We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #12 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The Lingmell room is perfect, ground floor, spacious, airy, lovely decor and so clean. Excellent helpfull staff throughout our two night stay. Gorgeous food for our evening meal, so good we booked in for both nights. Breakfast equally as good. Ladies and gents that looked after us for the two days were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. Two minutes stroll to Windermere centre and 10 minutes walk to Bowness. Excellent central location. I would recommend this hotel to all!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    127
    53
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
727
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and i stayed for one night in this attractive guest house, very nice building which has been decorated beautifully. we had a deal from living social and his was great value. it included breakfast , three course evening meal and wine and small box of chocs in the room. It is only a small room but fine for one or two nights stay. ( décor was nice) the staff were very good ,helpful and friendly.the meal in the evening was very nice , I had the pork joint and my husband had fish pie both lovely, came with new potatoes and fresh veg. breakfast was very nice , porridge was delicious ( probably the nicest Ive had in a hotel) I would recommend this place it is about a 20 min slow stroll to lake Windermere,There is parking to the back of the building which is great .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma Mallorca
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This's is a lovely place to stay, good room perfectly clean, resturant excellent close to all amenities . Have stayed here before but a few years ago, and still maintains it's standards would recommend booking this hotel.
The leisure complex down the road is worth a visit and the reception arranged this for us.

Room Tip: Try booking The Retreat if it is within your budget, large and private suite with super bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirefred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night at The Howbeck on 30th May. We booked the Meregill room which was lovely. Really comfy four poster bed and a great spa bath. The room was really clean with a decanter of sherry to welcome us. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We will certainly be staying at The Howbeck again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this break through Secret Escapes.
It was advertised as a hotel and spa.
The Howbeck list theirselves as a guest house not a hotel and the spa is a twenty minute walk wary.
I tried to book a table for dinner 24 hours before arriving but the restaurant was fully booked according to the manager so we had to eat out,good choice as there are plenty of places to eat in the nearby towns.
On returning the restaurant was almost empty.
Apart from this the room is modern, clean and stylish but as we are only sleeping here it is almost immaterial.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We purchased a nights stay through a deal website. This included complementary tea and coffee on arrival, a nice bottle of white wine, a small box of chocolates and a two course meal.
We stayed in the Lingmell super kingsize room with en suite. This was a lovely big room just off the main entrance to the B&B. My only problem with the room is that the quilt cover was not a super king size so the quilt cover was far too big. The room was well decorated, quite and clean although there was some mould marks beginning to appear above the shower.
The meal at night was pleasant and the breakfast was plentlyful.
I would recommend staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We only stayed one night in the Howbeck, having seen it in passing many times on previous visits to the Lake District. We were on our way back from Centerparcs in Whinfell Forest and booked a night for relaxation before the journey back to Scotland. Check in was by a very pleasant young lady, who was most helpful. She took us to our suite, showed us all the controls for the whacky bathroom lights & spa bath (which was great fun). This was only for one night, the room was lavishly decked out in silver & black, the bed comfortable and you choose your breakfast the night before, and it's brought to you at a time of your choosing. Only thing I would have wanted was a DVD player, as there was none. Still enjoyed it though, but it is a bit expensive, however we all deserve a wee treat now and then!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing