We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel in great location, breathtaking views over the lake, half hour walk to Ambleside which has lots of shops, cafés and restaurants, only 15 minute walk to pier to catch ferry to windermere. Food in hotel very nice, leisure facilities great, especially the outdoor hot tub. Watersports opposite hotel very helpful and lots of fun. Will definitely be returning to low wood.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovethesun58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Lovethesun58, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. Its pleasing to hear that you like all aspects of your stay including the out door hot tub at our leisure facilities and our fun activities at our Watersports centre. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
There are newer reviews for Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after I had 4 nights camping solo. What a lovely hotel. The shower wasn't running cold enough for me so I mentioned it to reception and they sorted it almost immediately. The food was fabulous with great service. The breakfast was great but it has to be taken in shifts as it's a smallish restaurant area. Plenty of space in the bar area to wait though.
There is a good wifi service in the bar areas but no signal or 3G in the room we stayed in. My Mifi thingy also didn't have enough signal to work (vodaphone).
Great views from the front of the hotel with easy access to the lake for swimming. There is a little beach area right outside across the road.
The road can be busy which can make leaving by car tricky. Could be improved with a convex mirror situated opposite.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Gingerjo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Gingerjo1973, thank you so much for your review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. As a fellow camper I can appreciate that at times it’s good to get back to certain luxuries, so I am pleased to hear that our reception team got your shower fixed immediately. Our apologies for lack of signal, unfortunately the hills in the surrounding area affect most mobile networks and this is beyond our control. However our Wi-Fi is being looked into and will change in the future. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really impressed with the Low Wood where we were attending a wedding reception & evening event.Excellent food, nice bedroom with a comfy bed & good pillows { my wife thought they were so good she wished to take them home in our case }Great choice at breakfast with everything you could possibly want.Very attentive & pleasant staff especially the girl on reception.Will certainly recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jeff S, thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the recent wedding that you attended at the hotel and all aspects of your stay. Glad to hear that you found the bed to be comfortable. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and even better to receive wonderful feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Low Wood Bay for a friends wedding. We were pleasantly suprised when we checked in to have been given a lake view room. Granted the room was small and we struggled not to trip over our suitcase, but the view helped to make up for it. The bathroom again was small, but looked newly done and had a fantastic shower. Being in the main house just above reception meant we could pick up the hotels wifi from time to time as well. We did use the leisure facilities during our stay as well. The pool was great and the outdoor hot tub was a nice change from standard hotels. Breakfast was also great with the very attentive staff and good choice of items. We would also recommend the pizzas from the hotel cafe. Very tasty! All in all we had a great stay and would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judes04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Judes04, thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the recent wedding that you attended at the hotel and all aspects of your stay. It’s great to hear that you had the opportunity to use our leisure facilities whilst you were here too. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and even better to receive wonderful feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed over during the week for a business meeting I had nearby. I was originally going to stay in a Travelodge but for the extra expense I thought this place looked great. Being there through work I critically needed wifi access to finish off some research but my to my frustration it was absolutely hopeless and I think their router is possibly medieval.
The hotel does bill itself as a conference centre so you'd be forgiven for thinking it would have adequate IT - it doesn't.
So if you need to do a couple of hours on your laptop or tablet - go somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Phillip M, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay. As you may have noted from other reviews and responses we unfortunately due to the stunning mountains and hills that the surround the hotel do struggle with network coverage (Vodafone seems to be ok) which also limits the 3G and Wi-Fi access. Over the next few months the hotel is dealing with the Wi-Fi situation and this should eradicate any future issues within the hotel for both business and leisure guests. I am sorry if this caused problems during your stay and I hope that you would consider the Low Wood Bay in the future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I have just had our wedding reception and night do at the Low Wood Bay Hotel. We had an amazing day, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the day went really smoothly without a hitch! The hotel is the perfect location for a wedding with the stunning scenery and gardens to lounge in. We were very lucky with the weather and it was beautiful all day! such a lovely, relaxing environment! A special thank you to Rea (wedding co-ordinator) and David (master of ceremonies) for helping us plan the big day and ensuring it all ran smoothly! We are so pleased with how our day went, it couldn't of been better. We highly recommend this hotel either for a short break or as a wedding venue.
A big thank you again to everyone at the Low Wood Bay
Anthony & Pauline Lund

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Newlyweds, thank you for your amazing review about your recent wedding day and evening reception at Low Wood Bay. I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay for your special day. It was certainly a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day. I know Rea and David (Master of Ceremonies) and the team will read your review, and on behalf of the team thank you. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspect of your wedding day at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first wedding anniversary in 2015. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have celebrated, so far, Christmas, 6 times at Low Wood Bay, and we are going again this year.

Any season is wonderful at this resort, where they manage to create a good mix of luxyry, informal atmosphere, outstanding service and food, wonderful surroundings and a very friendly atmosphere.

We can really recommend it, as it is place where we have met new friends as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ellebye6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Ellebye6200, Once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is returning guests, it was once again great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your 7th Christmas this year. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,070 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £144 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing