We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Glenburn. We love the hotel, location and the food. After check in we had complimentary homemade scones and coffee in the lounge which I thought was a lovley touch. The staff and owners are friendly and very attentive. Good choice for dinner. We couldn't fault the food I had poached salmon and my partner had sirloin steak cooked to perfection. We both had homemade sticky toffee pudding for dessert. There is a comfy lounge and bar to chill out after dinner. This is a nice traditional English lakes hotel and is just a lovely place to stay. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFC073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    188
    35
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
346
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hotel was average and not worth the price. Booked Dinner, Bed and breakfast but wish id have booked room only. Evening Meal was very basic and bland more like supermarket food that had been heated. Room was nice however bed was extremely uncomfortable and hotel had a musky smell to it. Have stayed in nicer bed and breakfasts if im honest.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you for this review. The beds were all renewed in 2010 and are of high standard and quality but I am sorry you found them uncomfortable. The food is freshly prepared by myself and my chef Marcin everyday with only the best fresh local produce and we have gained an excellent and enviable reputation for good home cooked food. I admit we are not michelin star and we don't create masterpieces on the plate but the food we serve is consistant and delicious and I am disapointed to hear these comments as it is rare to have a complaint of this nature. If our guests don't air their views at the time then it is very difficult for us to put things right. We do our best to keep the hotel spotlessly clean and aired. We have wall mounted industrial air fresheners on each floor to keep away any lingering odours. Had I experienced such a disapointing stay myself I would not have left the hotel without airing my views to the management or in the visitors comments book on the way out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The Glenburn Hotel, we stayed for 3 nights starting on a friday. turning up at 1430hrs to a warm welcome and a quick explanation of diner times etc was nice. We like our weekends away and tend to have a long weekend every couple of months, so we've had experience of the good; bad; and the ugly. The Glenburn falls into the good catagory for us overall.
The good points? location was good, the hotel is on the way out of town heading south. The food and service were good. There is on site parking. The hotel is very clean and tidy. And the hotel is licensed so an evening drink with diner or in the lounge is handy, there is only 1 draft lager and 1 draft beer but the spirits are well stocked and there is also a reasonable wine list. The staff are very attentive, keen to be helpfull and very hard working. Perhaps sometimes a little too attentive, on several occasions over breakfast and diner my plate was whipped away while i was still chewing my last mouthfull. But overall, very good. Certainly a very high standard of service. The food was well prepared and presented, i asked for a medium rare steak and got a medium rare steak, and it was a very good piece of meat too. I can highly reccommend the Thia fishcakes, the Lasagne, Salmon and the breakfast were all superb. With a very varied choice for breakfast. Pricing is very good, we stayed 3 nights with breakfast and ate diner every night, with evening drinks for just over £400, thats not bad at all.
The hotel is very popular, with the Friday and Saturday nights very busy, i dont think they were far off fully booked, given the time of year and the economy i think that bodes well.
The spa bath is a nice touch as is the little note asking you to be aware that other guests are staying and the spa is a little noisy, so not to use after 2230hrs. The bathroom is spacious and well appointed, nicely tiled,with plenty of hot water. The room was warm, with double glazing and nice thick heavy curtains. Not too much road noise either. We did hear other guests coming up stairs, you always do, but again; it was not too obtrusive with good carpeting and soft closing doors.
Overall a very nice, well run, clean, tidy, popular, well located hotel. Offering very good food, and above average accomodation at a very reasonable price. Will we stay there again?.Yes i think so.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ The not so good points: We had room 7 which was small (we did know this as we saw the 360 video before we booked) perhaps half the size of an average PREMIER INN room. The 4 poster bed is not really a 4 poster, more of a normal divan with a frame around it, there are no curtains to draw round and no canopy. The matress was typical of a busy hotel, a bit lumpy with lots of "roll together"...The biggest disapointment was the noise the bed made, very creaky, infact the other half did say every time i rolled over in the night the noise woke her up, (she is a very light sleeper though). needless to say the "romantic weekend" was a non starter; doubly so; given room 7 is directly above the lounge.
Another little niggle that i touched on in the good points was the service; you have to book your diner, not just the table and time but the whole meal, starters, mains and pud. you have to let the staff know what time you want diner and what you want to eat. Now i can understand this to a point, its cuts down on wastage if you know what you're cooking for each guest, and if you only have a couple of guest's in you dont want to be cooking the whole menu just in case. The down side to this is timing, your diner is ready dead on time, which is superb, but, your seated and the starters are served, no sooner have you cleaned your plate than it is whisked away by the very nice; exremely hard working, courteous waitress; to be replaced by your main course 2 minutes later. We barely had time to savour the starter; or let it settle a bit; before being presented with a hot main meal that you dont want to leave to go cold, so you dig in. i ended up so bloated it was painfull. Then; just as you clean your plate its whisked away and the desert menu is offered. From entering the dining room to leaving after 3 courses was 25 minutes. Sorry; but that was far to quick for us, we are there to enjoy the food, sit, talk about the day, enjoy a slow drink. If you eat at your local pub for 3 courses you can expect at least an hour and a half, with 10 maybe 15 minutes between courses. Breakfast was pretty much the same; we sat down with our choice of cereal, we hadn't finished our cereal before we were asked what we wanted for our cooked breakfast. finish your cornflakes and 30 seconds later your bowl is gone; quickly followed by your full english landing in front of you. Again we left the table feeling so bloated and wanting to go back to bed to sleep it all off.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_knight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
When I saw VERY GOOD at the start of yhis review I was delighted but i have to admit by the end I was a little deflated but thank you for taking the time to write these comments. I believe I was sitting in the lounge on Saturday evening when this guest came down for dinner and I did raise an eyebrow at the waitress when she pounced on him the minute he walked in the room and I did go to the kitchen and have a quiet word and yes I agree guests do need time to breathe in between courses so hopefully this issue is sorted now.
I think the comment that Room 7 is small is a little overstated. By all means it is not a suite but I hope it excels compared with a Premier Inn and our prices are reasonable in comparison with similar hotels in the area. The Vitual tour on the website is a little deceiving but not I assure you intentionally.
The four poster bed ..... I am sorry for the creaking I will give this our attention though we have not had any other complaints of this nature.
We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed for two nights. It is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. Food great. We had dinner as well and the menu was very appetising and very delicious. The staff were very friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison14063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Just had a 2 night stay at the Glenburn. Very nice hotel and staff. The 2 star rating doesn't do it justice. Had dinner on the Friday night and it was fantastic. Well cooked and good choices. Only downside was that the walls in this hotel are quite thin and there were some noisy inconsiderate guests who returned at 3am shouting and banging on the door. No fault of the hotel though. Would visit again!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdole1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Fabulous small friendly hotel which merits a higher star ranking than that given. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Accommodation exellent , clean and of a high standard . Food very good value for money . Hotel centrally located and only a short walk from Windemere & Boness . Parking tight .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic2oria100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We have parking bays for 17 cars and it is a little tight if guests don't park between the white lines but we are hoping to resolve this and create more parking space in the near future by removing the rockery at the rear . Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Booked room with booking.com.No problems.Phoned glenburn hotel to confirm booking a few hours before our arrival.No problem.Arrived and greeted pleasantly, shown to our room.The room was quite adequate for our needs and was clean and tidy.Staff were all very cheery and helpful. Breakfast was very good, a good. choice of fruit,cereals,yoghurt etc. The cooked breakfast was also very good,with "the full english" available. I would stay here again if and when I visit windermere in the future for a short break. The hotel is only acouple of minutes from the town centre and only a ten minute walk downhill to bowness by the lake.Beware!It is a twenty minute walk back uphill!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayemcee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Windermere and hope you come and see us again soon. I will book a taxi for you next time to get you back up that hill from Bowness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing