We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #7 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really nice place, very well maintained and presented. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, from the manage to the cleaner (thank you for the extra pillows!) Bathroom was a particular highlight, fantastic water pressure! Food was great and lots of nice little touches throughout.

However... We did feel slightly let down by the four poster bed. It lacked any any sort of 'grandeur' and was basically just a frame that blocked the view of the TV!, unlike the pictures we'd seen. Slightly disappointing, but overall a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Mark F, firstly many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - as always I'm particularly pleased to liked the new bathroom and the breakfasts. Sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your four poster bed. We have 3 four poster rooms, 2 of which have all the curtains etc and 1 doesn't. I actually prefer the room you had but if you'd have mentioned this to us we'd have tried our best to move you to another room. As for comments about the TV, fair point, we have moved the TV now so that issue is sorted! Thanks again, and hope to see you back here sometime. Cheers, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
214
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I took my partner to the Willowsmere for a 3 night mini-break at the start of the school Easter holidays (2014). Both of us were delighted, and would definitely visit again. The hotel setting was lovely, the included full English breakfast was plentiful, the new bathrooms were fantastic with limitless hot water and best of all the staff were welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonScaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi JonScaife, many thanks for taking the time to post a review, really appreciated! We're all delighted by your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with so much. I'm particularly pleased by your comments on the bathrooms, they've been the subject of a lot of investment with 10 replaced in the last year. All our double, King/twin and four poster rooms now have new bathrooms with full baths with showers over (except our disabled room which has a full wet room with shower) which is quite a rarity these days as many places only have showers. So it is good to know they are appreciated! Thanks again and hope to see you back here at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by the charming owner and a large pot of coffee, just what we needed after a long journey! We were provided with boundless amounts of information about the local area and numerous recommendations for local restaurants.

Our room was beautiful, little carafes of brandy and orange squash were a beautiful touch as was the Kendal mint cake! The newly renovated bathroom was the epitome of luxury, the roll top bath was perfect after a soggy day exploring the Lakes!

Breakfast was delicious, a full cooked breakfast and fresh coffee, all served by incredibly charming and helpful staff.

This was our first visit to The Willosmere, and the Lake District, and we are already planning our next visit. The room was glorious, breakfast was faultless and the staff were fantastic, helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Room 12, four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Dave, many thanks for taking the time to post a review - especially such a lovely one!! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much - I particularly appreciate your comments on the bathroom as we have invested such a lot of effort renovating 10 bathrooms in the last year, with all our four poster rooms getting the full treatment!

I'm also glad you enjoyed the little extras we include, the small carafes in our four poster rooms are in fact sherry and they seem to go down very well! I'm also really pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts, we certainly do not cut costs in anyway, using only the finest local ingredients and taking great pride in cooking them and presenting them well and serving them with a smile.

It's great that your first experience of The Lake District has been such a positive one, I hope you'll enjoy many more, hopefully at The Willowsmere!

All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband, adult son and I spent 3 nights at The Willowsmere and have nothing but praise for everything about it. Our rooms were spacious and immaculately clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious every day. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. We shall definitely return to this fabulous guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CICreswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi CICreswell, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with so much and found everything to your liking. We certainly enjoyed your company - it's one of the perks of this line of work, you get to meet lovely people along the way! Look forward to seeing you again and some point! All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We didn't stay there but we stopped in the car park when our son had been travel sick. A nice man came out and offered his help. He let use the toilet and gave us a bottle of water.
This is our way of saying thank you. Very friendly people indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Woko27, I'm really pleased we were able to help, I've got kids and know what it can be like when you have a little drama! Really appreciate you taking the time to post a review - unexpected but very much appreciated! If you ever manage to get a break without the kids we can hopefully offer you some sanctuary as we are child free! All the best, and thanks again, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My fiancé and I enjoyed a 3 might stay here for my birthday and it was a wonderful place to stay. We were in room 6, which is apparently their biggest room. Lovely queen size bed, nicely decorated and the bathroom was stunning - a massive Victorian style bath with a huge overhead shower. Everything you could think of was supplied - the usual tea/coffee but also hot chocolate and fruit teas, along with big bottles of shower gel, shampoo and hand soap, with cotton wool and buds - they've thought of pretty much everything. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were all very friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area. Anthony had organised a beautiful bouquet of flowers for the room and they were not only beautiful but colour matched the décor of the room perfectly. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I'd highly recommend this b&b to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 6 is their biggest room, with a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Sue, many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay with us, I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here and appreciated the little touches we add to help make a stay at The Willowsmere even more special! We certainly hope to see you back here, and appreciate you recommending us to the TripAdvisor community! All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Willowsmere. This well positioned guest house has to be one of the best we've staid in over the years. Following our arrival we were provided with a complementary pot of filtered coffee and given recommendations on where to eat and visit - which all proved worthwhile. Our two rooms were exquisite - spacious, very clean, well equipped and beautifully furnished. The recently renovated bathrooms, which provided complementary Cole & Lewis toiletries, were a godsend following a long day of trecking in the rain. The hearty breakfast and choice available was more than we expected, well presented and served with a smile and chat. We would highly recommend a stay at the Willowsmere and look forward to staying again (in a 4-poster bedroom next time!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello Sharon G, thank you so much for posting such a lovely review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much! It's always great to hear people appreciate the efforts we make to help our guests make the most of their time in the Lake District. Really pleased you also mentioned your new bathroom, after renovating 10 bathrooms in the last year I love to hear them being complimented! All the best, and hope to see you back here before too long, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Property: The Willowsmere
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willowsmere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing