We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay and Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay and Great Room”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Just got back from our two night stay in the Low Wood in a classic room and we had an excellent stay. The room was very large and had a very comfy bed and a very clean and modern bathroom area with a great view of Lake Windermere. The breakfast was very good. On our first night the temperature was minus 3 however we used the Low Woods outdoor hot-tub which kept us lovely and warm.

We originally had a 1st floor lakeview room however we preferred to be a bit higher up and the reception staff were quick to sort this out for us.

The Low wood is around an £8.50 tax fare when we used it to Bowness and it is only a short walk to Ambleside.

Would recommed the Low Wood and would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, particularly the view and the out door hot tub. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester,england
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

the lowood is a very nice hotel in a beautiful location, the foodwas excellant as was the restaurent service, and we especially enjoyed the outdoor hottub. however there were a couple of niggles which disappointed.
the check in on arrival was much delayed as we waited for the receptionist to finish her personal conversation and felt like we were an inconvenience, the lake view room did have fantastic view but was very hot and the main road position made it too noisy to open the window coupled with the v.noisy occupants of adjacent room not a great nights sleep.
similar situation with reception at check out then compounded by an overcharge not dealt with paticularly gracefully.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your review about hotel, it was gratifying to read that you mainly enjoyed your stay in particular the food, restaurant service, views and that amazing out side hot tub with views of the Lake.

I am however sorry that you did not get the best experience on either checking into the hotel or checking out, I have along with the Front of House Manager spoken to the team and can assure you that the experience you had will not be repeated.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I have just returned from a one night stay and one day conference at The Low Wood Bay Hotel and have to say just how beautiful the hotel and location is. My room was close to the main road, and whilst i had a small amount of traffic noise this did not in anyway ruin my stay. The room was to a very high standard, and i simply loved the water bed! Probably the best night sleep i've had in ages!!! All of the staff are friendly and polite. The restaurant dealt fantastically well considering that there were a very large group of people all ordering at once. Everyone commented on how lovely their meal was, and the service was excellent. The conference rooms were very comfortable and had stunning views of the lake which really made the day more interesting!! I definately plan to return to The Low Wood Bay Hotel but on a romantic weekend away!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyrocket0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your Conference, and we do hope that you do choose to visit us again for wither business or leisure. I have passed your great comments on to the team especially regarding the room standards, the food and the service with in the restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed the Water bed also.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Low Wood on the 11th December 2010, and it truly was everything we had hoped for. From the start of the planning process Gemma was extremely helpful in catering for all our needs and making sure everything went to plan. On the day the staff were all extremely friendly and Craig was brilliant throughout the day! The hotel itself is beautiful and there are wonderful areas to take photos, including the gardens and the view over the lake. The restaurant is beautiful and the food was absolutely gorgeous, it's a great venue for a wedding and we're already looking forward to our complimentary anniversary stay! A truly memorable wedding day! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Sloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day. I will pass on your comments to Gemma our wedding coordinator and to the team, we do pride ourselves on our team and comments such as yours are greatly appreciated.

You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in December 2011. Once again congratulations.

Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalton in furness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

A really well run lovely hotel. Nothing was too much for the staff who were friendly and efficient. We ate in the Bistro as we had not taken smart enough clothing for the dining room and the food was really nicely cooked and presented. Breakfast was lovely, buffet style but unlike many hotels with limp undercooked food it was all cooked well and seemed really fresh. The pool was lovely, warm and a decent size if you actually want to have a proper swim. Definately would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swifty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
Dear Swifty78 Thanks so much for the fantastic review - I am delighted to read that enjoyed your stay from the room through to the food in our bistro. As a team it also pleasing to read you will be recommending us to your family and friends, thank you and happy New Year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We chose this hotel because it was one of few that we found that didn't ban us from a new year dinner or put us in a separate function just because we had a small child. We had booked a feature lake view room and on arrival were a little disappointed. It was quite old fashioned with an enormous water bed and felt really cramped with all the stuff we had with us. We spoke to reception and they immediately showed us a couple of alternatives and we ended up in a room with a fabulous view, comfy bed and a modern bathroom which was much more our cup of tea! I think that in an old building with such a lot of rooms it can be a bit hit and miss but the staff did everything in their power to find us one that we were happy with. All the public areas are lovely and they were decorated beautifully for Christmas. Some of the other areas, especially some of the corridors were starting to look a bit tired but it didn't spoil it for us.
My little girl loved the pool although it did get busy at times and so is perhaps not as appealing to those who want a bit of relaxation. There are adult only times in the morning and later in the evening for those who want a child free experience.
The food came as part of our package and was fantastic as well as abundant. The breakfasts were especially good and I would challenge anybody to require something that wasn't there.
The highlight of our visit was definately the New Years Eve dinner. It was held in a function room as as opposed to the restaurant as I was expecting, which they had managed to turn into an amazing winter wonderland bedecked in black and silver complete with ice sculpture, snow laden christmas trees, igloo entrance and loads of glitter. The lighting made you feel as if you were in a magical ice cave! All the children were allowed to run around and pretty much amused each other which allowed the adults to have a good time as they didn't have to worry about keeping their kids in their seats. No one minded at all and it was lovely to see them all having such a good time. The food was amazing and the service was the best I have ever experienced! It was done with almost military precision. Everybody on the table got their food at the same time and it was all cleared equally as swiftly. The staff worked their absolute socks off and it paid dividends. It was so slick and professional. Midnight came and went in a shower of champagne and confetti and there were fireworks to round off a truly incredible evening. The only thing that spoilt it a bit was the raging hangover the next morning.
This hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing views. The road out the front of the hotel didn't bother us at all even though it was right outside our window. The view we had more than made up for it. Children are treated as guests rather than nuisances and the staff really are truly amazing. They are efficient, professional, friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble. If you are a family looking for somewhere amazing to take the kids, this is the place. We can't wait to book for next year!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWSNS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
Dear MWSNSA Thanks so much for the fantastic review after staying during our New Year house party. Once checked in and reception making alternative room allocation I am please you read the alternative room met with your needs.
Please be advised I will ensure the team receive a copy of your review as with all.
as a team we are so pleased you enjoyed the New Years eve Gala Dinner, especially the effort which we all put into dressing the Lake Suite. It is a pleasure to wow our guests at this very special time of year. Pleased we pulled off the effect of making the room look and feel like the inside of an igloo, this was completely what we were looking to achieve.
once again, thank you for such a rewarding review and from the team and I Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

What more can you say - a lovely hotel, big enough to cope but small enough to care. Great location, central to just about everything, very nice rooms and hotel is of a high standard with very good helpful staff. was so good, booked for 3 nights, couldnt be bothered going home - so stoped for a fourth!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
Dear Julesmbolton Thanks so much for the fantastic review and we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. From myself and the Team, we wish you a happy new year and look forward to welcoming you throughout 2011
Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing