We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Ranked #39 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Cannot fault our stay at Laurel Cottage. Alison and Wayne were great hosts. We took our small dog and they recommended places to eat and even said we could leave her in, if we wanted to eat without her and they would dog listen, which was not necessary, but thoughful. The bedroom was spotless and the tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, also a corkskrew, were welcome, even down to the chocolate kendal mintcake on the pillow, it was 5 star! Breakfast was excellent, so many choices. We really, really enjoyed it and will definetley stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
148
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The oweners were really really friendly and recommended good local restaraunts. The room was clean and very comforatable, WiFi worked straigh away, it was in a good loacation. The Breakfast was particulalry good!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimCullinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

had a brilliant stay at laurel cottage. Dorothy who was looking after the place was absolutely brilliant and couldn't help us enough. it was a nice short walk to the center which had plenty of restaurants. we stayed in room 3 which is the room with the four poster bed and it was so comfortable. outside our window you looked out the front to the park and then beyond that lovely mountains. the breakfast was really good with lots of different options. i would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: avoid the queens pub in windermere very rude staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We actually stayed at Laurel Cottage in August 2010. Apologies for taking so long to write this review, but we found this lovely Bed&Breakfast through Tripadvisor and were very happy throughout our entire stay, so we wanted to be sure to share our experience there. It's in a nice area, well situated. Wayne and Alison Ledger were very welcoming the moment we stepped through the door. They accommodated our vegetarian diet, and made delicious hot breakfasts with meat-free products. We stayed in the four-poster bed room with a mini lounge. The space was cosy, and the room, bed and bathroom were all clean. Maps were available and the owners were helpful with our questions about the area. We liked it so much, we knew we'd want to come back again. Our stay had ended and we continued to travel the Lake District. We had stayed at a resort which was fine, then we checked into a B&B at another location. We were so unhappy at that place that we called the Ledgers with an SOS to take us in. Thankfully, they had the green room available, and we were extremely happy to be back. It truly felt like we returned 'home'.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Laurel Cottage is a well renovated, charming Victorian property close to the centre of Windermere. There is easy, free street parking and good wireless internet access; the room we stayed in (four poster bed) was spacious and included a couch as well as a hospitality tray with a wide range of drink choices, chocolates on the pillow the first night, and great breakfasts. The home made muesli (granola) was wonderful, there was good selection of mini-boxed cereals and fresh fruit, both as prepared dishes and as whole pieces. The cooked breakfasts were superb and the proprietors warmly professional. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A lovely guest house that I shall definitely return to if I ever visit Windermere again. The owners Alison and Wayne are so friendly and helpful, and cook the most most magnificent breakfasts (my favourite being the Bacon Ciabatta with Chilli Jam!) Very well located, just a 10 minute walk from the station which was perfect since we were travelling by train. The guest house is also only a 20 minute walk to the lake, which is fine for those who like to walk! We had the room with the 4-poster bed. Such a cosy room, we've never felt so at home in a guest house!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My parents and me had a great time in Lake District with Laurel Cottage is tidy and clean. Breakfast was excellent, shower was strong enough and there was a refrigerator which we can use anytime on our floor. Especially, the owner, Wayne and Alison made our satisfaction. I am not a reviewer normally but why I am writing it is because we totally fell in love with them character gentle and good-hearted. We will definitely book the B&B next time again! My parents send their regards to you too. Thank you from Japan!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neworleansjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
It was lovely meeting you all , and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#43 of 108 in Windermere
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
#40 of 108 in Windermere
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#31 of 108 in Windermere
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage Windermere

Property: Laurel Cottage Windermere
Address: 8 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please consider contacting us direct for possible discounts. Laurel Cottage offers you a warm & friendly welcome to this beautiful Victorian guest house built in the 1890s from local stone which has been sympathetically renovated & modernised for your comfort, yet has retained all its character & original features. It is peacefully situated just three minutes' walk from Windermere village centre & all its amenities. There are 5 comfortable en-suite rooms with TV, DVD and WiFi access. There is a guest fridge on the top floor for drink and food. WE DO ACCEPT DOGS IN ROOMS 1 and 2. Please contact us re your pets before booking, thank you. CONTACT US DIRECT should you wish to book or want to know any offers or further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Laurel Cottage Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Windermere Hotel Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing