We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for the family”
Reviewed 2 November 2008

A really nice hotel for the family. We took two children and a dog with us. The family room was great with an interconnecting room for the children and dog. The views of the lake was lovely. We eat in the bar area one night and had some lovely home made food. The swimming pool and hot tub was great after a long walk. We ate in the restaurant one night and it was wonderful atmosphere in the evening. The breakfast included local sausage and smoke bacon which was really nice. A great family hotel catering for all the family. Well worth it.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the main road outside
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mark1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    456
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
414
837
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
tommypip
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I booked this hotel 2 weeks in advance via lastminute.com. It was a mid range price,(£90 for 1 night) and the hotel website made the rooms look fantastic.

We arrived, reception was empty, and the stern receptionist took my lastmiute.com form from me. She couldn't find the booking. The other receptionist couldn't find the booking. The reservations couldn't find the booking. The supervisor couldn't find the booking. I had prepaid via credit card and had the printed internet voucher in front of me with a refernece number, it can't be that hard surely??? Eventually after giving up on finding my booking, they had to make a new one, and we were obviously given the leftover room.

The room.... tiny and not at all like the picture. The bathroom was massive, with jacuzzi bath, massiveshower, a ceramic fireplace, absolutely gorgeous and looking brand new.
The bedroom was clean but a bit dated looking, a little worn around the edges. The bed was against the wall of the corridor, not really what you want, and every time anyone walked past you could hear every word, and the floor creaked as anyone moved past. Not good for a married couple enjoying a romantic night away!!! Fantastic view, right over the lake.

Only used the restaurant for breakfast as we went out for night in Windermere Village, veyr beautiful looking, and breakfast was very nice. They also have a cafe bar, a cocktail bar etc, and a massive chill out reception area with tea and coffee making machines, overlooking the lake.

The swimming pool was gorgeous, but not as big as it looks on the site, and the gym was ok, not the best selction of equipment but clean and in good working order.

I have a friend who stayed and for same price got a much better room, so I suppsoe it does stay what room you get. I would not want my husband and I to be put in that room again, we had no privacy at all. Definitely not a honeymoon room!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Thin walls and bed on corridor wall
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Just got back from a weekend break in the Lake District.

Booked the hotel becasue of its location, which is right on the shore line of Windermere.

We had a twin room in the older part of the hotel and it was fine.

Decor was a bit dated, and there was a bit of a smell when we first got there, but the room was large, the window looked out onto the grounds and if you stuck your head out the window, the lake. Shower was awesome. Bed linen was fresh and clean. Staff where lovely. Breakfast was great, and when you step out the front door you really feel you are amongst the Lakes.

Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We got married at the Low Wood in Sept 07, the hotel is gorgeous and the lake view rooms are amazing with stunning views. The staff we cant rate highly enough they did a great job in making our day perfect and all our guests that stayed here were all really pleased and enjoyed their stay. The leisure facilities are well worth using. I dont undestand people who slate the hotel, just pay a bit extra to get a lake view room it will be well worth it.

  • Liked — Stunning Views
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in a lake view room. It was a nice view but there is a main road between the hotel and the lake which can get very busy during the day. It is not too bad in the evening (we arrived around lunch time on a bank holiday Monday and the road was completely congested). The room (number 36) was large and clean but a bit dated. We dined in the main resturant on the first night and we were disappointed with the quality of the food given the price although the service was ok. We were going to have lunch in the Low Wood Club cafe but the smell of chlorine from the pool was very strong and off putting. The breakfast was the typical hotel style buffet, nothing special. Like some of the other reviewers we struggled to see where the 4 star rating came from. We booked a half price deal on the hotels web site and would have been more disappointed if we had paid full price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Waterbed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liamfoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

A mixed review of the Low Wood. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of July 2008, 2 adults & 2 children. We booked a luxury suite for the first night and had to book a luxury split-level suite for the second 2 nights.

First night - rooms were fine, I would say 3.5* standard. At the back of the hotel in a relatively new wing, quiet.

Second night - the split level suite was nearer the main building and right outside was the back of the kitchens and a walk-in fridge. It was very hot, and the constant humming noise that came from the fridge was oppressive. We asked to move but that was not possible, and complained about the noise, but were told it would stop at 9.30pm. After the complaints and threatening to leave we were given a 50% reduction on the room rate. The noise continued on and off for the whole night, but fortunately we did manage to sleep, so decided to stay for the last night.

Breakfast - adequate food, had worse, though could be better.

Lunch - we had lunch on the first day in the cafe downstairs from the pool. Very poor overall... very slow service, crap food, burnt pizza, and took ages to arrive.

Dinner - in the main restaurant: the food was fine, but they managed to mistake an additonal order of fries for my son as a starter, and so he got those and ages later the food arrived. Waitress spoke little English which didn't help.

Overall a very mixed few days. The spa and pool were good, the waterports facilities well run. The road outside is very dangerous, either for walking across to the waters edge or for pulling out of the hotel drive, it is an accident waiting to happen. Finally when we were leaving they could find no note of our room rate reduction - eventually this was sorted; seemed to spend half the few days there complaining about something...

  • Liked — Good sized rooms for the first night
  • Disliked — Noisy rooms for the subsequent nights
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ByTorSnowDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Stayed here for one night over August bank holiday on a half price deal.
The hotel is clean and tidy and rooms are well kept. We had a lake view room in new block. The downside of these rooms are that they are a little walk from the main hotel block. Also no air con and having the window open means lots of noise from the busy road.
Nice lawns over the road from the hotel, also a marina where you can hire boats out to go onto the lake.
The restaurant was good - 2 courses are £26.50, 3 courses are £31.50 including coffee. Food was nice but I think that there are probably better restaurants in the area for a little extra money - if you are looking for gourmet food. Or there are probably cheaper restaurants in town.
Overall a good experience in relation to cost. I would say that it may be slightly overpriced at the full rate - but then this is the Lake District...I think everywhere is expensive!

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — the busy road
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bunchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing