We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,079)
Filter reviews
2,079 results
Traveller rating
1,199
529
209
94
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,199
529
209
94
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue smoke leisure club lake view leisure facilities building work busy road the outdoor hot tub main restaurant lake district lovely hotel steam room restaurant staff wedding venue high standard two night stay from start to finish lots of choice
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 2,079 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We had a great two day stay in an amazing Lakeview room. The cleanliness of the room and hotel was second to none and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We took full advantage of the pool, spa and gym which was good as we unfortunately picked wet and windy weekend for our visit so it was really good we still had lots of options at the hotel. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was really nice. We have booked our wedding at Low wood next Easter and after our recent stay we are now even more excited!

Room tip: The lake view rooms are amazing!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Adam M, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I am even more pleased to hear that you have chosen us to host your special day. I am sure we will make it a day for you to remember. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We stayed at the Low Wood Bay for two nights on a special dinner, bed and breakfast offer. From when we arrived to when we left we had a fantastic time and the customer service was excellent. Very comfortable room, great leisure facilities and lovely food and drink.

Room tip: We had a view of the hills behind but imagine a lake view room would be lovely
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carys2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Carys2805, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wlkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We had a lovely break here a day after we got engaged. When we arrived we had a lovely card, chocolates and balloon from the hotel staff in our room and our parents sent a bottle of champagne to our room too. For the number of dogs we saw in the hotel (including our own) it was very clean and there was no 'doggy smell'. Decor was slightly dated but cosy and didn't affect our stay at all!

Our dog had her own little bed, towels and treats on arrival which was a lovely touch. We could sit by the fire and have a drink and/or dinner with her too which was good as she didn't like being left in the room.

The food was great too which was a bonus as we ended up eating here both nights. We varied from steaks to salads and all was delicious. Sadly the weather wasn't great but we managed to get a few lovely walks and make use of the leisure facilities too. The room wasn't the biggest but was perfect for us, and there were lovely White Company toiletries in the bathrooms too :) There was also a wedding on one night during our stay but we heard absolutely nothing.

Overall we had a really lovely stay and were treated no differently because we had our dog with us which has been an issue in past hotels.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Emily N, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay, congratulations once again on your engagemnet. I am pleased that you liked the little touches we placed in your room and the champagne from your parents. I am pleased that you were happy with the service, and that you could eat in the hotel and still be with your four legged companion. I have a dog of my own so i know it is nice to include them in your plans. I am also pleased to hear that the wedding that was taking place did not effect your stay. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the Low Wood, have to say a big thank you to the Manager Neville for sorting the lovely rooms out for us, the chocolates, fruit n fizz what a treat! also the Club Lounge for drinks before our evening meal - had such a lovely time afternoon in the hot tub and coffee overlooking the Lake, all topped off with perfect weather! Attention to detail and customer service excellent, the staff couldn't do enough to help thankyou, we will be back soon! Rob & Allison

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Allison , thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.I am pleased to hear that you liked your room and the chocolates, fruit and fizz provided. I am also pleased to hear you thought we provided excellent customer service with attention to detail. I am sure Nevil has already read your review, but i will ensure that your thanks are passed on to him. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed at Low Wood Hotel on Saturday 27th Feb for one night, parking was easy in the big car park at the rear.Checking in was no problem and found our room after following the signs in the corridors.Nice pool and the outside hot tub was great.Did not eat in main restaurant but found the Italian bistro was very good value.We had a few drinks in the bar,staff very friendly.The buffet breakfast was very good,we where shown to a window table with views over Lake Windermere and snow topped mountains.
The wi fi was excellent in the bar and bedroom.A very enjoyable weekend.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stepheng707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Stepghen G, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews