We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding.”

The 1st Floor Cafe at Lakeland
Ranked #24 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having been a Lakeland customer for many years it was only fitting that when visiting the flagship we call in for lunch. There was a 20 minute wait for a table or 5 minute at the high stools which we opted for. My open sandwich consisted of smoked salmon and prawns, marie rose sauce, kettle chips and salad for £8.50 and it was superb! So fresh and tasty and so much of it there was no way I could have eaten anything else afterwards even if I wanted to. My husband had a tuna mayo and spring onion sandwich with salad garnish and he thought it was very tasty. If I lived in the area it would certainly be a place I would go to on a regular basis. Next time we are in the Lake District we will certainly go there again for lunch. I only my local store had a café!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    118
    54
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good food, - very filling”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we went with our 21 year old son for an early dinner after a long afternoon walk as he had to catch the train back to London.
He had the salmon pasta which was delicious and even he was full afterwards and couldn't fit in pudding
my husband and I had the lamb falt breads- -again delicious and so much we couldn't(quite) finish it all.
We had tea to drink- a large pit between the 3 of us with extra hot water-
good service- very attentive and food not too expensive

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromstalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic as usual”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Always pop in when we are in the lakes & never disappoints - had the lamb flatbread - a real show stopper! I passed on a flatbread when they were promoting them in Feb and it seems their marketing pics didn't do them justice! A great back up if none of the daily specials appeal to you

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Always a pleasure to eat here. Food and service excellent. Good choice and freshly cooked. Gets very busy but the pager service works well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank peapodSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Yummy elevenses”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have shopped here regularly and also visited the cafe regularly but have never thought to review it until now. As always it was great and we enjoyed all the breakfast/ elevenses we had, good value for money excellent quality highly recommended and you can have a go round the shop and be buzzed when your table is ready if necessary

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyjazzylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 1st Floor Cafe at Lakeland also viewed

 

Been to The 1st Floor Cafe at Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing