We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #11 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We didn't stay there but we stopped in the car park when our son had been travel sick. A nice man came out and offered his help. He let use the toilet and gave us a bottle of water.
This is our way of saying thank you. Very friendly people indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Woko27, I'm really pleased we were able to help, I've got kids and know what it can be like when you have a little drama! Really appreciate you taking the time to post a review - unexpected but very much appreciated! If you ever manage to get a break without the kids we can hopefully offer you some sanctuary as we are child free! All the best, and thanks again, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for The Willowsmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

My fiancé and I enjoyed a 3 might stay here for my birthday and it was a wonderful place to stay. We were in room 6, which is apparently their biggest room. Lovely queen size bed, nicely decorated and the bathroom was stunning - a massive Victorian style bath with a huge overhead shower. Everything you could think of was supplied - the usual tea/coffee but also hot chocolate and fruit teas, along with big bottles of shower gel, shampoo and hand soap, with cotton wool and buds - they've thought of pretty much everything. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were all very friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area. Anthony had organised a beautiful bouquet of flowers for the room and they were not only beautiful but colour matched the décor of the room perfectly. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I'd highly recommend this b&b to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 6 is their biggest room, with a queen size bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Sue, many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay with us, I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here and appreciated the little touches we add to help make a stay at The Willowsmere even more special! We certainly hope to see you back here, and appreciate you recommending us to the TripAdvisor community! All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Willowsmere. This well positioned guest house has to be one of the best we've staid in over the years. Following our arrival we were provided with a complementary pot of filtered coffee and given recommendations on where to eat and visit - which all proved worthwhile. Our two rooms were exquisite - spacious, very clean, well equipped and beautifully furnished. The recently renovated bathrooms, which provided complementary Cole & Lewis toiletries, were a godsend following a long day of trecking in the rain. The hearty breakfast and choice available was more than we expected, well presented and served with a smile and chat. We would highly recommend a stay at the Willowsmere and look forward to staying again (in a 4-poster bedroom next time!).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello Sharon G, thank you so much for posting such a lovely review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much! It's always great to hear people appreciate the efforts we make to help our guests make the most of their time in the Lake District. Really pleased you also mentioned your new bathroom, after renovating 10 bathrooms in the last year I love to hear them being complimented! All the best, and hope to see you back here before too long, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent b&b. Fantastic Service. Breakfast delicious. Staff always happy to help. Beds extremely comfy. Bathroom immaculate. Recommended restaurants great value for money & tasty food e.g The Village Inn. Incredible stay with great advice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Sophie H, thanks so much for posting a review - increasingly important in this business so very much appreciated. I'm obviously delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and feel able to recommend us to the TripAdvisor community! Thanks again, and hope to see you back here soon. All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well so much to say, my husband and myself are just home from a 3 night stay in willowsmere.
The stay was great,our room was lovely and the bathroom:WOW!!!!! Had 3 of the best nights sleep we've had in a while in our very comfy 4 poster bed.
All staff were so friendly and helpful,ready to give advice on things to do and places to eat.
We would highly reccomend this guest house!! Rebekah and Allan

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Rebekah and Allan, WOW! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with so much! Particularly great to hear you loved the bathroom as we have put a lot of effort into them over the winter with 10 bathrooms now replaced - great to know they are appreciated! Really pleased you slept well, we use the same mattresses as the Queen apparently! Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - much appreciated! Hope to see you back here before too long. All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned today after a 3 night stay at the Willowsmere.

Me and my boyfriend stayed in a cosy double room and it was fantastic.

Anthony was there to greet us on arrival and showed us some walks we might like to do and recommended some places to eat. I would definitely recommend the village Inn in Bowness, very busy but their beef hanging kebab was out of this world!

You can tell Anthony puts his heart into running an outstanding business and really cares about making people have a great stay here.

Couldn't fault the room - bathroom and bedroom amazing, really clean bathroom, Fantastic shower, really comfy bed.

As you'll see by many other comments here the breakfasts are just great as well. Really accommodating.

Me and my boyfriend had the packed lunch service as well which we'd really recommend. Really welcomed half way round a 12 mile bike ride through Grizedale forest!!!

Basically our stay was faultless and would definitely find a reason to come back here again.

Thank you so much

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Louisesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Louisesham and thanks for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated! I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay here. You are right that I am passionate about helping our guests enjoy their stay in The Lakes as much as possible, and in particular find The Willowsmere to be the perfect base. It's great to get feedback suggesting we are succeeding and we'll continue to explore ways we can continue to raise the bar and exceed expectations. Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you back here in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay, can highly recommend this hotel the rooms are very clean with beautiful new bathrooms and have comfortable beds. The owners are very friendly and have great knowledge of the Lake District. Finally the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovemypennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Anthony M, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here and feel able to recommend us to the TripAdvisor community. Reviews are obviously very important to both guests and accommodation owners so we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. All the very best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willowsmere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing