We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms for boutique prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for our friend's wedding in May this year. We were looking forward to our stay as we had paid £150 for a one night stay and were expecting a large room with lovely furniture, a big bed and a bit of a view. What we actually got resembled a less modern travel lodge or premier inn. We were very disappointed with the room and feel that the hotel is very over priced for what we got. Still in shock that we paid that much money for a tiny room with old furniture. I do think the rooms need renovating to reflect value for money. I shall not be staying there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. There are much better hotels in the area at better prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasideshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Seasideshaw, thank you for your review, I hope that you enjoyed the recent wedding that you attended at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you thought your room was small and outdated. We are on a rolling refurbishment programme and some of the rooms are being addressed. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review I hope you will give us the chance to rectify your above comments and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has some good points. Staff are super friendly, spa and breakfast good. Our bathroom had been revamped and the tea tray well supplied.
On the down side lots of areas are shabby, the corridors and parts of the outside in-particular.
The room we were given ,163 , had the lake view we requested, but it was so close to the main road that it was like sleeping next to a motorway, the road runs in front of the hotel. The window was filthy so it was hard to appreciate the lake view through the grime. The room was £185 a night and it was really tiny.
The pizza in the cafe was simply dreadful lots of really thick tomato sauce and not much else on top, and the desert crepe when it finally came was stone cold, thick, and the pale consistency of a white rubber sheet. I didn't eat it.
In all, for the one night cost of nearly £300 I have had a much better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your recent review regarding your recent break. It was a pleasure to read that you liked room with the lake view an thought that our super friendly and you liked the facilities occross at the leisure club . I was however disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in relation food in café del Lago and the cleanliness of the windows and you felt that certain areas of the hotel were shabby.

We will address the issues you highlighted with Café del Lago and the hotel team. It was great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning. I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very large hotel overlooking Lake Windermere. Short walk from Waterhead, Ambleside. Spent one night there. Room ok, dinner was reasonable too. Not much more to add. Prefer the smaller country hotels in the Lakes but there is nothing wrong with this one if you go in for large hotels. Has a good leidure centre. Good selection at breakfast with some dishes being cooked to order. Staff were busy as the hotel was practically full.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Bec011, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights to attend our Niece's wedding. We had a room overlooking the lake with fantastic views. The room was extremely hot and with no AC the fan supplied was essential! My only complaint is the room was very small and with only a quilt on the bed, a sheet would have been sufficient! bathroom very small, but well equipped. We had left the curtains closed to try and prevent the room getting hotter but when we returned, housekeeping had opened them and room was stifling! Access out of the car park onto the main road is scary! Cannot see either way clearly and traffic was very busy. Mirrors showing both directions would help this and make it safer! Great breakfast and a wonderful wedding venue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank overthepond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Overthepond2000, thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your nieces wedding here at the Low wood. I am pleased to here that you enjoyed the majority of your stay but sorry to here that you found your room to be small but enjoyed the Lake view from your room. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and even better to receive wonderful feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1night on the 27th of July for a friends wedding. The function room and staff were lovely and the views were stunning. My room left a little to be desired as it had what I thought was mouse droppings all over the window sill outside and the odd 1 inside, I was soon corrected and told it was bat droppings and they had come inside as the window was open. The room also smelt like sick it had been cleaned but the smell was still all over the room. When we went the next day to use the spa facilities they were closed due to cleaning. They took on board our complaints and waved £50 off our bill. It wasn't the worse place I have stayed but don't think I'll stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had our wedding at Low Wood and it was the most wonderful day. Excellent support by the wedding coordinators - Gemma and Rea - made the planning process very easy and relaxed as I was confident all was safe in their hands. The location was fabulous and everyone that came to our wedding said how amazing it was. The coordination on the day was great and all went pretty much on time. The rooms for both the ceremony and reception were decorated perfectly and I was so happy to see my vision come to life. I was definitely pleased we picked the upper room for the evening as it was so big it was able to cater for all our decorations, activities, band and all the people! The bedrooms are lovely and clean and definitely recommend a lake view to get the most out of your stay. My parents said it was the best view they have ever had on a holiday!

Room Tip: Select a lake view room for th ebest view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Newlyweds, thank you for your amazing review about your recent wedding day at Low Wood Bay. I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay for your special day. It was certainly a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day. I know Gemma, Rea and the team will read your review, and on behalf of the team thank you. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspect of your wedding day at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first wedding anniversary in 2015. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Jamwesa Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family stayed at low wood 28th -31st july. A lovely location, with a great view of the lake across the road. We had 2 joining rooms good for family. Just a long walk to them up and down stairs with cases. But on the good side beautiful lake veiw rooms well worth them. Great tea and coffee in the room even coffee percolator, and of course the mints a real treat refilled every day thankyou. The bed was so comfy, clean tidy room . Breakfast has a good selection, of everything. Reception staff great help with maps and area. Swimming pool nice, loved the hot tub so relaxing. Completely tea and coffee in the morning a treat, sfter a swim. A great hotel in a lovely part of england.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jencodown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

DearJencodown_11, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found your interconnecting rooms to be clean and comfortable with good tea, coffee making facilities. It’s also pleasing to hear that you had chance to use our leisure facilities especially the popular out door hot tub. We have a lot of waling opportunities in the Lake District and I am glad our reception team could supply you with information on these. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £138 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing