We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here for one night and I have to say it was lovely. We got there early before 12noon and was able to check in, we had a nice room overlooking the front. Great facilities and a beautiful resturant where the food is fab.
Quite a busy main road right outside the front which can be a little tricky to cross in the height of the season.
The only down side if you like your tv they don't have sky tv and if it's warm like it was there is only a fan to cool you down, but the views of the scenery and the overall hotel far make up for this. Definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is my first review, I am not a hotel snob by any means but like everyone like value for money and a nice clean hotel. We went away to the lakes for the first time looking for a romantic break and to do some Mountain Biking.

Positives - great hotel view,very friendly staff, swimming facilities and an out door hot tub, which is great after a day on the mountain bikes! Oh and a goo breakfast selection to suit everyone.

Negatives - with the great view comes a very busy road with fast traffic and over the weekend big tour buses with 120 odd travels booking in - so no lie in's!
Lots of coach trips & school trips, so very busy hotel and with the building being so old you can everything and i think they have a plumbing issue at the moment as when the person above goes to the toilet you feel like something is going to fall on your head.
We have been here 3 nights and haven't slept! The room we had no.20 was tiny far too small for two people, no room for cases not even a shelf for your wash-bag, so with wet biking gear it was a nightmare!

Its NOT a romantic hotel really - you are having your breakfast while 50 school kids are getting a telling off about not being in line - not what I want really want to hear. BUT the views and the staff are amazing!

I am going to try the Regent Hotel at ambleside next time- as it is the most BEAUTIFUL place in the world.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeppsandparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Guest, i would like to thank you for the comments made on trip advisor regarding the team and the leisure facilities, I was however very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your room on your recent stay with us here at Low Wood Bay.

Customer feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by myself and the team. The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, I am sorry you did not bring your concerns to our attention sooner I am sure that we would have been able to rectify them if we were given the opportunity. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Great hotel with fabulous views and friendly staff. Hotel is located off a main road and didnt hear any road noise. The leisure facilites are excellent and very clean.

Would definately recommend and hope to make a return visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwarTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Dear Guest, thank you so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stayed two nights en route to Scotland, with two children under 10. Very impressed by the child-friendly nature of the hotel and with the staff, who were unfailingly helpful and pleasant. Had we been on our own, my husband and I would probably have chosen a smaller hotel away from the main route up Windermere, but the food was very very good for such a big establishment and the indoor pool a real winner with the children when it rained (it sometimes rains in the Lakes.....)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic comments about hotel, I am pleased to read that your children enjoyed the hotel, I hope they made the most of Sam’s club and became members!
I am also glad you enjoyed the food at the hotel as well as the pool at the leisure club, as you say it does sometimes rain the in lakes….. and what better way to avoid it by visiting the leisure club.
You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Just spent a lovely weekend at Low Wood. Easy to book, fantastic helpful reception staff. We were given a superb room over looking Lake Winderemere. The bed was huge and comfortable on a quiet corridor in the leisure centre building.
The gym is well equipped and wasn't busy - plenty of room unlike a lot of hotel gyms.
We had a delicious meal in the hotel bar - the bar staff were attentive and friendly.
A great way to end the evening is with a walk along the marina - walk to the end of the jetty and watch the bats fly round and enjoy the moon light on the lake.
As with all the food at the hotel breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
Reasonable check out time - 11am unlike most hotels who want you out as soon as you've had breakfast. We were able to sit in the bar and read the papers with a cup of coffee before we walked into Ambleside for a stroll around the shops.
Highly recommended - as are all the hotels owned by this company.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic comments about hotel, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the room, the view the staff and the food all 1st Class! I will pass on your comments to the Leisure Club Manager who will be happy to here that you enjoyed and made the most of the gym onsite.
You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Booked for a 'luxury stay with fine dining, good wine & an overall pampering experience' as a last night stop on the way back from a holiday in Scotland.

On a positive: 1) the bed for myself & husband was amazing-massive & very comfortable 2) the towels were luxurious 3) the toiletries were very good 4) the breakfast selection was excellent

On a negative: 1) the room was deemed by the hotel as suitable for 3 adults (myself, husband & 16 yr old). However, the 3rd bed was a put-u-up & definitely not suitable for a 6 foot teenager ! As we were only stopping for 1 night my husband didn't consider it appropriate to complain, so our son slept on the mattress on the floor-not very comfy!
2) on arrival we booked a table in the restaurant for that evening-but it transpired that the table was at the back of the restaurant amongst a coach party & a large 'all male' group-making for a very noisy dining experience. To give staff their due, they did try to find an alternative table, but they had all been allocated. We therefore opted to eat in the Bistro - different menu & low cafe style tables (not a bit like the 'pampering' three course meal we had envisaged).
3) at breakfast I requested tea, only to be brought a jug of water & told teabags were in the tin on the table. I asked the waiter if I could change my mind & have coffee (which I'm not keen on) & explained that I'd expected the tea to come in a pot - snobbish/petty maybe, but this was the pamper part of my holiday! I was therefore very disappointed to discover on leaving the restaurant that tea can be provided in teapots on request - why couldn't the waiter have told me that !

Overall this is quite an expensive hotel & whilst I think our stay could potentially have been worth the money & therefore have warranted further visits, for us the negatives resulted in us losing the 'luxury experience' that we felt we had paid for.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding the room and its bed, toiletries and towels as well as the pleasing comments regarding the breakfast selection in the Windermere Restaurant. I was however very sorry to read that you did not enjoy other elements of your recent stay with us.
Guest feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by myself and the team. The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, I hope you will give us the opportunity in the near future to demonstrate these issues do not often occur. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I arrived for a two day break with myself and two children. i wanted to give them a great time as there are only the three of us. i booked water skiing through the hotel ,which they enjoyed very much. I booked online and had no idea that the childrens meals would cost soooooo much . i was not informed that the children would cost more than me ! I am a member of the sand piper club and they told me it would be a good deal ! . it is a fabulous hotel but would like to have been told of the added costs. and a dog yapped all night in the room opposite ! we were awake throughout the nights stayed .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murph4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Murph4743, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the comments made on your recent review, I am pleased to read that you and your children enjoyed the waterskiing at the Marina – hoped I help by the fantastic weather we have been able to enjoy. I am sorry that you felt the children’s meals were too expensive, after reviewing your reservation and billing details I noted that one of your children ate form the adult A La Carte menu which would be billed the same as an adult meal – your other child did eat from the Sams Club menu (aimed at children up to the age of 12) which is significantly more reduce in price.

I hope this doesn’t deter you from visiting the hotel again in the near future and I am pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing