We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$259
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
US$542
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
US$287
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$238
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveller rating
1,091
496
195
87
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,091
496
195
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue smokeleisure clublake viewleisure facilitiesthe outdoor hot tubbusy roadbuilding workmain restaurantfeature roomlake districtlovely hotelkendal mint cakerestaurant staffsteam roomwedding partyhigh standardlots of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,786 - 1,791 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We have just spent Christmas at the Low Wood Hotel and could not praise the whole experience too highly. Each and every member of staff went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. They have achieved the perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness and seem to be a very happy and well motivated team.

Our Lake View feature room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. "lake view" does not adequately describe the breathtaking view from the window!

All the public lounges, bars etc were also very welcoming and comfortable. The food was of an extremely high standard - each and every course at every meal was beautifully presented and a delight to eat. There was an excellent choice of freshly prepared food at breakfast each day.

The evening entertainments were huge fun and the rooms beautifully decorated. I am only sad that there was so much to do I didn't have sufficient time to spend in the lovely swimming pool!

We will certainly be returning to the Low Wood as soon as possible and definitely plan to spend Christmas there again this year. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JK33Nofolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2009

Dear JK33 Nofolk, thank you for a rewarding review relating to Christmas. We are so pleased you enjoyed our fun packed entertainment during your stay.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

Kind Regards Nevil Jeffery - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We booked a three night package for the New Year at the Low Wood Hotel on Lake Windermere as we know the hotel well and thought that we would have a New Year to remember. We were not disappointed!

We were welcomed as usual with a warmth and friendliness rare to find these days and to feel it was a real welcome to friends, not just business. We had a beautiful four poster bedroom overlooking the Lake with masses of storage space and a bathroom nearly big enough to have the whole New Year party in!

The food throughout our stay was magnificent. The quality was excellent and it was beautifully cooked and presented. There was always sufficient choice and also some slightly unusual things on the menu for the adventurous.

The entertainment was great fun and we enjoyed ourselves enormously. The casino night on the first evening was a great laugh with all the 'funny' money we had been given. Inhibitions were cast to the wind as we recklessly put our 'money' down on the tables - yet we still kept winning! The disco on New Year's Eve was just right, it did not impinge on conversation at all yet was good for those energetic enough to dance. The two pipers at midnight were an innovation as we got two and not one! They successfully piped us all the way into the New Year while we watched a superb firework display taking place outside on the edge of thre lake, from the warmth of the gallery lounge.

The Conference Suite was completely transformed. The decor was breathtaking. On the first evening there was a Moulin Rouge theme with everywhere decorated in red and black. There were beautiful table decorations and really effective lighting together with top hats and canes for the men and red feather boas for the ladies - very atmospheric! The Gala Evening gave another excuse for more elegant decor, this time it was an attractive black and white theme with more exotic table decorations and beautiful lighting from strings of lights csacading from the ceiling. The time and trouble taken by the staff to plan and execute the two themes was really appreciated by all the guests. The decor made just the right note for a wonderful celebration while being elegant and classy.

The staff were truly wonderful. They were smiling and attentive throughout all three days despite the fact that they must have been tired with the Christmas celebrations earlier. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone addressed us by name. This was really a New Year to remember. We have already booked for next year!

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank windermeresailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2009

Dear Customer, thank you for a rewarding review relating to our New Year break. we as a team work very hard and your comments make it all worth wild.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

Thank You Nevil Jeffery - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We spent a wonderful Christmas at Low Wood Hotel. The welcome from all the staff and their customer service was second to none, the room was comfortable and cosy (if a little short on storage space) the food was fabulous, the outdoor spa was great and all the Chrstmas festivities were well organised and highly enjoyable. We are generally very fussy but we couldn't find fault with our experience at Low Wood and commend the management and staff for putting on such a good event.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2009

Dear Rach23Lee's, thank you for a rewarding review after your stay with us, during our Christmas 4 night package.

We as a team are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect and most of all our outside spa bath, with its lake and fell side views.

Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. Nevil Jeffery General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We arrived as a party of 3, two adults and one very excited 4 year old for a Christmas break. We all enjoyed the stay - it surpassed our expectations. Lots for the children and adults to enjoy. Food was excellent - from the breakfasts to high teas to gala dinners. All fantastic.

Everything was impressive but perhaps the thing that really made it was the fact that every single member of staff we came across was professional, helpful, courteous and cheerful.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweekie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Christmas at Low Wood Hotel on the shore of Lake Windemere, Cumbria,England.

We, that is myself, wife, daughter & three pet dogs, have stayed at Low Wood for three consecutive Christmas’s (2006 to 2008) for 5 nights and every year we have had a very warm, homely and excellent vacation that is why we keep going back.

The staff at Low Wood could not do enough for us, my daughter is disabled and my wife and I are her carers so we have special needs let alone three lively yorkies.
We find our needs are met to very best standard you would expect from a quality hotel.

We stay in the family room, it may not be the best room in the hotel but is very comfortable and it accommodates all our family needs. The dining is of top quality and never disappoints, the staff even go out their way to accommodate your particular tastes.

Because it is the Christmas season the package is fantastic and the functions are great, the function room is truly a breath taking site to see, it sparkles with Christmas in the air.

I live in the south east of England and it takes six hours to drive from my home, but nothing beats that warm wood burning smell and cosy fireside welcome in the reception when I arrive.

All the the time Low Wood can provide that warm sparkling Christmas I love, I will keep going back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eanpestano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews