We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend!”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #14 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Visited Windermere for the first time and stayed at the Howbeck after reading great reviews here on tripadvisor, I must say we could not fault the Howbeck. When we got there we felt like we wanted a little more comfort so we upgraded to The Retreat, and what a treat it was. It has its own private entrance, lovely decorated room and a spa bathroom to die for. The breakfast is brought to you in a morning time to suit you which is excellent and sets you up for the day. All in all we had a great two days at the Howbeck and in Winderemere which is a lovely place, lots to do and great for a relaxing break. Well done to the Howbeck for a great stay, we willbe returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs N Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear guests, it's wonderful to read how pleased you were after upgrading to our luxury suite, 'The Retreat'. It's always worth asking on arrival about the cost of upgrading as we have some bargain rates often available (depending on availability). We're more than pleased to see that you plan to return, and remind guests to mention when booking that they are return visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    128
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
732
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have stayed at the Howbeck once before and knew we'd return at some point. The room is so lovely and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing. Staff are very welcoming. We went for a spa day and a meal at the Holbeck Ghyll (would definately recommend). A 2 minute walk to some delicious restaurants in windemere and 15minute walk down into Bowness for pubs/restaurants/attractions. We will definately be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear guests, many thanks for reviewing your second stay with us. We are all so pleased to read how much you enjoyed yourselves, and we hope to welcome you back for a third stay in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Howbeck is well presented, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food is excellent. Rooms are a good size, and very clean. Will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear guests,
We would like to thankyou for publishing such a fabulous review. We greatly appreciate that you have shared your experience of our guesthouse on tripadvisor, and hope it encourages others to visit us too. We hope you will return in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Excellent hotel, the best quality: peaceful, quiet and a lovely team to make any stay enjoyable. The suites very comfortable and you have a varied breakfast where you can choose in a big variety of offers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicidad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guests, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Howbeck, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write your review. To see that you have rated us 5/5 across the board is wonderful to see, and your comments will be passed on to all of the team. We hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silecroft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Howbeck for one night whilst attending a wedding reception at another hotel in the Windermere area. We were lucky to be able to book for one night due to the two night rule, so we were very pleased. On arrival we enjoyed the lovely floral displays the front of the hotel. We were greeted by very friendly and knowledgeable staff and enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee whilst we checked in. We stayed in room Kilnhow which was perfectly adequate for the one night but was a little on the small side. The most disappointing aspect of the room was the bathroom, this looked a little tired and in need of refurbishment. The fancy full length shower was a bit gimmicky and we were really disappointed with the standard of the shower cubicle, the shower tray trim and tile grouting were badly discouloured in places - not what we expect for this standard of hotel! On the other hand the breakfast was beautiful, lovely fresh fruit to start and a hearty english breakfast which was well cooked without all the grease!!

We have also stayed at the sister hotel Windermere Suites and we would certainely stay at either hotel again, but not in the Kilnhow room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_goodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear guests. We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at The Howbeck. We are especially pleased to see that the service received deserved a 5/5! We are however very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the bathroom in your room. I have thoroughly investigated this, and all cleaning staff have been made aware of the issue so that this does not happen again. We apologise for any discomfort caused, and are glad to hear that it would not put you off visiting us again. Kind regards from all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Had a fabulous romantic weekend here. Gorgeous room with four-poster bed & spa bath. Breakfast was lovely. Ideal location for exploring Windermere & Bowness. Lots of very good local restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Wouldn't hesitate at thinking of coming back. Thank you.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rth32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guests, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Howbeck, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write your review. To see that you have rated us 5/5 across the board is wonderful to see, and your comments will be passed on to all of the team. We hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Howbeck suprised us on arrival with its vivid display of hanging baskets and window boxes filled with overflowing colour.
A friendly welcome and a short tour of the hotel highlighted the bright and cheery breakfast room (and our own table in the huge bay window). Our beautifully decorated room, although a little on the small side, contained a very comfortable, 4-poster bed that beckoned and the bathroom with spa bath was luxurious and ultra-modern.
Service throughout our stay was helpful and discrete - staff were very knowledgeable about local attractions, restaurants and advice on how to make best use of our few days in the Lakes District.
The Howbeck is just a 1 minute walk to the centre of Windermere and ideally located to access the major attractions in the vicinity whether walking or driving and the whole area is just beautiful.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Glendinning room is a little small but still very comfortable. Many other rooms are larger and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear guests,
We were so pleased to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to post this on Tripadvisor. We're are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope you will find the time to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing