We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southview Guest House
Ranked #25 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“4th time”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Our 4th time at Southview and would just like to say the same excellent service, rooms and breakfast a home from home thanks once again Kate and Barry . This time we also took our friends and they all rated everything highly. A little gem in close proximity to everything in Windermere can't wait to go again!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    71
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
293
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband, 6 year old child and I visited here just after xmas 2013 for 2 nights and we were made very welcome. On arrival we all got a lovely slice of carrot cake each, and we also took advantage of the heated swimming pool which we had all to ourselves.
We had a superior room with en suite jet spa bath and underfloor heating which was very nice and the rooms were also lovely and warm.
We enjoyed the full English breakfasts and would definitely return to the Southview Guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

the hotel was clean, breakfast was standard continental breakfast, toast, cereal, and a traditional english breakfast. you have a choice of ordering haddock, salmon for breakfast but you have to order this the night before. i tried the haddock but was disappointed, wish i stayed with the traditional english breakfast. the hotel location was good, near most of the tourist attraction in windermere, we found that it was hidden though, so found it hard to locate it. the swimming pool was smaller than anticipated, so if you're a good swimmer you might not enjoy the swim, additionally the water was a bit cold so took a while to get in the water fully.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elswick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On arrival I was told the single room I had booked had a television that wasn't working and therefore I had been upgraded to a double room at no extra cost, this is what I would have expected in the circumstances but nevertheless this was a pleasant surprise. Barry carried my suitcase up to the first floor for me and showed me around the dining room, lounge, pool etc. He then offered me a slice of home-made carrot cake which he brought to my room, which was a lovely thought and was delicious. The room was pleasant, the bed comfortable with good quality and spotless white bed linen. The bathroom was exceptionally clean with towels, bath mat and toiletries supplied. The pool was lovely and I swam alone in the pool everyday of my stay. I hired a fluffy thick white gown and some slippers for £1 each to use for going from my room to the pool and back each day. Guest house is at the end of a little cul de sac so no traffic noise at all yet located in the heart of the village. Didn't see Kate at all but Barry and Jasmine were fantastic and couldn't do enough for me. Would definitely recommend and hopefully will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beggy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A lovely guest house, my first experience of a guest house rather than a hotel and the facilities were excellent, lovely welcome including home made cake. We had the jacuzzi bath which was a real treat. Modern , clean and comfy room. The pool was a little chilly for my husband but i had a quick dip. Amazing breakfast everything you could want on offer. Perfect location with lots of great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. A nice walk into Bowness just 1 mile and half, stop of at cocktail pub on the way back for a little treat !
We will go back to this guest house if we visit the lakes again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

after reading other reviews this guest house lived up to all its expectations.
the swimming pool was a real treat and the breakfast filled you up for the day ahead.
the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
we would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to friends and family.
parking your car no problem and very close to all pubs/shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights, our room was lovely, very clean and spacious and really warm, we had to open the windows and turn the radiator off, obviously no problem using the heating here which has been an issue in other guest houses. The bed was very comfy with good pillows, also really good quality heavy curtains which were great for blocking the morning daylight.
The breakfast was really good, a selection of cereals and fresh fruits also cooked breakfast were on offer, I can definitely recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon, everything was of excellent quality.
all in all a very welcome and cosy guest house and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: lovely indoor heated pool, great to unwind after a busy day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#20 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southview Guest House

Property: Southview Guest House
Address: 27 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southview Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Windermere, Southview offers charming 4-star guest house accommodation and a heated indoor swimming pool. The railway station is a 3-minute walk away.Each en suite room is individually decorated, featuring an LCD TV and a DVD player. Superior rooms have an en suite spa bath or a body jet shower. The Bar/ Lounge is a relaxing place to enjoy a drink. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and speak fluent Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Southview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southview Guest House Hotel Windermere
Southview Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing