We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mick and Betty G”
Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #8 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Mick and Betty G”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Willowsmere and could find no fault. Room was immaculate, bathroom was superb and breakfast top-notch. If/when we go to Windermere again it's a no-brainer for where to stay..! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Mick - lovely to hear feedback like this! Obviously we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with so much - look forward to seeing you back here, hopefully in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    45
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
218
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend booked a 4 night stay at the Willowsmere and overall it was the perfect choice. We were met by Jay, who was extremely welcoming and helpful and helped us plan our week to make sure we made the most out of our short stay. We stayed in a 'cosy room' which for two 19 year olds was perfect! The bathroom was fab with a spacious bath and plenty of hot water. Comfy beds and really airy room for its size!! Breakfast was amazing, and we learnt that the menu is just a guideline, they're more than happy to rearrange things for you and make sure you get exactly what you want! The gardens are lovely and really well kept, as is the whole building. It really makes a difference staying in a place where the management are friendly and helpful- gives the place a real homely feel. The location is fabulous with just a 5/10 minute stoll to the centre of Windermere, and a 30 minute walk up to Orrest Head where you can look over all the mountains and all of Windermere lake (another fab suggestion from Jay!). We will definitely be going again! Thank you so much Jay and Anthony!!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a place just to rest your head, and not a room that you will spend lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayeWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Fayewatson, I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with so much! It's always great to get feedback that our efforts are appreciated, we know the area really well so we try to help all our guests make the most of their time in this beautiful area. Thanks again for sharing your feedback. Hope to see you back here at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our long-anticipated stay in Windermere was only overnight but Willowsmere was a great choice for the occasion. The location is easy to find on the western outskirts of town and parking is easy and plentiful. The Lake is not far by car, but more than walking distance. An excellent cup of tea & coffee while we checked-in was very welcome and appreciated. The 4-poster room & bed were very comfortable in spite of not being particularly 'spacious' because of the age & design of the house. The balancing factor was the 'stately home' atmosphere. All necessary amenities were present and the little carafe of dry sherry was a delightful and delicious surprise. The bathroom was indeed luxurious with a good shower in good order, strong flushing toilet and excellent towel-drying facility. Breakfast was well cooked to customer requirement and service was attentive and friendly. The whole experience of Willowsmere is one we would happily repeat. It was excellent value for money and the only improvements I could suggest would be a little more surface area in the bathroom for my array of bottles & jars, and a chair for sitting at the desk (although I realise space is an issue).

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs other than the Disabled Room so ask for information about what's best ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Myra W, many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your recent stay at The Willowsmere - It's lovely to see a headline saying "sheer delight"!! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. For the benefit of other readers we are about a 10 min walk to Lake Windermere, 10 min to Windermere town centre and 30 min to Bowness. Thanks again Myra, hope to see you here again at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

fantastic place very friendly we where met by one of the owners at the door who was very helpful my son booked this for us and we had a great week end the rooms where very clean bath room very good fantastic breakfast after a good nights sleep would stay at the willowsmere again good hotel great staff hope to come back again soon thank you

Room Tip: the rooms are all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi refgerry, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor, much appreciated! Hope to see you back here before too long. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really nice place, very well maintained and presented. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, from the manage to the cleaner (thank you for the extra pillows!) Bathroom was a particular highlight, fantastic water pressure! Food was great and lots of nice little touches throughout.

However... We did feel slightly let down by the four poster bed. It lacked any any sort of 'grandeur' and was basically just a frame that blocked the view of the TV!, unlike the pictures we'd seen. Slightly disappointing, but overall a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Mark F, firstly many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - as always I'm particularly pleased to liked the new bathroom and the breakfasts. Sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your four poster bed. We have 3 four poster rooms, 2 of which have all the curtains etc and 1 doesn't. I actually prefer the room you had but if you'd have mentioned this to us we'd have tried our best to move you to another room. As for comments about the TV, fair point, we have moved the TV now so that issue is sorted! Thanks again, and hope to see you back here sometime. Cheers, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I took my partner to the Willowsmere for a 3 night mini-break at the start of the school Easter holidays (2014). Both of us were delighted, and would definitely visit again. The hotel setting was lovely, the included full English breakfast was plentiful, the new bathrooms were fantastic with limitless hot water and best of all the staff were welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonScaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi JonScaife, many thanks for taking the time to post a review, really appreciated! We're all delighted by your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with so much. I'm particularly pleased by your comments on the bathrooms, they've been the subject of a lot of investment with 10 replaced in the last year. All our double, King/twin and four poster rooms now have new bathrooms with full baths with showers over (except our disabled room which has a full wet room with shower) which is quite a rarity these days as many places only have showers. So it is good to know they are appreciated! Thanks again and hope to see you back here at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by the charming owner and a large pot of coffee, just what we needed after a long journey! We were provided with boundless amounts of information about the local area and numerous recommendations for local restaurants.

Our room was beautiful, little carafes of brandy and orange squash were a beautiful touch as was the Kendal mint cake! The newly renovated bathroom was the epitome of luxury, the roll top bath was perfect after a soggy day exploring the Lakes!

Breakfast was delicious, a full cooked breakfast and fresh coffee, all served by incredibly charming and helpful staff.

This was our first visit to The Willosmere, and the Lake District, and we are already planning our next visit. The room was glorious, breakfast was faultless and the staff were fantastic, helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Room 12, four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Dave, many thanks for taking the time to post a review - especially such a lovely one!! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much - I particularly appreciate your comments on the bathroom as we have invested such a lot of effort renovating 10 bathrooms in the last year, with all our four poster rooms getting the full treatment!

I'm also glad you enjoyed the little extras we include, the small carafes in our four poster rooms are in fact sherry and they seem to go down very well! I'm also really pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts, we certainly do not cut costs in anyway, using only the finest local ingredients and taking great pride in cooking them and presenting them well and serving them with a smile.

It's great that your first experience of The Lake District has been such a positive one, I hope you'll enjoy many more, hopefully at The Willowsmere!

All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Property: The Willowsmere
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willowsmere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing