We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could Not have been bettered”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beckside-lodge

Beckside Lodge from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beckside Lodge from the garden
Private garden Living area with Tv, dvd player and selection of games
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Beckside Lodge from the garden
Private garden
Living area with Tv, dvd player and selection of games
Living area and dining area
Dining area
Modern kitchen with dishwasher and fridge freezer
Modern kitchen with dishwasher and fridge freezer
Master bedroom with king-sized bed
En-suite in master bedroom
Twin bedroom 1
Twin bedroom 2
Secluded decking with barbeque
One of the many things to enjoy at Beckside Lodge!
From the private garden
Beck side
Beck side
On site beer garden
Childrens games area
Driveway down to the Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
soskin
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Could Not have been bettered”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a really wonderful stay at Easter in these lovely lodges just a short distance away from Windermere. Perfect for a weekend or a week away. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner, Kevin who was always on hand with any queries or questions on the run up to our stay, and made us feel so special. All the lodges are set in a beautiful wooded area on the shores of Lake Windermere.
Ours was just a two minute stroll from Lakeside. It is a beautiful place, clean throughout with everything we could possibly want to make our stay so very comfortable. ( Home from home) The kitchen is fully kitted out with all the necessary pots pans, gadgets, crockery and utensils . There was also a microwave and dishwasher and even a slow cooker! Lounge and dining area was very comfy and had everything for our entertainment, including music, games, books and video’s (not that we had time to use many) The bedrooms are lovely and comfortable with plenty of storage space.
The lodge is set in such a tranquil place, all you could hear was the birds singing ( and there were many) A little babbling brook ran along side. We were lucky enough to have really lovely weather. Had we known this we would have brought food to cook on the BBQ which was also on the spacious decking outside. Everything was absolutely perfect, no down sides at all the these lodges .All too soon we had to leave after our wonde4rful Easter stay and everyone agreed they wished they could have stayed longer.
For self catering in the Lakes this is the perfect place to stay whether it be couples, families (very safe ) or friends. Wonderful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful reviews for both Beckside and Bowness lodges. We were so pleased to welcome you and your families to both lodges and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Receiving great reviews like yours gives us such a buzz and we are so grateful. We really do hope to hear from you again and welcome you and your family once again to our lodge. kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyRush...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful and relaxing break!”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned from a lovely break at Beckside Lodge. On arrival the lodge was beautifully laid out and clean. The location is brilliant and we would recommend to anyone who wishes to visit the lakes, whether it be for a weekend or a full week stay. Kevin the owner is also very helpful and provided us with everything we required for the week. Looking forward to booking again next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Many thanks for a wonderful review for Beckside-lodge. We are so pleased you had a fabulous break and we would love to welcome you and your family back again next year. Relaxing in a lovely place in the Lake District cannot be beaten as far as we are concerned and the fact that our guests also enjoy the tranquillity is great to hear. Looking forward to your return. kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina42...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful clean lodge in a perfect location”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Beckside lodge for a weekend and it was absolutely spotless, smelt amazing too, LOL. The location at Whitecross Bay is perfect too and a lovely garden as well as decking with a stream. We took our two dogs so it was perfect for us.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Hi. Many thanks for taking the time to forward your review. We are so pleased you were happy with the spotless condition and position of the Lodge, the smell is apparently called 'Spring meadow'. The garden we believe is a big plus for both adults who want to sit and have a relaxing drink with the sound of the streams flowing and our four-legged friends for a little walk around. We will look forward to your return as we are sure we will see you again soon. kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith P
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best ! We had all weathers but were able to enjoy ourselves”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Location brill , well equipped cabin like home from home, actually better than home !!! :-) Got to go back xx

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased when guests like yourselves appreciate Beckside lodge as we do try to make it feel your home for your stay. I am certain you are going to stay again and we will look forward to hear from you. Your returning guest discount awaits!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jools2010...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in idyllic location”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Myself,three daughters and two grandchildren ( 8 and13) stayed here 26-29 September. I found this lodge by chance and booked directly with the owner.
We were all amazed when we arrived at both the presentation of this superb lodge and its private position between the two streams. The lake and marina is literally a few minutes from the lodge. It contained everything we needed and exceeded our expections. The owners attention to detail and cleanliness were first rate and we made good use of the games and DVDs provided. We will most definitely return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving for home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your time in giving us your positive feedback.
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found both the lodge and facilities met more than your expectations. We do take every effort in ensuring our guests have a wonderful stay and a great sign when they want to return.
Hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GODRobbie...
St. Helens
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge - No Wi-Fi or Mobile phone Signal”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Beckside lodge in August 2014. One of the main reasons for booking the lodge was for the Wi-Fi Internet access. I have just started my own business and I required this facility to help me run the business during my holiday period. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi internet access only appeared to work for a couple of minutes each day. This along with the lack of a mobile phone signal caused me endless problems.
With regards to the lodge I can say that it is a lovely lodge with adequate space throughout for a family of 6. However the lodge does require updating around the edges. When we took the cover off the BBQ it was full of water and grease from a previous occupant plus the BBQ utensils were on the floor and looking rather sorry for themselves.
We also had a few issues with the decking. Part of the decking was very slippery and dangerous during the wet weather it was also rotting so much so that part of it fell on the dogs head when the dog touched it. I believe this was because the decking had not been adequately cleaned and was gathering moss. We also had issues with regards to the cleanliness of the lodge. When we arrived on site we were advised by the not very helpful receptionist that we could not enter the lodge until 3pm. We accepted this and went for a walk around the site. During our walk we took a look at the lodge and noticed a car parked outside the lodge with name of a cleaning company on the back window. We naturally thought that the cleaner was inside the lodge cleaning the lodge. Approximately 1 hour later we returned to the lodge and noticed that the cleaners car was still parked outside the lodge. At that moment another car parked next to the car outside the lodge and a chap got out and then let himself into the car that was parked outside the lodge and then drove off. We then assumed that the lodge must be ready and we then let ourselves in. It was obvious that someone had cleaned the lodge, however they had not done a thorough job as the TV cabinet was still covered in dust and we had issues with the floor near the TV being full of crumbs and the cutlery not being clean. Despite all this we thought that the lodge was a nice place to stay however we would not stay again as we thought that the lodges were too close to each other which restricted your privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I am surprised somewhat at some of your comments. The internet access and mobile phone connections are something which as you are aware are not lodge specific and totally out of our control. The park has made recent changes to the wifi output on the park and is something which has improved greatly this year, but we have never noticed it only working for a couple of minutes per day.
With regard to the BBQ, unfortunately this is something we hope our guests clean after use. We have a sign in the lodge which clearly asks our guests to clean it for incoming guests. We cannot think of another way of policing this request?
The decking issue is a surprise. Although we do have a couple of boards which have weathered there is certainly none which have rotted as you have stated. The decking boards are cleaned and treated with fungicide at the beginning of the season and also during Autumn.
I cannot comment on your 'unhelpful' description of the receptionist at the park only to say this is something I have never found to be the case, in fact I have always found them to be extremely helpful and courteous to my guests in the past. Your confirmation letter clearly stated that check in time is 3pm and it is their responsibility to ensure this remains the case.
The cleaning company may well have parked at the lodge but ours is not the only lodge they clean on the park so it is possible that parking there is central to their tasks and easier for them. Our cleaning team have had excellent comments in the past and this too is a surprise. They take immense pride in their duties and devote as much time to cleaning as it takes. Our lodge, if you read previous reviews, has been described as 'spotlessly clean', 'very clean and homely' etc.
???? I am totally surprised at your final comment about being overlooked and too close to other lodges as this is far from the truth with Beckside lodge. The closest lodge decking area is approximately 50 metres away!
I am sorry your stay at our lodge was not to your liking but if you would have contacted me during your stay we would have reacted immediately to any of your concerns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at lodge for 3 nights 4 adults and 1 child aged 5. We found the lodge very comfortable and not at all overcrowded. We could relax when our child played in the garden and she loved crossing the beck over the pipe. In a great location lovely to sit on the decking on a afternoon with the sun on you. Very central between Ambleside and Windermere. Overall a great stay here. Would love to return and the fresh roses in a vase on table when we got here shows that the owners care about their guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Great! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We agree that the lodge is perfectly positioned both on the park and in the Lake District.
The garden is a great place for children to play and for adults to relax and enjoy the sun and sounds of the 2 becks. We would love to welcome you back to 'Beckside' sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing