We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 delightful days at Laurel Cottage, Windermere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Ranked #38 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Laurel Cottage. Our room was comfortable and clean with lots of light. Great breakfasts, freshly prepared, the home made muesli was very tasty. The owners, Alison and Wayne are friendly and welcoming with helpful tips of places to visit. Great location, close to the centre of Windermere 5-10 minutes walk and 20 minutes walk to Bowness. We highly recommend staying here.
Maria & Pasquale
Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

bed was super comfortable, all the linen in the room was clean, warm and fresh. Owners were very helpful, polite and nothing was too much trouble.
breakfast was good, with choice of cooked English or choice from a specials board which changed daily.
Some home made products including granola, yoghurt and cakes were excellent.
only negatives. bathroom shower had no slip mat and was tiny.
other than that a fantastic place to stay, where you will be welcomed and made to feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely things you said about us, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
The shower is the standard size before going to a double shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This year, me and my wife stayed once again at the Laurel Cottage. Alison and Wayne are lovely hosts, that really make you feel comfortable and at home. The location is great, overlooking the park, in a nice and quiet neighborhood and a 5 min. from Winderemere main street. Next to the standard full English breakfast, they also offer tasty daily specials. This year I have discovered the chili jam, which I regrettably did not take home... The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They are cleaned nicely everyday and the home made cookies left each day are a nice personal touch. The beds are excellent and we always had a good night sleep.

Since three years we visit the lakes each year and have stayed at Laurel cottage ever since. Next year we plan to stay there again. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanMoorsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at Laurel Cottage and can not recommend this place enough! The owners made us feel extremely welcome and everything had been thought of - a fridge to use, wine glasses in the room, a bottle opener, proper sized mugs and delicious biscuits. Breakfast was tasty, including homemade muesli and cake! There is also a breakfast special each day - the eggs Benedict with crispy bacon was scrummy! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

defiantly put this on the places to return list if at Windermere.well located 2 mins to Windermere and 20 minute slow stroll to bowness.lovely big comfy bed good hospitality tray .excellent hosts fabulous breakfast fantastic home made yes home made granola ! Everyday theres a specia,l eggs Benedict was yummy .

Room Tip: We had room 2 overlooking garden and little stream super comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAWN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of May 14. We took our little dog with us too and we were all warmly welcomed. The room was very clean with a lovely view out over a stream. The hosts Wayne and Ali were very welcoming, lending us guide books and a rucksack for our walks. The breakfasts each morning were absolutely amazing, lovely fresh food and the bacon rolls were to die for with chilli jam on the side. Lots of homemade breakfast goodies too. The location is very close to windermere town centre with Bowness only 1 mile away. Great stay, thank you for a lovely time

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sburness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, it is a great location and a lovely area. We feel we are in a great location, lovely garden overlooking the stream and the park. The chilli Jam is sweet and spicy, I eat lots of it as often as possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at laurel cottage for two nights. Booked it based on previous reviews. The owners were very nice with a warm welcome. The family home was clean and tidy and well looked after. The room was at the back of the house and again clean. Enjoyed the breakfast which had a good choice of foods. I was a bit disappointed with the location opposite a childrens playground and near a less nice area of Windermere. We were also woke very early both mornings by a nearby Cockerell. I think overall laurel cottage was average.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pwbhKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are happy you enjoyed our home and food.
we are sorry you feel the way you do about our location,
The property is situated opposite Queens Park which is the largest park in the area, it has the children's play area, picnic area, cricket, football pitches and bowling green it is a lovely part of windermere, we much prefer to see the green of the grass than look at other properties. Windermere is a small village in a rural community. We are close to the centre and not far from the lake, its a lovely quiet location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#23 of 107 in Windermere
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#32 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ellerthwaite Lodge
#51 of 107 in Windermere
341 reviews
1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#28 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage Windermere

Address: 8 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please consider contacting us direct for possible discounts. Laurel Cottage offers you a warm & friendly welcome to this beautiful Victorian guest house built in the 1890s from local stone which has been sympathetically renovated & modernised for your comfort, yet has retained all its character & original features. It is peacefully situated just three minutes' walk from Windermere village centre & all its amenities. There are 5 comfortable en-suite rooms with TV, DVD and WiFi access. There is a guest fridge on the top floor for drink and food. WE DO ACCEPT DOGS IN ROOMS 1 and 2. Please contact us re your pets before booking, thank you. CONTACT US DIRECT should you wish to book or want to know any offers or further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laurel Cottage Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Windermere Hotel Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing