We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southview Guest House
Ranked #28 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its not bad”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed in better for cheaper. Location pretty good 30 min walk to bowness. Its a lovely place to be Windermere but I won't be stayin here again, there plenty of room for improvement but each to their own I suppose.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviddev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthviewGuesthouse, Owner at Southview Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are very appreciative of the valuable service TripAdvisor provides both for the client and also for the useful feedback which helps us improve our service. However, it can at times pose a dilemma to the provider when a guest abuses the facilities on offer. The dilemma is whether to take the customer to task and risk a bad review.

In this case we felt that the customer did abuse our hospitality. While understandably accidents do happen, generally guests let us know so we can do something about it and more often than not we don’t charge for damage. However, these guests didn’t say anything and we passed the cleaning charges on to them and contacted them to tell them what we had done. As a result the guest is obviously unhappy about this as we received this mediocre review. This came as something of a surprise given how apparently happy the quests were on leaving.

On reflection, establishments such as ours entrust rooms to clients with the expectation that the guests will respect them and treat them as they would their own homes. We feel it is not unreasonable to charge for careless breakages and thoughtless damage done to the property even though you run the risk of a poor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    72
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
304
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Our 4th time at Southview and would just like to say the same excellent service, rooms and breakfast a home from home thanks once again Kate and Barry . This time we also took our friends and they all rated everything highly. A little gem in close proximity to everything in Windermere can't wait to go again!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband, 6 year old child and I visited here just after xmas 2013 for 2 nights and we were made very welcome. On arrival we all got a lovely slice of carrot cake each, and we also took advantage of the heated swimming pool which we had all to ourselves.
We had a superior room with en suite jet spa bath and underfloor heating which was very nice and the rooms were also lovely and warm.
We enjoyed the full English breakfasts and would definitely return to the Southview Guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

the hotel was clean, breakfast was standard continental breakfast, toast, cereal, and a traditional english breakfast. you have a choice of ordering haddock, salmon for breakfast but you have to order this the night before. i tried the haddock but was disappointed, wish i stayed with the traditional english breakfast. the hotel location was good, near most of the tourist attraction in windermere, we found that it was hidden though, so found it hard to locate it. the swimming pool was smaller than anticipated, so if you're a good swimmer you might not enjoy the swim, additionally the water was a bit cold so took a while to get in the water fully.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elswick, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On arrival I was told the single room I had booked had a television that wasn't working and therefore I had been upgraded to a double room at no extra cost, this is what I would have expected in the circumstances but nevertheless this was a pleasant surprise. Barry carried my suitcase up to the first floor for me and showed me around the dining room, lounge, pool etc. He then offered me a slice of home-made carrot cake which he brought to my room, which was a lovely thought and was delicious. The room was pleasant, the bed comfortable with good quality and spotless white bed linen. The bathroom was exceptionally clean with towels, bath mat and toiletries supplied. The pool was lovely and I swam alone in the pool everyday of my stay. I hired a fluffy thick white gown and some slippers for £1 each to use for going from my room to the pool and back each day. Guest house is at the end of a little cul de sac so no traffic noise at all yet located in the heart of the village. Didn't see Kate at all but Barry and Jasmine were fantastic and couldn't do enough for me. Would definitely recommend and hopefully will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beggy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A lovely guest house, my first experience of a guest house rather than a hotel and the facilities were excellent, lovely welcome including home made cake. We had the jacuzzi bath which was a real treat. Modern , clean and comfy room. The pool was a little chilly for my husband but i had a quick dip. Amazing breakfast everything you could want on offer. Perfect location with lots of great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. A nice walk into Bowness just 1 mile and half, stop of at cocktail pub on the way back for a little treat !
We will go back to this guest house if we visit the lakes again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

after reading other reviews this guest house lived up to all its expectations.
the swimming pool was a real treat and the breakfast filled you up for the day ahead.
the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
we would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to friends and family.
parking your car no problem and very close to all pubs/shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 108 in Windermere
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#41 of 108 in Windermere
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#31 of 108 in Windermere
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southview Guest House

Property: Southview Guest House
Address: 27 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southview Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Windermere, Southview offers charming 4-star guest house accommodation and a heated indoor swimming pool. The railway station is a 3-minute walk away.Each en suite room is individually decorated, featuring an LCD TV and a DVD player. Superior rooms have an en suite spa bath or a body jet shower. The Bar/ Lounge is a relaxing place to enjoy a drink. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and speak fluent Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southview Guest House Hotel Windermere
Southview Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing