We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Mention of A591?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Mention of A591?”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The brochure is cleverly written and states "The lakeshore setting is breathtaking, with lawns leading down to the water's edge and one of the finest views in in the whole of the English Lake District." What it fails to mention is that the A591 is directly in front of the hotel and between the hotel and the lakeshore. There are no hotel lawns leading down to the waters edge, the hotel does not have much frontage as it sits on the roadside. There is a small lawned garden in front of the restaurant that looks across the A591 to the lake. There are grass banks at the lakeside. We paid a supplement for a lake view room and the views and scenary are fantastic but the road is very noisy and very busy from early morning to late at night. Good food is served in the restaurant and the bar and lounge areas are very nice. Ambleside is an easy walk from the hotel but Bowness and Windermere are a good walk or short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear concerning guest thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.
I read with interest your quote relating to the hotel being set on the A591 and the continual disturbance of traffic. Unfortunately there is only one road in and out of the Lake District and the only way to get to the heart of the beautiful Lake District is by using the A591. We advertise the hotel as having “superb lawned shoreline and one of the finest views across Lake Windermere” which is true and is noted by almost all visitors as being the case. We have 24 hour Customer relations cover available and I am positive that if given the chance we would have discussed the matter face to face and organised alternative accommodation within the hotel.

I can confirm the hotel has extensive grounds which include the Marina and Marina lawns which are located directly across from the hotel and totally accessible to hotel guests at all times.

I along with the team are very sorry on this occasion that you did not find the positioning of the hotel to your liking, however we are pleased you fully enjoyed the restaurant’s, bars and lounge areas.
Again thank you for your review best regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband and i stayed 7th/8th May for an anniversary weekend. We arrived slightly too early to check in, however our room was ready and we were allowed to check in.
The room it's self was miles away from reception and we were told to go up the stairs and follow the signs, which was daft as our room was in the annex at the back of the hotel and was easier to get to by going back towards the car-park! The room was comfortable with a massive bed that neither my husband or i wanted to drag ourselves out of. The bathroom was clean and adequate for us.
We ate in the main restaurant on the Friday evening which was excellent, the choice of dishes on the menu were fantastic, and the food quality was superb. We did hear a few people complain about the portion sizes, but they were adequate for us. The Lamb hotpot was divine and i would go back again just for that!!
Breakfast however was a totally different ballgame, the choice on offer was huge, and i would challenge anyone to say they could'nt find anything they liked. It was all self-service and you could return to the hot or cold buffet as often as you liked.
After a lovely day of walks and boats, my husband and i decided to go to the leisure complex for a well advertised outdoor hot tub. Unfortunately it was out of comission all weekend which was a little disappointing.
We also ate in the leisure complex cafe/bar. The menu was excellent again with plenty of choice and in here the portions were a lot bigger, however the menu was more snacky rather than restaurant.
In general we had a lovely weekend. I agree with a few of the other reviews, the hotel is rather expensive when it comes to drinks and some would say the food as well, but if you are looking for a nice comfortable hotel for an adults weekend then i would say go for it.
On a final note it is some way from Windermere, we did start to walk and then gave up and went back for the car, so if you fancy a nice stroll into the town after dinner don't bother it's at least 2- 2.5 miles away. (we could just be a little lazy though!)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCPLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Dear concerning Customer. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at the hotel for the directional information given on arrival, as your room was located in the building directly accessed from the main car park you should have been instructed so and the porter would have greeted you and helped with any luggage. I will ensure this is discussed with the department and corrective training undertaken.

We are pleased you found the dining experience of the Windermere restaurant and Café del Lago very pleasing. Our breakfast offering as you have pointed out is very wide, offering local produce and varied specialties from Cumbria Sausage to pancakes and maple syrup on the continental buffet.

Thank you for taking the time in posting this review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We choose Low Wood as our wedding venue mainly because of its superb location and amazing veiws of lake windermere, but actually we were treated to much more than that! The staff were fantastic, really attentive and friendly both leading up to and on the day of the wedding. Every detail was taken care of and they made sure we wanted for nothing. Agreed, some of the rooms could do with a refurb but for such an extensive hotel it is hardly surpising that some of the rooms are a bit tired. However, if you do get the chance to stay in one of the newer rooms - WOW! I would definately recommend Low Wood as a wedding venue and we will definately be going back to celebrate our 1st year anniversay! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Dear Nicolle, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I will pass on your comments to Gemma our wedding coordinator and to the team, we do pride ourselves on our team and comments such as yours are greatly appreciated. You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in April 2011. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIGHTON LE SANDS
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I am very dissapointed that I have had no response from the manager with regards to a serious issue on my part, this has therefore left me feeling very negative about our stay at the Low Wood.
Acknowledgment of my correspondence would be welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Dear Guest, I have investigated and reviewed all our comment cards and correspondence received over the past month. We pride ourselves on responding to all correspondence be it critical or indeed rewarding. Please do not hesitate in contacting myself directly and I will be more than happy to discuss any issues you may have had to endure during your stay or visit.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed here for a friends wedding. The B&B price was high, but the hotel was the wedding venue, so we didn't shop around. It's in a beautiful spot; right on the shore of Windermere. I've no idea how this gets 4 stars. The rooms are like an average 3 star lodge - cramped, badly laid out, jaded and with a pretty uncomfortable bed. The walk from reception to the room was so long and tricky that I really could have done with a map. The staff were disinterested - the bar charges were so high that you'd have thought a bottle of rose may have come with an ice bucket, but no! Breakfast was like a world war II battle scene. The staff couldn't care less and the choice was just passable. This place seems to rely on the foreign tourists being brought by coach and it has an air of complacency.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post this review, I am very sorry we did not have the opportunity of discussing the above in person during your stay. We have a senior duty manager on duty 24 hours a day and they along with myself are more than happy to resolve issues or indeed offer advise on local attractions. I can but only apologise on this occasion if we did not meet up to your expectations when it comes to room standards. On an annual audit the AA review all aspect of the operation and reward the Low Wood Hotel with 4 star status, these visits are completely unannounced.

I am concerned greatly by the comment relating to staff attitude, we pride ourselves on be a friendly team, I am sorry you experienced the shortfalls in service and staff attitude. I would welcome the chance of discussing this matter in more detail. Please do not hesitate in contacting the hotel direct and ask for Nevil Jeffery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We called on this hotel without a reservation and were offerred a lakeside view room for £98. The room was very comfortable with excellent bed. The only downside of the lakeside room was that it was also on the road and the traffic was a bit noisy.
The food in the restaurant was really excellent and the staff pleasant polite and helpful. Really good leisure centre with pool, spa etc

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review especially regarding the helpfulness of our team, the food in the restaurant and the leisure club. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Stayed for 2 nights during the Easter holidays. Booked day before we left and website said the price was at a discount, when we got there we found it was just normal rate but it was a reasonable rate for 2 plus 5 year old. The room we were in was a bit in need of an update but was clean and comfortable. We booked this hotel as it had leisure facilities and we were impressed with them even though we picked a very busy time to go. The outdoor hot tub was great! Breakfast was plentiful and varied, everything you could ask for was there. The staff were helpful and friendly especially Billy on reception who quickly dealt with a couple of queries we had. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will book again for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review. I thank you for your comments regarding the leisure facilities, staff and the breakfast in the Windermere Restaurant, and although the room you stayed in was in need of an update we appreciate your comments that is was clean and comfortable, we do take on board all feedback and having looked into your reservation details I can confirm that the room you recently stayed in is booked in for a refurbishment.

You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,155 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing