We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentines Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I booked a 3 night stay during Valentines, the whole weekend was a surprise for my partner and for me too, we arrived late on Friday and got checked in promptly, the room was very clean and had all the amenities, getting too the room was a bit difficult because it was at the end of the hotel (which we would find later was an advantage) especially with many bags.
Next morning we attended breakfast at the hotel which was lovely, it was the first time we got to see the restaurant area which was very nicely decorated and also got to see the amazing view outside, location wise you cant get any better than this, it really is that good and definitely worth paying extra for a lake view room.
We also had dinner at the restaurant that night which was wonderful, massive compliments to the chef, the food was divine and the service was very friendly and professional and afterwards we had a nice walk by the lake, it topped of a lovely romantic evening.
We used some of the hotels facilities, the pool was great and the out door jacuzzi was fantastic.
The only small note i would make is that the room we stayed in didn't have a small fridge so any drinks we bought got warm very quickly, that's the only small note on an otherwise perfect weekend, amazing location, wonderful food at the restaurant, great friendly service, thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudioAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,585 - 1,591 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed one night in room 37, it was great in every way. It would be difficult to improve on anything this hotel has to offer. Great, attentive service, good attention to detail and some nice touches throughout. Dinner and breakfast excellent.

Just wish other hotels could be this good - well worth the extra.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a rewarding review on trip advisor after staying at the Low Wood Bay.

We are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from room 37 through to breakfast on departure. I will ensure all team members recieve a copy of your review.

Again thank you and we look foreward to welcoming you back again in the near future, maybe for a longer break next time.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed in Room 15 for 2 nights. Amazing lake views and the room was outstanding. Meals fantastic. Plenty of choice on the menu and service was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qwertCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a rewarding review on trip advisor following your stay.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the comforts of our newly refurbished feature room "15" with its four poster bed and picture window views over the Lake.

As a team we look foreward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at the low wood hotel last weekend.We really liked the location and we thought the service was good.We enjoyed a very yummy breakfast with plenty of variaty.The only down side was that it was a very busy hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Dear Sarah Wills

Thank you for posting this rewarding review after you weekend break.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially breakfast.

As you say, the hotel is busy, especially during half terms but we as a team strive to maintain standards of service no matter how busy we are, I am pleased your review is testament to this.

Again thank you for posting this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed for my husbands birthday weekend with our two children (aged 11 and 7). Room was fantastic - a spilt level family room, with lounge area (incl two camp beds), TV, bathroom, etc. downstairs and upstairs to bedroom with huge bed and another TV! No lake view, but very clean. Food was lovely - great choice at breakfast, including hot food that was hot! We had dinner in the main restaurant both nights, and again it was lovely.

We found the staff to be professional, friendly and helpful at all times. They didn't seem to mind us asking for slightly different food for the (picky) children, or asking to warm up the red wine! And this was much appreciated. Small touches like kids packs in the room on their beds, and a birthday balloon and card for my husband really made us feel special.

I think that the hotel is very family friendly, but still keeping a 'grown up' atmosphere. The pool facilties are great too.

We love this area and stay for a week each year in a holiday cottage, but on this weekend we have promised ourselves a weekend at Low Wood each year too! Looking forward to next year already!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Dear AL34

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a rewarding review since your stay with us.

We are pleased you all found our family split level rooms favourable to your families needs, sorry we could not make available a lake view room on this occasion.

I will ensure all team members receive a copy of your review, which will also be reviewed at our management meeting this month when all reviews good and bad are reviewed and action taken as and when needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The Low Wood was so welcoming and very professional. The room had the most comfy bed. As our room wasn't ready instead of waiting the upgraded us to a lake view and added to our stay.
Staff were very tentative and the food was amazing we ended up have dinner on both nights

We are quite local to the lakes and would be coming back sometime soon

Many Thanks

Garry and Shirley

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Dear Gary and Shirley

Thank you for your review since staying wih us at the Low Wood Bay.

It pleases me to see reception upgraded you free of charge to one of our Lake view rooms, rather than making you wait for your room to be ready on early check in.

Pleasing to read you will be visiting the Lakes soon and more importantly staying at the Low Wood Bay once more.

kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Great weekend break. Friendly attentive staff. Great room with a lake view. Road not noisey in our view. Spa and hot tub inside and outside most welcome on return from our days out. Reception and bar staff very chatty and advised us where to visit, trips out and local points of interest. Good breakfast with fantastic choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gismothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review and your wonderful coments regarding our team, I am pleased you enjoyed your break at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
538 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £141 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing