit. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice position for a hotel. Lovely views over the Lake. Our first room was a standard hotel room, clean and tidy with all you would need, but no wi-fi. We did however hear a high pitched modem noise that was very annoying and went on for ages. We complained and they sent someone over who said he couldn't hear anything, even though both my husband and I could. The noise stopped and then when my husband used the bathroom the sink wouldn't drain. The same man appeared with a plunger and asked us if we knew how to clear the blockage!! Then a second man appeared and suggested we wait until the morning with what was now a sink of black lunge. We asked to be moved even though it was now late. The second room was fine. However there was no sorry or anything for all the upheaval. Breakfast was standard hotel but they used the same pots for coffee and tea and one morning my tea tasted of coffee, which i hate!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for three nights in May for a long weekend with my other half. Having been a regular visitor to the Lake District I've driven past this hotel many times. Due to a friend's wedding at the venue we decided to make a long weekend of it and booked in for three nights.

Our first night was pretty much ruined by the couple in the next room (We had a interconnected room door) who stayed up all night drinking, smoking in their room and arguing over such topics as would be seen on the Jeremy Kyle show. This carried on despite being asked directly to keep quiet. This obviously is no fault of the hotel, and when raising this as an issue in the morning we were immediately moved with full apologies to a similar room. The receptionist was visibly shocked!

Throughout the weekend the service from the staff, with just one exception, was superb. Friendly, chatty and keen to help. Although I picked up on some members of staff being asked not to be too friendly or chatty, I think the management should consider if a certain staff member clicks with a group of customers they should be encouraged. Where I understand the line between professionalism and over familiarness most often customers enjoy banter and receiving more personal service. There was one lady who had such a false smile, and who seemingly felt like customers were just an inconvenience, that her attitude stood out in stark comparison to the rest of the team. Perhaps she should be reminded that without happy customers she wouldn't have much of a job at all!

The food in the hotel was also excellent, large portions of good quality at reasonable prices for such a place.

The spa and swimming area is average, showing it's age perhaps, but again the staff were friendly and the massages surprisingly good.

All in all a very pleasant stay, would I stay again? Perhaps, but I'm more tempted by the chain's other hotels in the area...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustJim79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Justjim79, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your long week end stay at the hotel. I am glad to read that you thought our staff was superb, sorry to hear that there was an exception to this I am sure this member of staff may have been having a bad day but this should not reflect in the standards of service. It’s also good to hear that you thought our food was excellent.

I am also sorry to hear that you had some issues with a neighboring room, having only seen the Jeremy Kyle show once (that was enough) I can clearly see why our receptionist was shocked; I am however pleased that you were given a room move. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've driven past this hotel for years and luckily attended a wedding this weekend. What an amazing interior, old crossing new, quality in bucket loads, service and staff impeccable. We stayed in the modern block to rear and woken up by birds singing and cows mooing. Nothing missing from the room and every thoughtful item was present. Worth every penny and more.

Room Tip: Friends had a traditional room to the front lovely view over lake to mountains and amazing shower, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Susan D, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad you have had the opportunity to stay at the hotel and not just drive past. It’s good to hear that you liked the décor of the hotel and that we provided a quality service. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent hotel in great location close to all amenities - lake windermere, walking, golf, ambleside & windermere towns. Lovely feel about the hotel - excellent facilities - very well equipped gym, pool, spa, hot tub etc. Comfy rooms with excellent storage. Great food - quality & variety for both breakfast & dinner. Reasonably priced

Room Tip: Classic Rooms overlooking japanese garden are quiet, roomy & good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear JDSSouthport thank you for affording us full marks across all aspects the TA review marking status. I am very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the Resort and more importantly hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
467 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,079 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £149 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing