We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST DEFINATELY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wigan
1 review
“MOST DEFINATELY”
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed at the hotel on 4th December as we were joining colleagues to celebrate Christmas. From our arrival, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Both the meal we had and the breakfast the following morning were excellent. Our room was very comfortable with a great view of the lake. Pity the weather wasn't too great so that we could have really appreciated the surroundings. We would definately stay again and intend to do so in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deidreWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for an extremely rewarding review especially about the friendliness of our team, the meals you enjoyed, and the room with the great view of the lake. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you next year, especially at one of our Christmas Parties. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I stayed at the hotel recently for a business trip. Very good service from staff and nice room although it was an adjoining room and the sound-proofing between rooms was pretty non-existent. Thank god for earplugs. The hotel is very attractive but on a very busy road.

Food was good and a good buffet breakfast. Bar staff a little bit curt and the bar prices were outrageously high. I complained to a manager about the price of the whisky (£6 for a glass of malt) and was treated very sympathetically. He told me that he would speak to the food and beverage manager the following day and that someone would come back to me with more information before I left. Never happened.

So it's a lovely hotel, nice staff and good food but take plenty of money if you're heading to the bar.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusglens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about hotel, staff and food served in the Windermere restaurant, we have taken on board your comments regarding the drinks prices and will review these in due course. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We were on a 1 night dinner,bed and breakfast offer,which was excellent value for money.Food was 1st class at dinner and breakfast was buffet style and very good.We were put in a lovely room with a lake view and the view in the morning was special .Walk up the hills behind the hotel to get great views across Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Dear Guest Thanks so much for the fantastic review - I am delighted to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay, in particular the classic lake view room with its un-interrupted view of the lake and distant fells, well worth the upgrade. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Hotel in the near future. Best regards Nevil Jeffery
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My husband and I took our 3 year old daughter for a short autumn break to the Low Wood Hotel. On arrival the family room we were allocated had been set up with a welcome gift for our daughter on her bed and a cuddly toy! A great start to welcome a small tot! The room was modern, clean and very spacious. We booked through the hotel's own website and got a great deal for 2 nights stay inclusive of dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was excellent for the entire stay, breakfast was fantastic, evening meals excellent, plenty of choice and quality which could not be beaten, portions great too. My husband used the gym and swiming pool, sauna and steam room and reported them to be great as well. We really could not fault the hotel or the staff, would highly recommend it for both families and couples and the location to Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside are ideal.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
Dear Claire and Family, thanks so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We always make welcome families and the team is happy your daughter enjoyed our Sam’s club pack on arrival.
I am also please your husband enjoyed our newly refurbished gym. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Hotel in the near future. Best regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We recently visited the lakes on our Honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The weather was awful but it didn't stop us from getting out and about seeing the beauty of the Lakes. On returning to the warmth of the Low Wood Hotel we enjoyed a swim and our son especially enjoyed sitting outside in the rain in the hot tub. We dined in the Bistro on our first evening where the food was absolutely gorgeous, in fact it was so good and they were great with our son we went back again the next night. The breakfast in the hotel was also excellent and the staff most friendly. All the staff both in the hotel and leisure suite were most helpful and warm. Thank you to everyone for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernseygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about hotel, the team and the excellent service you received. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Just returned from Low Wood Hotel , a friends 50th birthday !! Booked a ' feature room ' , the price was £278 for 2 nights B & B . The feature was a free standing bath !! There was absolutely no view , just the car park !! I did expect a fridge but although I searched high and low I could not find one ! The bathroom was filthy , mould under the bath and pipes hidden under years of dust , after I complained I was told the bathroom would be given a deep clean , surely this should have been done before my arrival not halfway through it ! The window sills and ledges in the bedroom were also covered in dust with the odd cobweb hanging from the ceiling ! My dinner in the restaurant was very good but expensive ! Breakfast ok . Staff were very nice and friendly . The pool was very small and full of kids , changing room was tiny and not very clean . The other drawback was the very busy road immediately outside the hotel , trying to cross to go to the Lake was very precarious !!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Dear concerning Customer. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at the hotel for the shortcomings you experienced during your recent stay. I can but only apologise for this being the case. The feature rooms are located throughout the hotel however the feature “lake view rooms” are limited these are generally requested upon booking. The hotel appreciates the need for a fridge in the room and are available from reception and mentioned in the guest compendium. We take on board your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and a thorough deep clean has been actioned. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity sometime in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We visited Low Wood for a week in mid October 2009 and booked directly on the elh.co.uk site as this was much cheaper than any other web site we could find, there is a 50% discount available for most weeks for the B&B option. We chose the DB&B option which is an additional £20 per person per night. I phoned the hotel to check what you got for this £20 and was told it was a “£30 dinner allowance” each night, which seemed good value. We also opted for a courtyard room as these were bigger and newer than the rooms in the original hotel building, this was an additional £10 per night.
On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and provided us with details of a walk from the hotel which we did the next day and this was very good.
The hotel location is very good on the lakeside and about a 15 minute walk to Lakeside.
Our room was good, it looked out onto countryside and towards the car park. It had most things we needed except for a fridge. Bathroom was good and well stocked with toiletries.
Breakfast was well organised, when the restaurant was very busy the staff were efficient at clearing tables. At the weekend there may be a queue to get in the restaurant but for these busy times then coffee was available in the lounge. We didn’t have to wait during our stay. There was a good selection of cold and hot food, great for lovers of the ‘full English’.
The dinner menu was more disappointing. The “£30 allowance” wasn’t as it seemed, you were actually allocated about £6 for starter, £16 for main meal, £6 for sweet. The inclusive menu was quite limited. There were some better food options for an additional charge, for example a steak would add about £2 to £8, whether you had used your allowance or not. If you decide to skip starter or sweet then you just lose money. The menu never changed for the week, the only variety being soup of the day. Quality of food was generally ok although sometimes a little bland. Personally I’d avoid the DBB option and use the Bistro next door and try some local restaurants, using the Low Wood restaurant once or twice and paying for what you have.
The internet access was very expensive at 25p per minute, which I explained to the hotel was the equivalent of a massive £360 for 24hrs, they told me the maximum charge was £15 every 24 hours. If you buy a coffee in the hotel lounge then you can get free wireless access but this isn’t as convenient as a room connection.
Overall it was very good, staff were very good, but I wouldn’t like to pay full price here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassepartoutNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Dear Customer, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the comments made on your recent review. The companies website does provide the greatest discount and the most up to date rates available. It was gratifying to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and I am pleased you enjoyed your walk. I have passed on your comments regarding the inclusive dinner menu price to the food and beverage team who will review it’s current format. We are also looking into the internet charges for guest bedrooms with the possibility of reducing these costs in the near future. Once again I am pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
373 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,152 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing