We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #28 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a 2 night break and had a great time. The location is great, being only a few minutes walk from the town of Windermere which has some lovely restaurants and a decent pub, and a 3 minute drive to the lovely Bowness on Windermere.

We stayed in the Glenridding room and it was fine, and the bathroom was awesome with a Jacuzzi styled bath

On the first night we had a 3 course meal in the hotel which was very nice, and also had breakfasts on both mornings which was spot on.

Every member of staff we came across were lovely and couldn't do enough for you.

All in all a great stay at the Howbeck, in a lovely corner of England. Lake windermere is just beautiful, especially when the sun is shining. Can't wait to visit the Lake district again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan_swfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here again this week and had a wonderful two days. We stayed in Lingmell which is at the front of the hotel. We where a little concerned about road noise however we had a great nights sleep as it is double glazed. Room is large and bright with nice decor

Breakfast is a must if staying here, my partner had eggs Benedict and said they where the best he had ever tasted. I opted for a healthy breakfast granola with fresh fruits and yogurt

We dined one evening and the food was well prepared and tasty. Good home cooking so not gastro but non the less very good value for three courses at £19

The second night we ate at the hotels other restaurant in bowness which I have reviewed

All in all a very good 5 star guest house, clean and great service with a smile and will return later in the year when we are attending a friends wedding

Thank you the Howbeck team

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank margo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Lingmell room is perfect, ground floor, spacious, airy, lovely decor and so clean. Excellent helpfull staff throughout our two night stay. Gorgeous food for our evening meal, so good we booked in for both nights. Breakfast equally as good. Ladies and gents that looked after us for the two days were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. Two minutes stroll to Windermere centre and 10 minutes walk to Bowness. Excellent central location. I would recommend this hotel to all!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and i stayed for one night in this attractive guest house, very nice building which has been decorated beautifully. we had a deal from living social and his was great value. it included breakfast , three course evening meal and wine and small box of chocs in the room. It is only a small room but fine for one or two nights stay. ( décor was nice) the staff were very good ,helpful and friendly.the meal in the evening was very nice , I had the pork joint and my husband had fish pie both lovely, came with new potatoes and fresh veg. breakfast was very nice , porridge was delicious ( probably the nicest Ive had in a hotel) I would recommend this place it is about a 20 min slow stroll to lake Windermere,There is parking to the back of the building which is great .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This's is a lovely place to stay, good room perfectly clean, resturant excellent close to all amenities . Have stayed here before but a few years ago, and still maintains it's standards would recommend booking this hotel.
The leisure complex down the road is worth a visit and the reception arranged this for us.

Room Tip: Try booking The Retreat if it is within your budget, large and private suite with super bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshirefred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night at The Howbeck on 30th May. We booked the Meregill room which was lovely. Really comfy four poster bed and a great spa bath. The room was really clean with a decanter of sherry to welcome us. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We will certainly be staying at The Howbeck again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this break through Secret Escapes.
It was advertised as a hotel and spa.
The Howbeck list theirselves as a guest house not a hotel and the spa is a twenty minute walk wary.
I tried to book a table for dinner 24 hours before arriving but the restaurant was fully booked according to the manager so we had to eat out,good choice as there are plenty of places to eat in the nearby towns.
On returning the restaurant was almost empty.
Apart from this the room is modern, clean and stylish but as we are only sleeping here it is almost immaterial.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#35 of 107 in Windermere
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £105 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing