We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southview Guest House
Ranked #29 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is the first guest house we have stayed in as we normally go to a hotel. However, our premier room as nicer than most hotel rooms. Spotlessly clean with a lovely modern bathroom. Breakfast was excellent-again, a better choice than some hotels. Also much quieter than being in a hotel where people bang their doors morning and night - had a great sleep! The owners were very pleasant and the offer of a piece of carrot cake on arrival was a nice touch- yummy! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 773ChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at The Southview at The End Of September We Arrived By Train And Station Is Only 3mins Walk So The Location Is Great also There Is a Good Bus Service From Outside The Station To Other Central Lakes Any Of The Shops / Pubs / Cafe in Windermere Town Centre Are Only 5 Mins walk To The Guest House After We Checked Inn We Were Show Round And The Staff Were Very Nice The Room Was Nice And Clean and Comfortable The Swimming Pool Was a nice Bounus Also a Nice Patio For A Drink The Breakfast Was Very Good and barry made Us Feel Very Welcome The Southview Is On Quiet Cul De Sac So We Did Not Hear Any Traffic Noise At All Bowness Is a 25-30Min Walk Down The Main Road So The Southview Is A Great Place To Stay..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My partner and i recently stayed here for 3 nights . We had a lovely stay. The room was lovely,clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the nicest we have had in a long time but the best part was the lovely hosts Kate and Barry and their staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We would recommend Southview to anyone. We will definitely stop again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnalsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Me and partner have just had a three night stay in Southview, in a superior double room and I can honestly say that it was perfect. The room was lovely, wonderfully clean and really comfortable.
The place itself is in a good location as it's close to all main amenities, has great transport close by and is in a quiet cul-de-sac, away from road noise. It's also handy for some lovely eating places.
The staff are great at Southview too. We didn't get to meet Kate, but Barry is lovely, hugely welcoming and friendly. The daily breakfasts were awesome as well!
Overall, we both agreed we would definitely stay here again. Thank you Southview for making a lovely few days away even better!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redleg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights. We were in room 8, the king size four poster double. The room was lovely and spacious and for £282.00 was incredible value for money. We were made to feel very welcome, the breakfasts were lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The pool was a great way to round off a day and was only next door to us. Location wise - Bowness is a short walk down the road (20 minutes) and there are plenty of places to eat in the immediate vicinity. We would recommend the Applegarth (just round the corner), Jintana Thai restaurant and Fat Olives (both in Bowness.) Kate is a lovely hostess (Barry wasn't there when we visited.)

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely and spacious and right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was a first for my Husband and I as we have never stayed in a B&B before. It did feel as if we were staying at a friends house!
The room a Superior Double with power shower was lovely, décor excellent and impeccably clean at £99 per room per night including breakfast extremely good value for money!
It is in the centre of Windermere in an excellent location very close to shops restaurants and the railway station which is just around the corner.
The breakfast was delicious with a very varied menu and the staff are all helpful, cheerful and polite!
We enjoyed our stay and can certainly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wings1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The title says it all! 12 most enjoyable days in Windermere staying in one of the best guest houses ever! Our hosts Kate and Barry are such lovely people and instantly made us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble to them which made our stay very comfortable and relaxed, even down to fresh milk for our tea and coffee in our room each day! Our room on the second floor with jet shower (a new experience) was most comfortable and kept very clean at all times. A wonderful breakfast to set you up for the day with plenty of options on the menu and no complaints when we arrived for breakfast just before 9.30am! Great location for touring the South Lakes and very convenient for the centre of Windermere with excellent places to eat. Kate and Barry are very knowledgeable about the area with suggestions for places to visit on dry and wet days. A thoroughly enjoyable stay which went far too quickly! Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 107 in Windermere
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#24 of 107 in Windermere
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No.4 Guest House
No.4 Guest House
#57 of 107 in Windermere
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#25 of 107 in Windermere
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellerbrook House
Ellerbrook House
#48 of 107 in Windermere
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southview Guest House

Address: 27 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southview Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Windermere, Southview offers charming 4-star guest house accommodation and a heated indoor swimming pool. The railway station is a 3-minute walk away.Each en suite room is individually decorated, featuring an LCD TV and a DVD player. Superior rooms have an en suite spa bath or a body jet shower. The Bar/ Lounge is a relaxing place to enjoy a drink. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and speak fluent Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southview Guest House Hotel Windermere
Southview Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing