We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silver wedding stay 11th and 12th april 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“silver wedding stay 11th and 12th april 2012”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Glenburn what a fantastic place to stay .The room was very clean ,warm and welcoming.The staff are kind friendly and helpful and the food also fantastic.We had a wonderful time thanks to everybody at the Glenburn .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Wonderfull review thank you. Congratulations for reaching 25 years you should be very proud of yourselves that is a great achievement nowadays. Still very much Mr Romantic treating you to all those little extras in the room. Hope you visit us again to celebrate many more aniversaries. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    195
    38
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
358
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Warm welcome, very cheerful and lovely staff, greatly decorated room and very good breakfast. Its location between Windermere and Bowness is perfect for walking to each. A bonus is the free entry to the local leisure centre with access to the pool, the sauna and the jacuzzi. We also really appreciated the fact that we could leave our car in the hotel car park after checking out at 10:30am. That allowed us to go on a wonderful bike ride around the Lake. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was such a lovely morning on Sunday and perfect for a bike ride. Thank you for your lovely comments I will pass them on to the staff. Look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

we spent mon. to fri at the hotel it was warm and the bedroom we were given was quiet with a very comfortable bed and a good shower we booked for dinner on the monday night and the food was good and well cooked, the staff were attentive and pleasant, there was a lovely bar and lounge but sadly the bar was unattended so consequently no drinks unless you rang a bell and waited for someone to come from the kitchen or reception, as you can imagine this did nothing to encourage anyone to book a meal for a second night, our choice would have been a more welcoming bar and a bit more input by the owners who left at the earliest possible moment, to go home, leaving the hotel to be run by it's young foreign staff

Room Tip: rooms to the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizzy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your review although a little disapointed by your commments. Monday and Tuesday is staff day's off. My husband cooks breakfast hence he is there from 7.30am until 2pm. I take over at 2pm and I cook dinner which I did so that evening... thank you for the compliments on my cooking. I leave the hotel at 10pm most evenings to drive home and my receptionist is there to serve drinks until the last person leaves the bar so I think we put a couple of good shifts in between us and do not rush off as it was put. I believe on the third day we made polite conversation with the guests in reception as my husband and I were redecorating a guest room hence another long day. Quite often guests go out and return after 11pm expecting to drink until all hours with no respect for the staff who have to be up at the crack of dawn to serve their breakfast. and then forget their key and get the staff out of bed at 3am to let them in. We all work hard at The Glenburn. My husband and I are here 6 days out of 7 to greet our guests and to ensure everything runs smoothly. We are a highly respected hotel not a 24hr truckstop and respect should be given to the staff and other guests staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A group of 12 stayed for 2 nights celebrating a 50th birthday.Hotel in good location just 5 minute walk to Windermere village or a 20 minute stroll to Bowness and the lake.
the rooms clean and a good standard for a 2 star hotel,breakfast good with a range to suit all.
We dined in on the Saturday night and tried the 3 course meal,a good selection to suit all with the majority going for the lamb shank (very nice).
Everyone agreed that the food was well worth the bill and the only downside that a few of our party thought was that the course's were a little rushed and not enough time between them,other than that would stop again if in that area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoke_on_trentRoy_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Manager at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Great review and a great weekend was had by all. Beautiful birthday cake and a couple of firecrakers for candles ... sorry I didn't know how to light them and I hope the guys elbow has recovered from when he did eventually get them lit. Thank you hope I see you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend at this hotel, rooms are very spacious (separate bathroom with whirlpool bath and large shower over bath - shower not so powerful though) and kept very clean, breakfast was a feast of cereals, fruit, toast, full English breakfast, washed down with coffee or tea and juice! We had one meal at the hotel on Saturday night and this was delicious, a good variety of choices and full compliments to the chef on the gammon and the beef. Lovely bar/lounge area, variety of drinks, there was a large party of guests who stayed in the bar to late in the night on Saturday, and considering that our room was directly above the lounge/bar area, we did not hear a thing! (good soundproofing!) The staff are very pleasant and helpful. I will certainly be recommending this hotel to friends and family, and am hopeful of a return next year.

Room Tip: Have a good look at all the rooms available, the pictures are exactly what you see for real!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannie40-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review and the great feedback. I think you praised every part of the hotel thank you so much and I hope to see you again at The Glenburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the Glenburn Hotel rather worried by the two star rating which we could see. After parking our car in the rear car park which we found quite tight in our larger car (our fault not the hotel's) we made our way to the reception. We found on entry that the decor was not to our taste but hey, everyone's different. At the desk we were greeted by Jackie (who is probably reading this… hello) who was kind and helpful, telling us a bit about the area. Afterwards we were shown, by her, to our room which was located on the second floor of the hotel. We stayed in the hotel's only triple room, room number fourteen. Our room was tastefully decorated with an ensuite and other facilities such as tea and coffee, a hair dryer, and a TV. The double bed was extremely comfy to sit on although we had a feeling that the single bed had at some point been used by a rather large gentleman because it was not as comfy. Storage space for clothes was more than enough especially as we were only staying for the weekend. One of the room's big bonuses and let downs was the fire escape. Of there was a fire you would simply walk out of a patio door in your room and tittle downstairs. Sadly the door is alarmed which means that you can't open it to let some fresh air in or stand outside. Worryingly so that the exit can be used by others, the room door is fitted with a simple turn lock requiring no key behind a plastic dome. We felt it would be all too easy for someone to break into the room as the room door had no connection to the main fire alarm which would have meant the room could have accessed without anyone's knowledge. The hair dryer was powerful and the tea and coffee facilities were in excellent condition and well stocked. The ensuite toilet had a strong durable seat (you won't find such a detailed review by anyone else) which was good for any fat people wishing to visit the facilities. The towel rail didn't work properly which was a shame but no big deal. The railings only heated on the lower half of the rack. There was a shelf for placing toiletries and complementary shower caps. The tap water was extremely hot but you can't claim compensation because there is a warning sign so don't try it. The shower is small yet big enough at first glance. That night we decided to watch some TV. The hotel needs to switch to digital… fast! You could watch BBC1 (twice) BBC2 ITV1 C4 or ITV2 which was a shame as I really wanted to watch Eddie Stobart on the Friday night. After a comfortable nights sleep we went to use the shower but Unfortuneately due to an accident in room two the water was as cold as ice. So we got on with it and warmed ourselves up after attempting to shower using the tea and coffee facilities. We proceeded to breakfast which was extremely delicious. I could have a full English everyday!!!!!!! The waitress was a bubbly girl who always smiled whiched was a delight. We stayed for one more night and had no problems. I would strongly recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review it must have taken up best part of your day. There is an old saying - " never judge a book by it's cover " and never judge a hotel or guest house by the stars on the outside sign. Two stars in the Lake District is a great achievement especially for a hotel. Two star hotel in Benidorm for example then you could have a problem. On reading my reviews we are consistant in having friendly staff, cleanliness, great food, good hospitality and service. The entrance hall may need updating through some peoples eyes but the fancy decor is not going to give the essential qualities needed to make an enjoyable stay for our guests. We are not a Guest House we are a Hotel and a very nice one ... there is a difference. Hopefully someday we will get the extra star for all the hard work the staff and ourselves put into running the Glenburn. Thank you, I hope we will see you again and thank you for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Having read reviews before booking and reading the website which shows 3 stars. I have to say my heart sank when I saw 2 stars on the board outside when we pulled in. My faith was reinstated when we were greeted by the lovely smiling young receptionist, she was so friendly and warm and showed us to room 8. Although not the largest of rooms it was immacutely presented and very clean, The ensuite was spotlessly clean but my 6ft husband didn't quite fit in the spa bath as it does not appear to be the largest of baths (BUT he did use it) The evening meal was very good and the lemon surprise was to die for. We have to say a very big thank you to the young girl (whose name we never got) she was the receptionist, waitress, bar maid and always smiling - she is a credit to the hotel . Overall the star rating should be higher than 2 star,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Fantastic review thank you so much. I will pass your comments on to the staff they will appreciate some great feedback. The service we offer probably does warrant a better star rating at The Glenburn and people should not be put off by the 2 stars as we offer facilities equal to most 4 & 5 star rated guest accommodation. We just have to hope one day rules and regulations will change in our favour. Pleased you loved the lemon surprise - this is my secret recipe and so simple to make. Hope we see you again at the Glenburn. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing