We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of Orrest Head

Orrest Head
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Defiantly worth a visit. Not that far from Windermere village and the views are fantastic. Whole walk took us around 1/2 hour to get to Orrest head, then we continued on to Ambleside for another hour. Paths are Tarmac so very easy to walk along, although fairly steep in places.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    219
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous walk for first-timer; amazing views”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We did this walk with our 7 and 4 year old and it was super. Easy to park in Windermere and to find the route. We went up the 'left side' through the woods and then back down the road which I think was best as it meant you didn't get the full view until you got to the top which made it extra special. A bit of a scramble in places and 4 year old had to be bribed with promise of flapjack at the top, but a spectacular view when you get there and enough of a 'proper' walk to make us glad to get our boots back on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“short walk”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

well marked paths quite steep in parts great views from the top there is parking in the town centre 2 hours free but limit to number of spaces.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ERasy walk for great views.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Twenty minutes walk from opposite the Nat West Bank and you are on the summit of Orrest Head. Orrest was a Viking warrior and allegedly a battle took place in this area over a thosand years ago and Orrest was the winner. 264 ms above sea level and on a clear day it affords some of the best views the Lake District can offer. 360 degrees of views. Believe me, I have been going up it for 40 years with a succession of dogs. My present one is Poppy, my Jack Russell, 9 years old. If you see me up there, speak to me. I would love to meet you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat997P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good trecking”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Climb to Orrest Head is well worth. The climate was cool and fresh, and it was thrilling to climb through that winding paths and roads, mingling with nature

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orrest Head also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Orrest Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing