We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mansfield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at Low Wood for 2 nights in June.

The pictures on the website and the description of the hotel make it sound wonderful. We had a lovely couple of days as the lakes are beautiful.

But, be warned Low Wood is certainly not a 4 star hotel and I would say probably only just a 3 star.

The good bits:
Breakfast very good and that’s all I can think of.

Bad bits:
Bed, very old with lumpy mattress.
Cleanliness of room – 1 out of 10.
Room décor – 1 out of 10.
Restaurant, very expensive.
Hotel service – 1 out of 10.
Shower, be careful it can be scolding hot one second and freezing cold the next.

We certainly will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear concerning Customer. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at the hotel for the hotel not meeting with your expectations on this occasion, I can but only apologise for this being the case. I would welcome the chance in restoring your faith in our product and discussing your review in more detail, please do not hesitate in contacting myself directly on your sincerely Nevil Jeffery,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    453
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
408
833
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
klc06
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

My husband and I booked Low Wood for two nights for a relaxing weekend so were looking forward to not doing much except pottering round the lakes, walking and the odd glass of wine.

The pictures on the low wood website certainly don't match up to the reality. The communal areas like the reception, bar and restaurant are modern, spacious and comfortable. The bar area was quite stylish however this is where the decor finishes. In comparison the rooms are poor quality, outdated and badly furnished and not in inkeeping with the rest of the hotel.

We booked a double room and were shown to a room with zipped together twins at the back of the hotel. We asked to be changed and were moved to a split level room with a very fashioned and worn out double bed right by the external walls and noisy ice machine. this room was spacious but the shower was broken and the furniture just generally quite cheap and shabby - but not in a chic way.

We were eventually moved (and apparantly upgraded) to a king size lake view room. This was more spacious and more homely but not really the quality I would expect in a 4 star hotel. If I was booking a quaint little B&B at £50 a night then fine but not for a £120 a night 4 star hotel. As it was on the main road and incredibly hot that weekend we kept the windows open and didn't sleep because of traffic.

All in all we had a great weekend because it's the lakes and it was sunny, Low Wood wasn't a great experience and we wouldn't go back.

I disagree with the last comments about breakfast, huge choice, no waiting and the English breakfasts weren't particularly greasy which was a welcome relief. The staff were also more than helpful. Refurb and you'll get more customers.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear Customer. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the room not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

I am please you like what we have achieved within our ground floor areas which has been part of an ongoing refurbishment plan.

I would welcome the chance of discussing your comments in more detail, please do contact myself directly, kind regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We went as an extended family holiday so we had 5 rooms in different parts of the hotel. None of us would ever go back! The view of the hotel looks great, but there is a main road between the hotel and the lake which is very noisy so if you have a lake view you will be kept awake with traffic until the small hours. Other rooms either had very noisy ice machines beside them or else were rather small and smelly. The walls and doors are very thin so you can hear all that is going on nextdoor, upstairs, outside! The beds were very uncomfortable doubles were singles zipped together, even the duvet was zipped together so you had the jangle of the zip in your ear all night.

We did not use the pool but it looked rather dirty and smelly so we thought better of it.

The food in the restaurant was VERY expensive and VERY POOR. £20 steaks were cold and somethings, inedible. Very few of the waiting staff spoke English and came across as downright rude.

The breakfast was good but not 4 star and if you are not down by 8.30 you have a long wait for a table.

All I can say is if you choose to go there 'good luck" and don't forget to take earplugs and lots of snacks!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dornt3344brock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear concerning Family. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at the hotel that you had not enjoyed your stay at the Low Wood Hotel. I am also sorry we did not get a chance to discuss these issues during your stay. Maybe this can be acheived in the furture, kind regards Nevil Jeffery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

I stayed a weekend at the Low Wood with friends for a relaxing few days away. The hotel has a great lakeside location, the road at the front is quite busy however... not a problem as we had rooms in the back of the hotel around the Japanese garden. The hotel has a lovely relaxing bar/ lounge area with comfy sofa's etc and stunning lake views. The Windermere restaurant has an excellent varied menu and the food was outstanding - both in quality and presentation. There is a health club with gym, pool and hot tubs - indoor and out! The cafe at the health club is nice for drinks and serves food also, we didn't get to try them but the pizza's looked very nice! It's about 10 min from Windermere station, easy to get a taxi or bus - that stops right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear Customer, thank you for a rewarding review. we are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our lounge and appreciate our extensive Windermere restaurant menu.
You maybe interested to know we have started a waterbus service direct from low wood Marina Sports, giving a comprehensive service up and down the Lake avaibale throughout August.
You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

stayed here 7th til 9th of june on b&b rate booked thro hotel web site.stayed in a courtyard room which sounds lovely until the deliveries use this for access with the reversing beep coming before 8.00am this morning.Room 306 is an end room with the ice machine attached,the constant hum and thermosat echoed around our room on the first night,so not the soundness of sleep was had,however the reception staff said I could turn it off on the 2nd night ,which I did and there was no noise that night.The hotel is in an excellent location although trying to access the road from the car park can be difficult because of the traffic and the restricted view.Our bed( two singles joined together)have not benifited from the topper mentioned in earlier responces from the management and was uncomfortable.The breakfast was good and the staff and service was fine.The gents changing room in the leisure club had no showers available due to refurbishment but my husband was quite surprised at how dirty the changing room was.These are all minor points but added up they are not what I expected from the low wood hotel given previous reviews and I would probably stay elsewhere next time I visit the lakes

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r7kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at the Low Wood Hotel at the beginning of June. We were very impressed with the hotel. The room was lovely and was considered to be a Standard Room. The food was great and with a good variety especially breakfast. The staff were very attentive and professional. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Thornfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

The stay at the Low wood, in general was disappointing.
The decor is bland and in need of a revamp.
We had paid the extra fee for the lake view and the window didn't even go to eye level! (Nearly £200 a night!)
Drinks were over priced, a round of two drinks (Beer and house wine) could cost you £10, easily the most expensive on the lake.
Breakfast was of a good standard though, as were the staff, who were always pleasant.

I just felt that the standard was a lot lower than in similar hotels and comfort was lacking. The leisure club was also a let down, with the changing rooms not even having showers due to refurbishment and generally unclean.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing