We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a Family Celebration.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel for a Family Celebration.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Booked this hotel for a 2 night family celebration involving 15 adults and 5 children between ages 4 and 11. In every respect it was excellent. All 9 rooms were very good and all the staff were very attentive, always with a smile and willing to chat. The breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and well cooked, a credit to the chefs. All 20 guests were served speedily with no one having to wait for their food and it all arrived hot which again was a credit to the staff. The menu is extensive and satisfied all of our varied appetites. Well done to everyone. Plenty of off-road parking and short walk into Windermere, slightly longer into Bowness and the lake.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Hello everyone thankyou for your kind review. What a lovely way to celebrate 70 years without too much fuss and all the family by your side. It went very well. The film show was lovely, brought a tear to my eyes - well done to whoever put it together. I will pass your comments to the staff they will be delighted. Hope you have lots more years ahead of you and see you again at The Glenburn soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    190
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
350
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Glenburn is extremely well situated for both Windermere and Bowness and the hotel itself is very welcoming both in terms of decor and staff. The lounge has lovely leather sofa's to relax on and the dining experience is amazing. A vast choice is available and the quality is superb. The Dining Room is a cosy room with candles on the table and all added to the overall ambience of the welcome. The room was spacious and very well presented. All in all, a super time was had and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guests, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Glenburn We are all very happy to hear what a lovely stay you had and such positive comments. Thank you so much. Hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked a two night db&b break and can honestley say what a great time we had.Room fantastic breakfast and dinner a credit to the chef.Friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked a 1 night B&B stay at The Glenburn Hotel, B&B deluxe double room (£85 pn). After a time driving around Windermere (not a SATNAV owner), we finally found the hotel. I parked my car to the rear of the hotel. Checked in, shown to our room and wow, the decor and furniture were of top notch, lovely large room with impressive en-suite, spa bath and rain shower. Water and brew kit provided, with 2 chocolates and a biscuit. The bed was the best B&B or Hotel bed we’ve slept in, as good as our own bed. Well presented for a 2 star rated Hotel with polite staff.

As we had been touring the north of England for the past 3 days, searching out local restaurants and having 1 disappointment, we opted to have our evening meal at the hotel, both went for the Gammon Steak, what a treat, as was with the breakfast the next day, only comment would be, the Cumberland sausages were not to our taste.

We both did have a chuckle at the rules set down in the Hotel information booklet by the Management/Owner, very curt and to the point, but I suppose, it a way of making it crystal clear what they expect of their guests – it’s a must read.

Hotel location is a 5 minute walk to Windermere & central to visit other localities in the Lakes.
Would we return to the Glenburn, yes we would as we both enjoy our trips to the Lake District.

Room Tip: If travelling without a stanav and if you drive past the Police Station, towards Windermere, your on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about The Glenburn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. It's so lovely to have such great feed back and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Welcomed by a friendly Reception who were very effficient. Our double room was very clean, cozy comfortable and spacious. Tea and coffee making facilities made for a warm welcome after the 2hour journey. The hotel is well located with Windermere and Bowness within easy walking distance. The food was delicious starting with a good breakfast of cereals, fruit and full English on offer. A good varied menu for Evening meals were available and the meals we had were superb. Had a great relaxing break and would definitly return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to Europe, and loved the lakes area and this great little hotel. All the staff were very friendly and provided maps and tips for the area.
The rooms were warm and comfortable with all you need, very clean and quiet too.
The food was really good, my husband really enjoyed the lamb shank, and although I was really full, I still managed to scoff down a really yummy dessert (the hardest part was which one to choose!). We had the Full english breakfast with juice and coffee and there was a good variety of food for the continental breakfast to choose from, so you are sure to find something you like.
Overall - good location, reasonable prices, clean and really nice people/staff. Great little place to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with family at the Glenburn. Staff were warm and welcoming, breakfasts were very nice and the hotel was cosy & clean. The hotel provides an excellent base for people wishing to explore the lakes and is a nice stroll from both Windermere and Bowness. There were lots of positive comments in the guest book about the evening meals but we preferred to walk into Bowness as the weather was good.

The hotel is not 3* or 4* but doesn't claim to be. It was good value for money and ideal for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_mcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing